We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in perfect loction”
Review of Hotel Mega Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mega Mare
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you are looking for a top notch hotel to pumper yourself - this is not the place, BUT if you are looking for a nice place as a base to explore the area, this one is perfect. We had a large room (for three).Our friends had a smaller room. The hotel looks a bit oldish, but well kept. The room and the bathroom were clean, comfortable bed. The breakfast was OK (juice, cheese, ham, croissant, fruit...). The staff very friendly. The owner, Mariano is always there and ready to help. We stayed for 5 nights with friends and covered Amalfi coast, Sorrento, Capri, Napoli... All room have large balconies overlooking the bay - fantastic view and fantastic sunset. That actually being the best part and unforgettable. And no, you can not find such a view at many hotels in the area unless you pay much more.
The hotel is easy to find and has a very convenient access with a car - believe me, not a trivial thing in the area. it has large and convenient parking. We drove to Sorrento to take a ferry to Capri and to Naples. we parked the car in a covered garage at piazza Tasso (it took us about 15 min to get there). It was rather expensive (25-27 EU per day) but very convenient. From there you take steps (5 min) to the port area. To get back - take the lift (1eu) near the beach area.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again. mind you that you need a car.

Room Tip: all rooms face the bay and have the same unobstructed view. if you want a larger room ask for a trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilyaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

THank you, Mr. Mariano for your hospitality!
We have stayed in Mega Mare hotel in May 2014, for seven nights.
Mr. Mariano and the whole staff did everything to unswer all questions and to help with every problem.
Good breakfast, nice and clean rooms.
The parking is free. The hotel is located in a very convinient point for traveling.
Great place to stay for those who travel in the area Sorrento- Amalfi Coast.
Tova and Zvi Appleboum
Israel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank צבי א
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

One way to describe this place - a complete DUMP. The reviews on here are very questionable. Based on the reviews, unfortunately I booked a week in July 2013. When I arrived I was met by Mariano. All the reviews raved about him. When I met him I immediately felt he was fake. I will review the good and bad things about this place:

The Good: 1. The view is spectacular. However this is no different than many of the hotels in the area. They are all perched on the mountains with magnificent views of the sea. 2. The staff in the breakfast area were quite attentive and made a very good cappuccino.

The Bad: 1. Given this particular region in Italy is known for fresh foods, one would expect a top notch breakfast. It was horrible. Dry and day old croissants, stale bread, UHT milk, OJ from TetraPak...not what one would expect. They should have had fresh breads and pastries, freshly squeezed OJ, fresh fruit, etc.
2. They don't serve lunch nor dinner. So you always have to take your car (forget taxis there aren't any) to restaurants. They are all at least 30 min away, if you don't get caught in traffic. Mariano recommended a few places...I think he has an agreement with these places and gets a commission from those establishments for each client he refers. Don't take his advice...we did and the places had mediocre food, poor service and were over-priced.

The UGLY: 1. The rooms are infested with ants. It was disgusting. The first morning I woke up and my bed was covered in ants. The ants were in the sheets, on the walls, in the bathroom. The balcony is also full of ants. We had to pull the beds from the wall in the hopes that there would be less ants in order to sleep at night, but that didn't help. In the end, we couldn't sleep. It was a serious problem.
2. Towels in the rooms...what towels? these are old bed linens cut up into towels. They don't dry.
3. The pool is tiny and the water is disgusting. It smells, there is a foam that forms on the top and the water appears greyish green. I could not bring myself to even put my feet in it for fear of catching some disease.
4. Location sucks. You need a car and it takes at least half hour or more to get into town. Better to stay in Sorrento...plenty of hotels there and you avoid wasting time driving to Sorrento to find a restaurant to eat.
5. The size of the rooms: TINY, even for european standards. Bathrooms are extremely small, the beds are tiny, the mattresses are still likely the original ones when they first opened up, and forget about storing your suitcases...there is no room whatsoever.

When we were checking out, Mariano wanted cash only even though I wanted to pay with my credit card. And no receipt was provided. I felt ripped off. He then asked whether I could write a review on TripAdvisor (and offered a gift). I declined the gift but said sure about writing the review...and here I am. Don't be fooled by the other reviews....the place really is no more than a 2 star motel.

Given that the summer season is approaching, I thought it would be important to share a real review about this place before you make the same mistake I made last summer. I would not return to this place, even if you paid me.

Do yourself a favour and stay at one of the many hotels in Sorrento...you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JR L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel and enjoyed PERFECT view of the sea and amazing sunsets from our room which was very romantic.
The hotel is on one of the top hills - excellent location to visit sorrento, positano and around..
Most important, it has parking.

The hotel manager was very helpful and did his best for everyone.
Good value for money
Excellent hospitality, highly recommended!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed there for 7 nights on may 2014 - the hotel has great views, nice and very clean rooms, Mariano (The hotel owner) is a great hosts, very helpful and insightful.
bottom line: great value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on a visit to the Napoli bay and the Amalfi coast.
The view of course is worth it all. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable.
There is free parking. There's a decent breakfast and a small fridge in the room.
Very good value for money. Mariano and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hadar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We could not choose a more suitable place to stay for our 6 days trip in Sorrento and Amalfi Coast.
The hotel is located in a very convenient point for travelling in all directions and has an easy and free parking. The rooms (one double and one single) are spacious and very clean, the bed is very comfortable and about the view everything was already written. WIFI is free and very strong but only in public areas.
The delicious breakfast and very good coffee were a great start of the day (just wish there were also some vegetables).
Mariano and the hotel staff do everything for the guests to feel comfortable and happy and each request is answered willingly.

Grazie Mariano. È stato fantastico

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricki52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
1.3 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vico Equense
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Ancore Hotel
Le Ancore Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oriente
Hotel Oriente
#6 of 20 in Vico Equense
655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#13 of 20 in Vico Equense
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mega Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mega Mare

Address: Corso Caulino Punta Scutolo, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vico Equense
#1 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range: £46 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mega Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mega Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mega Mare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing