We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable Vacation”
Review of Hotel Mega Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mega Mare
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa District, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgetable Vacation”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and had a great & unforgetable vacation.
The hotel is located in an excelent point for traveling the Amalfi coast. The rooms are very clean and all of them have a terrace with an amazing view of the penissula. The breakfast was fine.
The staff was very helpful and above all the owner Mr. Mariano was great.
He treated us as if we're part of his family and took care for all our needs.
We highly reccomend this hotel for a vacation in south of Italy.

Deni & Sam

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank שמואל ש
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    244
    49
    17
    11
See reviews for
273
718
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modiin, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I truly have only good things to say about Hotel Mega Mare. Designed in good taste, the hotel is well kept and suits the romantic nature of the Sorrentino Peninsula. The room was nice and clean with an amazing terrace view to relax while watching the beautiful sunsets. Whether the lobby, the breakfeast lounge, the communal terrace or the pool overlooking the bay - all public areas were comfortable and lovely to stay at, relaxing and great fun for the kids. The quiet hotel is perfectly located and easily accessible. Yet my kindest words I wish to save for the staff and its excellent service. The kindness and friendliness was just overwhelming. We felt like visiting family members who sincerely cared for our welfare and at the same time respected our privacy. Rarely does one meet a manager like Marianno who cares for each guest so wholeheartedly with elegance, dignity and respect. I recommend Hotel Mega Mare dearly and entirely.

Room Tip: The main attraction is the view of the bay. All rooms and communal areas are facing the bay so any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zivagi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Each room offers a spectacular view of the sea, the coastline, and the isle of Capri! The owner, Mariano, is friendly and helpful. Price is excellent and includes breakfast and wifi in public areas, and free parking. By car you have easy access to Sorrento, Positano, and the Amalfi coast. Mega Mare is very tranquil and beats the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. AOur family has enjoyed many wonderful vacations here over the years.

Room Tip: All rooms have a breathtaking view with the upper floor my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adolfo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It's difficult to have an opinion of Megamare.
On the one hand the hotel is dated, on the other hand the service is optimal.
Rooms are sober, 'altmodisch' but clean. Bathroom is basic. Swimming pool is opened from 11 till 19 u. (after a trip to Napoli or Amalfi Coast ... no refreshing swim!) In the room you can hear the neighbours in the bathroom :-(
The view is stunning. They advise good restaurants (sometimes with pickup-service).

For me this hotel is ok for a few nights. We prefer a little more comfort.
But ... for the price you got value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stevenenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The best view, the location is excellent, The staff is very nice a specially Mr Mriano the owner, he help us every time and have grate tips. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, the pool is great with nice view, the breakfast is great. Nothing bad to say about the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank asnat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days on our honeymoon. Lots of pros and cons....Pros: the view was absolutely stunning!!!!!!! Mariano the owner was also very helpful in getting taxis, responding to emails, giving dinner recommendations, and answering all my travel suggestions. The pool area and outdoor space is beautifully manicured! The price is right. Everything seemed clean. Cons: it is very difficult to find taxis, so if you don't have a car you are basically screwed. The view is great but the hotel is situated cliff side. Therefore you are not city center and far away from everything. There is no sidewalk to walk up and down to town on. We did it, and when buses came we had to lean against the mountain to avoid being hit!!! You have little to no control over your air conditioning. We had to call the front office whenever we wanted our air turned on and every night at 2am the air was turned off!!! Not ok for me!! There are no pool towels- you have to use the bathroom towels or bring your own. The bathroom towels---definitely more like a piece of thin tablecloth.
They only had 3 options of sandwiches/snacks you could buy at the pool, even though there was a huge menu. The 2 we tried were awful! It often smelled like smoke in the hallways.Suggestions: the rooms, lobby, and bathrooms are in serious need of a makeover. The beds were something my great great great grandmother probably slept on. Everything is very old. The barriers between people's balcony was very short. I'm only 5'1' and I could see what my neighbors were doing over the "privacy screen". We were the only Americans there. This place seemed perfect for local Italians having a vacation but we felt out of place. Especially not having a car-we were trapped and felt like we were inconveniencing Mariano with all our needs. One time at breakfast a waiter was passing out doughnuts and passed them to ever table except us :( My advice to other Americans is to stay in the town of Sorrento. We took a day trip there and there were plenty of hotels and everything was within walking distance. I would have paid more to have all those conveniences and a more updated hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

When you start booking- the only words the stuff say is YES.
The view from each room is the best I ever see.
We asked to stay two more days.
Antonio the owner was great. When we left he gave us a small present kisses and huges.
My wife and I will come there again!
Because of the stuff,the location, and the hotel!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yossishaiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
#17 of 20 in Vico Equense
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#4 of 20 in Vico Equense
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
#9 of 20 in Vico Equense
437 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#11 of 20 in Vico Equense
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mega Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mega Mare

Property: Hotel Mega Mare
Address: Corso Caulino (SS. 145) Punta Scutolo, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mega Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Mega Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mega Mare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing