We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villagio Gargano” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Portonuovo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Portonuovo
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Vieste
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villagio Gargano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

An excellent self-catering resort, lacking slightly in cooking facilities (no oven and no kettle!) with very helpful staff, with very good meals available in the adjacent Hotel Portonuovo. The beach is great and safe for all, and the pool (chlorine free!) was very under-used during our stay.
If the resort wants to attract more English guests then menus, etc need to be in English. Having said that the staff were more than willing to help translate. There is no real need to go into Vieste - just relax here and chill. A great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagbybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    227
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
403
172
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,313 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Lovely attitude, very clean rooms . as often in italy the tv is too small, the channel choice very limited , and the wireless works only in some areas. upon arrival we were told it was now working in the rooms, but it was not the case. nice position, nice pool , great price. very confirtable. mostly families with kids . we left a day early due to heavy rain and long travel and they did not charge the night in spite of the fact that i announced this at 10 am, lovelyattitude. for sure to be recommended, especially for families with kids

Room Tip: if you ask for a top floor you might get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Finding somewhere to stay in Vieste could be a challenge-it is very busy in the summer, This hotel is great-so much to offer from the lovely greeting from the receptionists-who speak good English to the bar staff and restaurant manager.It is on the beach front before you reach the town. Rooms are smallish-as they are across Europe-but very clean and well decorated. All air conditioned! Balcony views of the great pool were excellent. As hotel clients you also get to use their private beach with sun umbrellas and loungers. Breakfast is of course continental-but of a very high quality-and to cap it all the manager recommended to my husband the scrambled egg and bacon they had prepared. As the only English people staying there and that part of Italy having very little English spoken it was a joy to have such treatment. Vieste town itself is too crowded for me but there are some nice restaurants along the beach front and the hotel staff recommended them without the usual 'my cousin runs it' stuff where we have been ripped off before! Although not cheap-160 euro a night (£126 ) it was great value for money and I can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have staid in the Hotel first week of June, we do travel once a year to holiday destinations, but me and my girlfried agreed this was the best stay we have had, starting with Weather, location, hotel, athmosphere, services, people it was all perfect. Receptionists friendly with ok English, waiters in restaurant were excelent specialy Simone and Pasquale they really take their jobs seriously and are never short of courtesy and smile, I have seldom seen such a profesionals in work, also the barman Michele was great and gave our daughter lolypops all the time and was positive too, its a shame that hotel is only open from mid May until end of September, the hotel and the whole location deserve knowing more since it is a small paradise, not too touristy, no cheap working class tourists, no Mcdonalds, loud Irish pubs around and you get a good taste of Italian culture and lifestyle in Vieste, regarding hotel, the room was clean, nice large balcony, always cleaned every day, pool was warm enough, we played tenis, table tenis, beach is only on the otherside of the road, nice sandy beach and shallow water, you can see crabbs hiding under the sand, its so clean, we will be back that is for sure, the hotel deserves all the good reviews that it gets, there was only two small things that could be better: 1. we didnt have a bath, just a shower, and that the shuttle bus driver is driving too fast over the ramps and its not perfect in you have a two year old child there. But he was always on time and friendly, the food in the restaurant was very tasty and not too expensive and breakfast was delicious, prices in poolside bar were okay, not too expensive if you come from a rip off county like Ireland. We met tourists from USA, Australia, Germany and Switzerland, some of them drive 1400km by car to get there, pretty impresive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Staff were extremely nice. I came in may just after they opened so not busy. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoMatteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We were looking for a week holiday in Italy during half term holidays and I found this gem in Vieste. The hotel is fantastic and the beach and swimming pool too. All the hotel staff was fantastic and the Barman at the pool very helpful and always happy. Good to see an happy hotel finally. We had B&B and we had dinner once at the hotel. Food and service are very good. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gt67-berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We had a great few days at this hotel it was quiet peaceful and very relaxing just what we wanted. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke English. The restaraunt staff were very good and explained anything on the menu we didnt understand.
I would say that its not a place for teenage children but for those of us that want a quiet child free holiday it is great and we will go back again soon.
Karen
England / Modena

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaja41043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vieste hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sciali
Hotel Sciali
#2 of 67 in Vieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.0 mi away
Forte Hotel
Forte Hotel
#3 of 67 in Vieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Il Castellino Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gattarella Resort
Gattarella Resort
#8 of 67 in Vieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Gabbiano Beach
Hotel Gabbiano Beach
#5 of 67 in Vieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.5 mi away
Degli Aranci Hotel
Degli Aranci Hotel
#16 of 67 in Vieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portonuovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portonuovo

Property: Hotel Portonuovo
Address: Litoranea Sud, Km. 4 | Localita Portonuovo, 71019, Vieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Vieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vieste
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vieste
#2 Family Hotel in Vieste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portonuovo 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Portonuovo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portonuovo Hotel Vieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing