We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location, very good service”
Review of Hotel Stella Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stella Maris
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We spent 2 weeks in Sardegna and wanted a place in the south, so we landed on the Stella Maris.It wasn't easy to find a place in that area through books and the web.
We were there 3 nights and had good service. we had issues with the AC and they changed our room.It's true that the decor is not that great and in need of a re-do. We chose the 1/2 board option and it was okay, but you the food in Sardegna in the summer is great because everything is so ripe and fresh. The waiters in the dining section are very efficient and enjoy their work, and are very pleasant. The beach is really very nice and long.

Room Tip: choose a sea view because it is a nice one, as well as with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARTskiEAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week at the end of June. We had a basic room with sea view, intially we were a little disappointed with the room as it was small and the decor was nothing special however the hotel grew on us during our stay. The best points were the food and the hotel beach. Breakfast is served on a shaded terrace, wide choice and good quality. We enjoyed our evening meals, again plenty of choice starting with a seafood buffet followed by options from the menu, grilled fish was always very well prepared. The hotel beach was delightful, good for swimming, plenty of room comfortable loungers and sunshades, soft white sand and clear waters. This is a good place to stay for a week of beach, sun, relaxation and good food. However we did feel that the hotel was too expensive and overpriced for what it was.

Room Tip: Do go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yugosunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a pleasant hotel with a lovely setting on the beach but marred by being excessively overpriced. It charges 5 star prices when it offers 3 star facilities. The communal parts are very dark and despite the bright sunshine outside, lights need to be kept on all day. The decor is very peculiar, for example, strange lights in the style of pumkins - it was like a Halloween party where the decorations haven't come down yet. My room was clean and simple, in a taverna style, which is fine, but certainly not worth 400 euros a night. I might have overlooked all this but for the grasping way the hotel continues to extract more money from its guests. We were told that the tap water wasn't drinkable (I've since learnt this is not true and water in Sardinia perfectly potable), which meant we had to buy expensive bottles of mineral water from the hotel. Also the wifi, free most places these days, was extortionate, and very complicated process to log on. I am giving it 3 stars for the position and helpful reception staff, but I really don't recommend a visit when there are better value and just as good hotels close by.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Genevalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The best feature of the hotel is the beach, in a bay with good views, clear waters, smooth sand, plenty of sunbeds and never crowded (rare at end of July anywhere!). There is no bar service on beach, but the bar is a few minutes walk through the garden. Rooms not that big but very clean, very helpful cleaning staff. Garden views are nice, tpwards the green hills, though if you are on a lower floor be careful as you can hear cars in the car park.
No bath, and small shower cubicle even if you are thin.
The other great feature is the food, really worth booking halfboard for variety and qualty of food, especially seafood. The only small issue - lack of hot vegetables to go with the main course - they ALWAYS give you fried potatoes of various kinds, and a tiny portion plus another smal veg like fennel or cauliflower but you can't choose as this is set for the evening (and asgain tiny portion). Otherwise the buffet startes were fantastic, lots of varied seafood, cold meats, smoked fish, too many to mention. Pasta is out of this world (as a hot menu dish, different each day) - though spagetti not as good as the other types of pasta. We only had fish as a a main which was perfect esp seabass.
The other nice touch is the interior around the reception, very cosy and tastefull with exposed brick, lights etc.
Reception staff varies - some nice, some not so nice and quite brusque (especially a couple of ladies, just not friendly or smiley - one mature receptionist doesn't understand that if you say 'no' to a guest you have to smile and say sorry, not just say 'no' in a barking tione to a request!)). Elizabetta is nice, and so is the new girl who is still learning! The manager is actually nice if you aer very nice to him, but he doesn't appreciate blunt demands haha. The night porter very helpful.
Now for the many silly rules...neber encountered in any similar expensive places (and it was expensiove no mistake about it). Mainly the internet - 10 euro for one hour, or 25 for 12hours! no choice inbetween. Free half hour - it is RIDICULOUS when you pay around 2K per week! it should be free. The internet quality is POOR in rooms, ok in communal areas but no place to use it as reception is small and people walking past all the time. They lend you notebooks but they are not all working well at all. You also can't have a charger in the room. Bring your own is my advice.
There is no tea/coffee makers in rooms, costs 3euro in the bar (both). Not convenient.
Other rule - 1 towel per person (wake up to modern comforts please, at a four star hotel) - would you want to lie on a wet towel? thankjfully some beach staff is understanding but you have to convince them. You aer given two sunbeds for two people which they like you to stick to. Once we moved to a first row (two altogether) and the attendant came to ask to pay 15e extra if we want exra beds in first row! the place was half empty with lots of beds!). we refused, but had to move stuff from other beds so at least he was ok that we stick to two beds. You have to take towels in the end of the day to them - no idea why can't they just collect towels, as the place is not crowded.
The other rule is for the restaurant - you have to stick to the table they give you (at most cjhoice of two) the entire time. Never seen this anywhere. Sometimes it's drafty or the neighbours loud - you till have to stick to it. Generally the service is good, especially very nice older waiters, always smiling/frienly, but the two younger guys aer not very nice. One is a bit unprofessional, if you ask for an item he just goes off instead of saying anything or smiling, generally off in his mood most of the time, the other one just had zero charm and was not making any effort of friendliness or how was the food etc.
You have to come in to dinner between 8 and 9pm, another rule. Threr is no entertainment, though they had a good singer once in the week (this could be twice generally, not sure).
The grounds aer very well kept but too small for a walking around - and outside the hotel is a road through forest which is full of rubbish left by forest visitors. Villasimius is pleasant, cheap to go to by taxi if you don't fancy a long walk along the road.
Air conditioning was very noisy! surely they can afford to upgrade with these prices? You could not control ot from the room - reception controls it (eh?) and it can't go below 24 degrees (!?) as the room never really cools down, plus there aer no setting for the flow, it's just on max and loud! On hte other hand reception IS cooler, hmm.
Overall the stay was enjoyable thanks to the sea being so good, and the food, but I do think the hotel is overpriced for the level of service (inconsistent) and lack of options options (irrational rules). If you can get a good discount then go for it, obviously don't if you are a free spirit.

Room Tip: if you want a cooler room go for garden view, as aircon is not great and noisy(see above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AppreciateCharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I can't for the life of me understand what people find attractive about this hotel! They are fairly complacent as there is very little competion, maybe they should look at what the competion is doing...sa gologone, great hotel in every respect...or tartesh in guspini another great hotel..the manager also thinks he knows it all...I think offering half an hours internet free is far below what other hotels offer...maybe he should look at the soho house group and see how a hotel should be run!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We didn't get to stay here, and I'll tell you why. I reserved for six nights at this property last December through Late Rooms, over seven months ago. Not a word about the reservation until this week, and they say there was a "glitich" in their reservation system that showed the incorrect rental price for this property. They would not honor the price confirmed by Late Rooms over seven months ago. In fact, they were frantic for me to either immediately pay their new price (more than half again as much as the initial reservation) or cancel the reservation. Late Rooms was of not help. I called to speak with the manager of Hotel Stell Maris twice, and he never bothered to call me back or return my emails about the dispute. Apparently they now have a run on their rooms and do not wish to honor their agreement with me made in December. They say they sent an email about it which I never got. Even if they did and it got deleted in Spam, why did they wait over seven months to follow up on the alleged "glitch." I smell a rat, and you would be wise to avoid such a place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JMTurnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoGSalesMan, Direttore vendite at Hotel Stella Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Dear Guest,

we are really sorry for all the misunderstandings while booking through Laterooms.com. The only thing we want to underline is that we have always replied to your email and requests on real time (you are in possession of all the correspondence), we have explained that the rate difference was caused by an issue in their on-line system that was not communicating properly with our channel manager and, most important thing, we sent you and Laterooms an email as soon as you booked. Furthermore Laterooms faced up its responsibility in dealing with you.
Last but not least, we offered you a free upgrade on half baord basis, instead of bed & breakfast as per your reservation, but you didn't accept it. We did our best to solve this issue, you simply cancelled for lack of trust.

We hope to welcome you in future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Beautiful location on quiet unspoilt private beach. Set on a private entrance through a shady pine wood
Stunning coastal scenes on the drive to the hotel from Cagliari airport. Transfer 1 hour.

Hotel is set in stunning manicured gardens with perfect alcoves and plenty of natural shade with umbrellas discreetly positioned so you feel that you are the only person present. An abundance of sunbeds and tables and chairs to eat or get a drink.
Hotel staff are discreet but always available and helpful.

Rooms were immaculate and absolutely spotlessly thoroughly cleaned everyday.
The rooms with the balcony and sun loungers were great for coming back and sitting till 7.30pm reading in the quiet atmosphere.

Restaurant food was excellent value, approx €30 for 5 courses, and very nice.
Local restaurants equally good standard and tourist menu for only €15 including wine or beer and water.

If you haven't been and want a restful time in great surroundings with good weather. Go.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to the rooms with a balcony and sunbed I would. Worth the extra. Look and book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunseekernina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villasimius
0.6 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
1,508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#10 of 33 in Villasimius
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Simius Playa
Hotel Simius Playa
#5 of 33 in Villasimius
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cala Caterina
Hotel Cala Caterina
#18 of 33 in Villasimius
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Le Bouganville
Residence Le Bouganville
#24 of 33 in Villasimius
154 reviews
129.9 mi away
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
#2 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Maris

Address: Via Dei Cedri 3, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Villasimius
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Villasimius
#9 Family Hotel in Villasimius
#12 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range: £145 - £652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stella Maris 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FEATURES OF THE STELLA MARIS HOTELThe privileged position in front of Campulongu Bay private beach, one of the most outstanding in south Sardinia, is close to the city centre and the perfect starting point to plan every kind of excursion50 rooms & suites immersed in the hotel's flourishing Mediterranean garden with its enchanting perfume of mastic, myrtle, oleander and juniper trees, and captivating views overlooking the sea or natural beauty of the pine woodThe staff of the Stella Maris hotel are careful to details and to every kind of need. They are professionals in making sure guests feel perfectly at easeAn amazing panoramic restaurant overlooking the sea where you can have a drink or select from a range of exquisite local wines with fresh, typical Mediterranean accompaniments.A beautifully designed split level swimming pool, a stylish American bar, and a garden crossed by little cobbled paths leading to a private beach where an idyllic oasis for sunbathing awaits ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Villasimius
Hotel Stella Maris Sardinia/Villasimius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing