We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, great service”

Taverna Al Cantinone
Ranked #5 of 238 Restaurants in Vieste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The restaurant Al Cantinone is situated in the inner centre of Vieste. The restaurant offers to its guest tasty Mediterranean dishes using fresh and local food.
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Typical italian family restaurant, where all family members - even the kids - have a place. Food was excellent (swardfish carpaccio, tuna fish steak), wine recommendation was also frenetic, atmosphere friendly and easy-going, service level totally personalised (limited number of tables, reservation recommended). Owner speaks English, does not overplay his role. Wife is sweet and kind. Price reasonable. Would go back any day!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Taverna Al Cantinone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Grazie !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

My partner and I were having a few days off from our walk from Rome to Brindisi and decided to stay at Vieste.
The first night we ate at this taverna. A very attentive waiter Matteo greeted us and provided some very helpful information in relation to the menu assisting us with our small grasp of Italian.
The food was just bloody brilliant on this first night. The appetiser we choose was a prawn wrapped in eggplant. We were both stunned with the taste - it was brilliant.
There were only a few other people in the restaurant as it is now the off season but still the chef need to know what they are doing and this one did.
What followed was a sumptuous meal.
As I said it was so good we decided to eat there again two nights later. We had to have the same appetiser it was so good and then we chose different dishes. They did not disappoint at all.
We remarked later that we ate at a supposed locals eatery the night in between. We spent a similar amount on the dinner but the two nights at Al Cantinone were a gastronomic delight compared to the in between choice.

Try it at least once. 65 euros with wine. Money well spent.

Thank Patraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Taverna Al Cantinone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Grazie !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

I read a lot of reviews, skipped past the negatives and went here with my gf on a recent trip to vieste.
It's a nice looking place, but was empty except for one couple sat inside the door when we arrived. We were seated right next to them, which I can understand, got to make the place look busy right?
We both ordered, vegetarian options for my gf were very limited, pasta with tomato and cheese, never going to set the culinary world alight. I ordered the lamb which sounded great, only to be told that all 5 portions of it had sold at lunch. Seriously, 5 portions is all that was available for a full day service? Anyhow, the owner suggested that the stuffed squid was excellent, so I ordered that.
Went ahead and ordered wine, that also wasn't available, he suggested another option which wasn't on the menu, so we took it. It was passable, in no way similar to what we had ordered but passable all the same.
Food arrived and my face fell, squid sat in a bowl, tied off at the end with a small sharp stick which remained in the dish. 2 slices of burnt bread each side and the squid swimming in an impossibly hot liquid, which appeared to be an oil/tomato mix. Undaunted I went ahead, the squid was tough, not just slightly tough as happens from over-cooking squid but tough like leather that comes from heavily over cooking and possibly even microwaving it. The bread was so hot it burnt my mouth, again microwave heat?
The dish was ill conceived, squid stuffed with ricotta in a bowl of hot liquid, the ricotta oozed into the liquid creating an unpleasant mess.
My gf ate hers, appetite appeased, if not thrilled.
During our main courses, the owner hovered, altogether too close, rushing to top up wine and lingering too long on doing so.
Plates taken away, without a word or question as to how my plate was so full and untouched, we proceeded to order desserts.
Tiramisu by 2 please, other options were limited and didn't appeal. Tiramisu compounded by disappointment at the taverna, 90% cream, no texture, no sponge, no flavour.
We eventually paid and left. Disappointed. It seems this once great restaurant has fallen.

1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

This tavern is held by nice family, who rally take care of the place! We had a octopus for starters and squide and calmars for second meal. Food was decorated well and tasted amazing! Flavor and fresh and natural, portions are big enough. Very recommended!

Thank Илья И
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Taverna Al Cantinone, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017
Google Translation

Grazie !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Really advice to visit. Try tuna carpaccio and octopus. Bruschetta also just great! Amazing owner and great service!

Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Taverna Al Cantinone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Grazie !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Al Cantinone also viewed

Vieste, Province of Foggia
Vieste, Province of Foggia
 
Vieste, Province of Foggia
Vieste, Province of Foggia
 
Vieste, Province of Foggia
 

Been to Taverna Al Cantinone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing