We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Portonuovo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Portonuovo
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Vieste
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Finding somewhere to stay in Vieste could be a challenge-it is very busy in the summer, This hotel is great-so much to offer from the lovely greeting from the receptionists-who speak good English to the bar staff and restaurant manager.It is on the beach front before you reach the town. Rooms are smallish-as they are across Europe-but very clean and well decorated. All air conditioned! Balcony views of the great pool were excellent. As hotel clients you also get to use their private beach with sun umbrellas and loungers. Breakfast is of course continental-but of a very high quality-and to cap it all the manager recommended to my husband the scrambled egg and bacon they had prepared. As the only English people staying there and that part of Italy having very little English spoken it was a joy to have such treatment. Vieste town itself is too crowded for me but there are some nice restaurants along the beach front and the hotel staff recommended them without the usual 'my cousin runs it' stuff where we have been ripped off before! Although not cheap-160 euro a night (£126 ) it was great value for money and I can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Portonuovo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have staid in the Hotel first week of June, we do travel once a year to holiday destinations, but me and my girlfried agreed this was the best stay we have had, starting with Weather, location, hotel, athmosphere, services, people it was all perfect. Receptionists friendly with ok English, waiters in restaurant were excelent specialy Simone and Pasquale they really take their jobs seriously and are never short of courtesy and smile, I have seldom seen such a profesionals in work, also the barman Michele was great and gave our daughter lolypops all the time and was positive too, its a shame that hotel is only open from mid May until end of September, the hotel and the whole location deserve knowing more since it is a small paradise, not too touristy, no cheap working class tourists, no Mcdonalds, loud Irish pubs around and you get a good taste of Italian culture and lifestyle in Vieste, regarding hotel, the room was clean, nice large balcony, always cleaned every day, pool was warm enough, we played tenis, table tenis, beach is only on the otherside of the road, nice sandy beach and shallow water, you can see crabbs hiding under the sand, its so clean, we will be back that is for sure, the hotel deserves all the good reviews that it gets, there was only two small things that could be better: 1. we didnt have a bath, just a shower, and that the shuttle bus driver is driving too fast over the ramps and its not perfect in you have a two year old child there. But he was always on time and friendly, the food in the restaurant was very tasty and not too expensive and breakfast was delicious, prices in poolside bar were okay, not too expensive if you come from a rip off county like Ireland. We met tourists from USA, Australia, Germany and Switzerland, some of them drive 1400km by car to get there, pretty impresive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Staff were extremely nice. I came in may just after they opened so not busy. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColoradoMatteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We were looking for a week holiday in Italy during half term holidays and I found this gem in Vieste. The hotel is fantastic and the beach and swimming pool too. All the hotel staff was fantastic and the Barman at the pool very helpful and always happy. Good to see an happy hotel finally. We had B&B and we had dinner once at the hotel. Food and service are very good. We will be back

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gt67-berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We had a great few days at this hotel it was quiet peaceful and very relaxing just what we wanted. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke English. The restaraunt staff were very good and explained anything on the menu we didnt understand.
I would say that its not a place for teenage children but for those of us that want a quiet child free holiday it is great and we will go back again soon.
Karen
England / Modena

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaja41043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

For those travelers who stick to the Amalfi coast- look at the jewels on the Adriatic side.
Vieste is a pearler of a small town.
Its vista is magnificent.
Hotel Portonuovo in our opinion would have to rank close to the top for service, value and quality.
Bring the family, you have pools, tennis court , beach across the road with sand not gravel as per Positano. The umbrellas and seats were included.
The staff were friendly and when out of their way when we needed non-hotel help.
Have a look at the hotel's packages that include full or half board.
Food quality and value is exceptional -again - beats Positano restaurants in this manner hands down.
Go for it!

Room Tip: Get a package that has half board and pick dinner
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VICTEETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We´ve spend one nice week in Italian Vieste in July 2010. Our room was clean and spacious enough. We´ve enjoyed the pool. Vieste is a nice small historical city with many restaurants, a small harbour and interesting monuments with great views. The Portonuovo Hotel is a good choice.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MartinBurger76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vieste hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sciali
Hotel Sciali
#2 of 67 in Vieste
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gattarella Resort
Gattarella Resort
#9 of 67 in Vieste
1,348 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pizzomunno Vieste Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Degli Aranci Hotel
Degli Aranci Hotel
#24 of 67 in Vieste
451 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Il Castellino Relais
1.7 mi away
Oasiclub Hotel
Oasiclub Hotel
#23 of 67 in Vieste
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portonuovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portonuovo

Address: Litoranea Sud, Km. 4 | Localita Portonuovo, 71019, Vieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Vieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vieste
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vieste
#2 Family Hotel in Vieste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vieste
Price Range: £69 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portonuovo 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Portonuovo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portonuovo Hotel Vieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing