We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”
Review of Hotel Mariposas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mariposas
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week at the beginning of August this year. After searching through many hotels in this part of Sardinia we were delighted to come across Hotel Mariposas, which both looked and sounded just what we were looking for. From the first initial contact with the staff to the minute we left, they were the friendliest and most helpful people we have ever met on our travels. From helping us with scooter hire, to recommendations for local beaches, bus timetables and even helping us with our limited Italian (!) all of the staff were incredible and they made us feel so welcome.

The hotel itself is beautifully maintained, with extraordinary gardens containing beautiful flowers, trees and plants. The rooms are spacious, air-conditioned, lovely bathrooms and both terraces and balconies are lovely additions to the room (we moved rooms throughout our stay due to booking very late, which was incredibly smooth we may add). The pool area is beautiful and it is so relaxing and peaceful in the evenings to sit with a drink on some of the outdoor sofas there. Breakfast in the hotel is delicious ! There is a great variety from breads, croissants, cakes, yogurts, hot food such as eggs, sausages and ham, great choice of juices and coffees and the breakfast area is set in a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the mountains and sea!

The location of the hotel is perfect. It is a five minute walk to the nearest beach and a ten minute walk into town, with restaurants and cafés very close by. So many we were spoilt for choice and still didn't manage to visit them all during our stay.

We had read a couple of reviews stating that the town of Villasimius was quiet with not much to do; we found this not to be the case. Perhaps as we visited in August there was more going on but we absolutely loved the town. You have to make the effort to walk the whole way through as there is more to discover the further you walk. The town is filled with little shops, restaurants, cafés, ice cream parlours and more. In the evening, the town really comes alive - the road is closed to traffic at night and the streets are filled with market stalls, families, musicians and the atmosphere is just brilliant!

Again, we cannot mention enough the quality of this hotel and it's staff. It is a family-run hotel and therefore you really get to know the individual characters and staff members there, all of which were just so welcoming and kind. We will definitely be returning to this hotel and have been raving about it to our friends and family ever since our return. It really made our holiday very special and memorable and we thank the staff so much for their hospitality.

If you're planning a holiday in this part of Sardinia then we would highly recommend a stay in Hotel Mariposas - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have lovely terraces amongst the beautiful gardens and first floor rooms have bal...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Kate_Callum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mariposas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed in August 2014 for a week with our 11 year old daughter.

We really couldn't fault this hotel. It is exactly as all the reviews describe - incredibly friendly and helpful staff (all of them), very comfortable rooms with crisp sheets, lovely firm mattresses and clean, spacious bathrooms. The gardens are really exceptional and the pool is the perfect temperature. Although not huge, there is plenty of room and enough sun loungers for everyone. The welcome drink was a great touch too. Breakfasts are plentiful - fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bacon, pastries etc.

The local beach (5 mins walk) is beautiful, though very crowded in August. We preferred the little coves on the way out of town heading south - the hotel has some key fobs so you can park in a private area there even when the public car park is full and here we found crystal clear waters, only one line of people on the beach and no sun loungers or hawkers.

There are plenty of places to eat, we really enjoyed the formal restaurant at the Villasimius Beach Hotel just down the road for a birthday dinner. In town there are loads of places. The town itself is fairly charmless during the day but fun and buzzy at night, and only a short walk.

This is the perfect place for a week's flop. Not a lot to do in the area, other than go to the beach, go out on boats, hang by the pool and eat! If this is what you are after then I don't think you could do better than this hotel.

A couple of very small areas for improvement - somewhere to do some laundry would be good, also some very basic food (eg sandwiches) in the evening would be welcome, on one occasion it rained so our restaurant was in chaos and we couldn't get any food, it would have been nice to be able to get something to eat. We ended up buying cheese and bread in the town and the hotel kindly gave us tomatoes and plates!

Room Tip: We had 103 (a family room with two bedrooms) which we really loved as it had a very private little g...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CountessDrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a week in July with our young son. I would agree with the many reviews around the staff hospitality, location, lovely pool and gardens etc. We arrived early (around 10am) as we travelled by overnight ferry from Rome. But our room was ready and we could check in, and were given a drink on arrival. We had a ground floor junior suite which was exactly how it looked in the photos, very spacious with a large terrace leading to the pool. The gardens were beautiful and well maintained. In the busy summer months the loungers do get taken up quickly.
The staff were very helpful and advised on anything you needed. The walk to the beach was less than 10 mins along a straight road, we went there 3 days and easily spent hours there as the beach was lovely, sea shallow and warm. Only downside was the constant stream of persistant people trying to sell you things...
The town was a 10 min walk in the other direction. We weren't as keen on the town as other than pizzerias (albeit a couple of good ones) we struggled somewhat to get a very good bowl of pasta for example. And service in the bars left a lot to be desired at time, although not in a rush its a bit much to wait to even get served and also wait for the bill (this was generally the case in Sardinia we found, very different to Sicily for example).
The only downsides I would say was the fact our air con didn't work for 3 days, but once the problem was identfied it was fixed and we got a slight reduction on our bill. Also the food at lunchtimes could have been a little more extensive in the hotel it was limited to it being prepacked so for instance no variation on type of panini. Due to this we only had lunch there once. But all in this wasn't a huge deal and as such I would highly recommend this hotel and it does deserve its 5 stars.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor have direct pool access. Junior suites good value with 2 rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank claire2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our party was made up of 2 adults and 2 children (4 & 8yrs old). In total we spent 12 days at the hotel mariposas.

The hotel staff were all (without exception) incredibly welcoming and friendly. Day or night, they would make table reservations, offer advice on a good restaurant, offer a welcome drink on arrival. Nothing was too much hassle.

The kids were free to run around and play in the pool and even with a few other children it was all very serene and peaceful by the lovely pool. We stayed in a junior suite (two bedrooms and a veranda). The room was perfect for the kids and around a gentle corner to the pool. The hotel looked lovely throughout the day and night with beautiful flowers and landscaping.

I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My family stayed at this small family run hotel last month. We loved how much you were made to feel like your were relaxing at home. Our room was big enough for 2 adults and 2 children . It was on the ground floor view of the pool area, which meant we could sit in the terrace and watch the kids swim in the pool from our room.
The beach and town were very close and we did not need to use our car during our 5 day stay.

I would recommend this hotel for people who want to relax in a quiet and beautiful setting in Villasimius.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank onefamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very nice place close to the sea and not far from the city center (8-10 min walking). Clean rooms with amazing garden, a nice pool and several sunbeds and umbrellas. The breakfast offers always the same things (croissants, fruits, ham and cheese) which can be a bit boring after a couple of days. The hotel is very family friendly (just like the whole Villasimus area) which can be a bit annoying if you are staying there as a couple. The whole staff is very helpful and always smiling!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor with a balcony facing to the garden. Ground floor rooms have direct...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madi038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week staying at the Hotel Mariposas and had an absolutely fantastic holiday. I'm not sure what the previous 1 star reviewer is going on about because we booked our stay online via email and all queries were responded to swiftly and in English. No problems whatsoever!
From the moment we arrived and were given complementary drinks in the BEAUTIFUL gardens until the moment we left and were given a breakfast box (as our flight home was very early) we were given the best service we have ever received at a hotel.
We stayed in room 206 which is at the front of the hotel on the first floor, we loved it as we had a huge terrace overlooking the mountains to the west. Everything from our bathroom to the pool and grounds are superbly maintained and spotlessly clean (and I'm a clean freak so my standards are particularly high). We needlessly packed our own bath towels and didn't use them, the cleaners replace the towels everyday and there are plenty of them, 3 each! All fluffy and white.
Breakfast was lovely, on a terrace overlooking the pool, sea and lighthouse. We had lots of choice; bacon (thin and crispy - better than English bacon), scrambled eggs, fresh tomatoes, boiled eggs, cold meats, warm croissants (various types), pastries, homemade cake, cereal, fruit, toast, fresh bread, yogurt...could probably go on!!
The staff are wonderful, the hotel is a family business and you definitely get a feeling that you're cared for as part of the family during your stay. One day I woke up with swollen lips (at that time we didn't know why but later we found out it was caused by sunburn) and the staff were so helpful offering to book a medical appointment if necessary. Instead we opted for directions to the nearest pharmacy.
The location is perfect for finding breathtaking views, stunning white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters and restaurants with very good food. The portions are huge and very reasonably priced compared to SE England. We hired a car which we'd recommend because there are so many lovely beaches to visit. We don't speak Italian but took a phrase book when we went out and got by just fine. We'd recommend skipping dessert in the evening and taking a walk to one of the many local Italian ice-cream parlours, ice-cream and sorbet of every flavour possible!
After dinner we'd often sit by the pool on the outside armchairs. As the hotel only has a smallish number of rooms it feels very relaxed and quiet. There were families with children too but even then you feel as though you have enough space around you if you decide to stay by the pool for the day - plenty of sun beds with sun visors if required. Don't forget to put sun cream on your face including lips though! Haha.
The only bad thing was having to leave! We were so sad to leave and we will definitely be back.
Thank you Hotel Mariposas for a truly wonderful stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villasimius hotels
0.9 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
1,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Simius Playa
Hotel Simius Playa
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Janas Hotel
Janas Hotel
#1 of 33 in Villasimius
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#10 of 33 in Villasimius
376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#14 of 33 in Villasimius
273 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cala Caterina
Hotel Cala Caterina
#19 of 33 in Villasimius
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariposas

Address: Via Mar Nero no 1 | angolo Viale Matteotti, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Villasimius
#2 Best Value Hotel in Villasimius
#3 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range: £79 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mariposas 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposas Hotel Villasimius
Hotel Mariposas Sardinia/Villasimius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing