We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food, relax, villasimius”
Review of Hotel Stella Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stella Maris
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food, relax, villasimius”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The restaurant is amazing: 5 stars food. We had half board and we enjoyed any single dinner (and breakfast). The location is great (directly on a nice beach) and our room was comfortable.

The hotel is very relaxing and the staff very friendly. The light lunch served on the garden is a nice experience as well.

The hotel does not provide any entertainment in the evening and getting there by car may be a good advice to explore the near by beaches and easily go to villasimius in the evening for a walk.

This is definitely an hotel that I would suggest for a relaxing stay in a beautiful location with excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dettoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    69
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
71
141
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Spent four nights at the Hotel Stella Maris and would gladly return. We had a deluxe sea view room, which was very spacious and clean, and had a massive terrace with two sun loungers, ideal for sunbathing and taking in the views of the crystal blue waters. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and very friendly, helpful staff. We didn't realise how far away the hotel was from the nearest town, and, not having a car, this meant we were restricted to the hotel for the duration of our stay, eating there every night. Dinner was always excellent though, with a starter buffet consisting of a massive choice of fish, seafood, meat and salad, first course of things like pasta/soup, then second course of fish or meat accompanied by a vegetable dish and a potato dish, followed by a buffet of desserts. Breakfast was fine - the usual continental fare of bread, croissants, rolls, jams, meat and cheese, juice and coffee - enough to keep us going until dinner time!
The beach at the bottom of the hotel is terrific - it has the softest sand and clearest water I think I have ever seen, and was warm enough for bathing every day. It's also pretty safe for children I would think, as it is very shallow for quite a long way out.
We had a wonderful stay here and would definitely give it the thumbs up!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leemurphy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rüsselsheim
Level Contributor
803 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We paid much money ( more than 350.-- Euros ) per night included half board. But all in all it was disappointing. The room with seeview was equipped with cheap furniture. The bed was to small and to short. The AC was very noisy. TV Programms were in trouble. The meals, exceptional the starter buffet and the desserts, were bad cooked. The wines were to expensive. In one word: rip-off

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wfritschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This hotel is a gem. I almost feel like not writing anything about it for fear it will be full. After many years of visiting Sardinia (Alghero/Costa Smerelda/Pula etc) we manage our expectations on what to expect. This place however surprised us for all the right reasons.

We had a junior suite with a park view (the view to be fair was of nothing at all) but other than that the rest of the stay was great. The hotel staff are great, efficient and friendly, the restaurant is fabulous -and I do not use that lightly - but as one who avoids half board like the plague -ever since a poor experience in the Hotel Abi D'Oru on Sardinia - this is a different class. A fresh menu each day and really well prepared. The restaurant is also welcoming to kids without being "a kiddy friendly" type experience. It was great food and a nice wine list without the uberinflation we encounter elsewhere in Sardinia.

The swimming pool is well policed and warm with a nice paddling pool for young ones (though you need to watch kids in it as it has a drop on one end). There is a lovely terraced garden area with plenty of shade and then a very pleasant beach - with its de rigeur granita man.

Villasimius is very nice and we will definitely be back. We travelled as a family and kids of 9, 6 and 8 weeks. Only slight fly in the ointment was a mix up over a spa treatment for my wife but the rest was A+

Room Tip: I only saw the suites these were great. I am sure the rooms are too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Just returned from a week of (expensive) luxury ... but hey it keeps away the riff raff. I agree the rooms are basic but have all you need - stayed in a sea view classic .. was changed to a bigger room when we told reception we were unhappy and were given a larger room. The food and service is the best we have ever had in a hotel, the beach is so beautiful as are the gardens and up keep of all areas. I loved the quirky lamps and candles in the hotel. This is truly a grown ups beach holiday !

Room Tip: Seaview classic or Deluxe - ask for no extra bed in room and a large room - all the rooms differ in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaybooker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We spent 2 weeks in Sardegna and wanted a place in the south, so we landed on the Stella Maris.It wasn't easy to find a place in that area through books and the web.
We were there 3 nights and had good service. we had issues with the AC and they changed our room.It's true that the decor is not that great and in need of a re-do. We chose the 1/2 board option and it was okay, but you the food in Sardegna in the summer is great because everything is so ripe and fresh. The waiters in the dining section are very efficient and enjoy their work, and are very pleasant. The beach is really very nice and long.

Room Tip: choose a sea view because it is a nice one, as well as with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARTskiEAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week at the end of June. We had a basic room with sea view, intially we were a little disappointed with the room as it was small and the decor was nothing special however the hotel grew on us during our stay. The best points were the food and the hotel beach. Breakfast is served on a shaded terrace, wide choice and good quality. We enjoyed our evening meals, again plenty of choice starting with a seafood buffet followed by options from the menu, grilled fish was always very well prepared. The hotel beach was delightful, good for swimming, plenty of room comfortable loungers and sunshades, soft white sand and clear waters. This is a good place to stay for a week of beach, sun, relaxation and good food. However we did feel that the hotel was too expensive and overpriced for what it was.

Room Tip: Do go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yugosunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villasimius
0.6 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#10 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cala Caterina
Hotel Cala Caterina
#17 of 33 in Villasimius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Simius Playa
Hotel Simius Playa
#7 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
29.7 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mariposas
Hotel Mariposas
#1 of 33 in Villasimius
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Maris

Property: Hotel Stella Maris
Address: Via Dei Cedri 3, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Villasimius
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Villasimius
#9 Family Hotel in Villasimius
#12 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stella Maris 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FEATURES OF THE STELLA MARIS HOTELThe privileged position in front of Campulongu Bay private beach, one of the most outstanding in south Sardinia, is close to the city centre and the perfect starting point to plan every kind of excursion50 rooms & suites immersed in the hotel's flourishing Mediterranean garden with its enchanting perfume of mastic, myrtle, oleander and juniper trees, and captivating views overlooking the sea or natural beauty of the pine woodThe staff of the Stella Maris hotel are careful to details and to every kind of need. They are professionals in making sure guests feel perfectly at easeAn amazing panoramic restaurant overlooking the sea where you can have a drink or select from a range of exquisite local wines with fresh, typical Mediterranean accompaniments.A beautifully designed split level swimming pool, a stylish American bar, and a garden crossed by little cobbled paths leading to a private beach where an idyllic oasis for sunbathing awaits ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Villasimius
Hotel Stella Maris Sardinia/Villasimius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing