We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for touring by car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Torre Barbara
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Faulensee, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great base for touring by car”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Modernised and very comfortable hotel. On the main road but room quiet enough with the window closed at night. Lovely terrace and garden with small bathing pool, sun loungers and bar, and a terrific view across to Vesuvius. Don't try to walk to the hotel from the Circumvesuviana train station at Seiano as there's no pavement and it's a lot further than it looks on the map. Call the hotel in advance for a free shuttle service instead.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mhmli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    110
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
67
207
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My stay here was fantastic. The staff - -everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping staff - was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is perfect if you want to cover a lot of ground in Campania. You can get to Capri, ompeii, and the Amalfi Coast via Sorrento. I didn't rent a car and was able to get around just fine due to the helpful shuttle and the proximity of the train station. Next time I will probably rent a car, but I didn't want the hassle this trip. The food at breakfast, and dinner if you choose to eat in, is very good. And the terrace where you enjoy your meal provides some pretty amazing views at all times of day. Naples, Vesuvius, Islands - it just doesn't get any better than this!

I had an interior single room so there were no views but that was fine because I was literally there only to sleep and shower. I imagine some of the other rooms have spectacular views. I had a nice big closet and lots of drawers for storage.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to returning at some point myself!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

As this was the last night of our trip, I wanted it to be really romantic - hence the choice of boutique hotel. However, our bedroom smelt badly of cigarette smoke. We arrived in the afternoon and if we hadn't had to leave for our flight first thing in the morning, I would have asked to change rooms. It was a real shame. The views from the balcony were great though.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They booked our bus tickets for us to the airport - an ideal why to get there, took less than an hour and it stops right outside the hotel.

The hotel was a 45/50 min walk into town (which we did one way) but there is a shuttle bus service you can use for free, to and from the hotel. The terrace looked gorgeous, pity breakfast wasn't outside but it may have been due to unpredictable weather. We ate dinner in the restaurant, the food was fantastic but there was no atmosphere there. Some background music could have helped.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hotel was very clean and modern. The restaurant, located on the upper deck, had a magnificent view and the food was terrific - both for breakfast and especially for dinner! I had the best basil pasta ever, and I am of Italian descent and very picky! The staff was most accommodating and professional. The only downside was the presence of a small roll of toilet paper (obviously used, since it was significantly smaller than the others that were present in the room), on which a new wrapper had been attached; when removed, the roll was black through and through with mold. I do not know why someone would go through the bother of attaching a new paper wrapper to a used roll! We did not report this to management as it seemed to be a small event in an otherwise very pleasant experience. Would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croton on Hudson, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you are looking for the perfect getaway we want to let all travelers know that there is a little boutique hotel in Vico Equense on the Isla Sorrentina that is a must for all interested in a romantic getaway.
From the moment we arrived we were embraced by the wonderful staff and the beautiful designer accommodations.

First we met Valentina, who we contacted via e-mail. She registered us and got us settled into a wonderful room with a balcony/porch with lounge chairs overlooking the bay of Naples! We also had a view from our bathroom of the beautiful outdoor grotto where the bar is located and where breakfast and dinner is served as well as the pool!


Kudos goes out to Rosa, who upon our arrival showed us the most wonderful warm welcome that was beyond our expectations. She immediately plugged into our stay and our needs, and promptly presented us with a day by day excursion itinerary, based upon our discussions! Needless to say that she was wonderful.

Each morning we went down to the grotto where Elena had meticulously prepared
the bouffet breakfast. Breakfast included a delightful combintion of juices, teas and espresso, cappucino, cafe americano, hot chocolate, croissants and assorted home made cakes, breads, cheeses, salamis and ham, jams, yogurt, and cereals.

When we wanted to drive the Amalfi Coast, Rafaela gave us driving directions to Positano, Priano, Amalfi, Ravello and which were the best/popular sites to see.

Torre Barbara is a little off the beaten path but has all the amenities to overcome not being "in town"
One of the ways they do this is with the help of Marco.
Marco will take you to nearby Seano to catch an earlyhydrofoil to Capri
Or he will take you to the train station for a day trip to Pompei.
Whatever you need, Marco is there to help. he is the best!

Many times we had been out all day and wanted to have our dinner at the Hotel.
Bruno was our charming bartender who made cocktails at happy hour and also
was our waiter at dinner.

We recommend this wonderful hotel for a swept away experience!

T & D - NY

Room Tip: Ask for room 404
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handkramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Great amenities comprising of pool and sunbed grassed area, patio for meals & drinks overlooking an exceptional raised view of the sea.

Food. Breakfasts comprise of a cold buffet including croissants, jams, cakes, fresh juices and standard hot drinks. Lunch here only offers a panini (use a pitta out here) cheese and/or ham. Dinner available with a great selection but needs to be ordered in advance.

Location. The hotel is not in Sorrento but Seiano. The hotel is near the top of a hill, not near local amenities. You cant walk anywhere from the hotel as its on a busy road with limited paths. The hotel offers a shuttle service, free of charge to collect/drop off from certain locations throughout the day. They only need 30 mins notice from you. To get into Sorrento go by the train from Seiano. It costs €1.30 pp one way. Tickets can be bought from the hotel.

Rooms. Very Good clean and contemporary. There are sea view rooms available but no balcony. The patio offers the view anyway.

Staff - very helpful and multilingual. They have good knowledge of the area.

Overall - Definitely recommend this hotel. The inconvenience of the freedom of travel opportunities easily offset by the complimentary shuttle service provided.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LKLH173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our family of 4 have just returned from spending 3 nights at the Torre Barbara and what a treat this hotel is. The staff could not do enough for us, from giving lots of advice on the local area, selling the local train tickets (best and easiest way to get around) and recommending a great restaurant.The rooms were a good size, spotlessly clean and with a view that was to die for. Breakfast is served on the lovely terrace as was dinner and sitting under the stars with the amazing view eating a very pleasant dinner is a memory that will always stay with us. The hotel supply a free shuttle bus which we made good use of although this bus doesn't run during the afternoon so we were then dependent on the local buses which appeared to run when the drivers decided that they were ready! The location was great for visiting pompeii, sorrento and all the attractions in the area. As other reviews have pointed out the hotel is on a busy road but our room had excellent double glazing, good air con and we all agreed that it was worth the road position just to get the view of the bay of Naples, our only regret was that we could have a longer stay at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front so that you can enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teashopfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
1.1 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#4 of 20 in Vico Equense
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#2 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#11 of 20 in Vico Equense
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Ancore Hotel
Le Ancore Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Barbara

Property: Hotel Torre Barbara
Address: Corso Caulino 75, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#8 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torre Barbara is 4 stars Hotel, the ideal place for those who wish to spend an unforgettable vacation overlooking the Gulf of Naples, just a few kilometers from the centre of Sorrento and places of major interest in the Campania region: Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Caserta, Positano, Amalfi and the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Torre Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Barbara Hotel
Torre Barbara Vico Equense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing