We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, pleasant accommodations”
Review of Hotel Cormoran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cormoran
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our family of four stayed for two weeks in this resort, which includes a hotel, apartments, bungalows and small villas. It sounds huge but it's not. Although the place filled up the second week we were there, the beach is so long and wide and the property is on a large piece of land, we rarely felt cramped or stuck in the crowd.

The pros: beautiful beach and pleasant tree-filled property, plus two pools; we rented one of the apartments, which was perfect for us size-wise; We stayed on the top floor -- probably better than on the ground floor, although those units have two terraces, front and back; the balconies of the top floor units have been converted into small eat-in kitchens, albeit open to fresh air and nice views thanks to the sliding glass doors. Good beds, lots of storage space, drawers, wardrobes. Quiet A/C (filters could be changed though). B/c we are late sleepers, we had breakfast in the room, which worked out perfectly with stove, fridge, etc and supplies from the little grocery a 5 min walk away or the larger supermarket in town. For lunch, we'd either bring food to the beach, eat in our room or dine at the buffet near the pool, which was quite good although pricey -- salads, seafood, grilled meat, fresh fruit. (Much better than dinner). For dinner, we bought two carnets of 7 nights and dined in the restaurant.

The cons: The resort is a refurbished property and the apartments are a bit worn out. The grounds though are well maintained -- beach, pool areas, open spaces all nice. Restaurant is fine. We only saw our apartment -- which was dated -- so wonder about the age of the hotel rooms, bungalows and villas. Word from one of the waiters is that the apts will be refurnished this winter. Worth asking about for 2014.

Overall, the hotel staff is polite and pleasant -- the beach guys, bar staff, etc, but the pple at the reception desk, although not rude, were rather sniffy from the moment we checked in. They warmed up but rarely greeted us when we passed by, which was several times a day for 14 consecutive days. We were not really impressed. It would have been nice if the owners who dined each night at the same table, had circulated to say hello to all the guests, not just a few. A personal touch often makes the difference between a very good hotel and an excellent one.

Although the apartment was right for us in many ways, the furniture and fixtures have not been updated in years, the fridge is located in the main bedroom (and whirls away at night unless you turn if off or down); the fan in the bathroom sounds like the bldging is going to take off and the shower is nearly too small for one person. And watch out for the hot water -- the temp on the boiler is turned up so high (b/c it's pretty small), the H20 might burn you or your child. I don't know about the hotel rooms or other accommodations, but our apt block did get noisy in the mornings -- crying babies, kids out on the passageway.

The restaurant: the food is probably the one black mark of this complex. Obviously run by a chef who has a lot of ideas but lacks proper training, nearly every meal he or she prepared was below par, and served tepid at best. No clue about how to cook fish. We resorted to seeking out the simplest items on the menu or ordering pasta con sugo semplice, carne arrosto and ice cream for dessert. The "gran buffet" of vegetables was just sad -- worse than in a hospital.

Villasimius is the closest town -- it has what you need but is not very picturesque. When we tire of the beach, we like to visit a nice town to do some shopping, take a walk, perhaps grab a drink and some dinner. Alghero, on the west side of the island is perfect for that. Highly recommend it. This town, on the other hand, is nothing special.

Overall, the Cormoran offers a pleasant and relaxing stay and we may return -- price, atmosphere and very convenient accommodations. It would be great if the food would be improved.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to this hotel for a number of years. We come back because the setting is perfect. The staff are polite and very friendly and the food is excellent. What more could any one ask for.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

From the moment we arrived to check out we had a great time. Although early in the season the staff were up to speed. We were given a sea view! From our apartment to the pool and the private beach, it was all great. Jean at breakfast was a true gent who provided a friendly efficient service.

The only negative was the location, although peacefully it was a little remote. Taxis are extortionate, not the fault of the Cormoran. Couldn't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Hire a car, and try the breakfast at least once!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP51505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent in Cormoran Hotel one week with our 2,5 years old son in residential part of the complex. We were satisfied and enjoyed our stay a lot. The Hotel is located a bit outside of Villasimius but it takes only 10 min by car to get to the center or to the perfect paradise beaches (in my opinion the best in whole Sardinia !!!).
So I think, the biggest advantage of this hotel is its location (of course depending on your needs). It has its private nice sandy beach which is a luxury in this part of the island and a beautiful, well kept garden (with shadow area) which is a good for small children coming from northern Europe.

The apartment itself was very basic, but clean. We got 2 room apartment, with separate kitchen on the veranda which was a bit strange for us at the beginning. Lately we appreciated eating and cooking outside at the veranda with the sea view. To be honest, I wouldn’t definitely give 4 stars to the apartment (but we didn’t expect it).

Room Tip: If you chose the residnetial part, ask for the appartment on the 1st flor of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KasiaUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Two weeks ago close friends of mine celebrated their wedding at the Cormoran and I have to say it was nothing less than fantastic. The venue itself is incredibly beautiful with the beach just 20 metres from the hotel, a very nice pool area (including a smaller one for children), and the whole vebue in excellent shape. The service personell was outstanding and warm-hearted. The food was incredible and more than plentyfull. One could now argue that this is only a superficial impression as it was only one evening and due to the wedding a very special one. True, but many of the guests of the wedding stayed at the Cormoran for some days longer and from what I have heard from them, this is the usual standard in this house.
I can recommend the Cormoran without hesitation to anyone who wants to have a outstanding time in this beautiful corner of Sardegna!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We went to the Cormoran Hotel to celebrate the wedding of close friends and stayed some more days around. The service was always friendly, multilingual and helpful. The rooms, the beach and the whole complex were very clean and well maintained even at the end of the season.
The wedding itself was facilitated by the management and the whole staff in every way possible. The reception on the swimming-pool terrace and its direct view of the splendid beach was remarkable and the following 4-course menu was more like an 8-course menu due to the many variations and different preparations of the excellent food. The sudden rain was made meaningless by the staff as they immediately brought along big umbrellas, enabling us to continue the evening open air.
In general the Cormoran Hotel appears to be a perfect place to relax, especially for families with young kids as there is a special animation program for them and the pools as well as the beach are kid-friendly and always surveyed by attendants. Furthermore, the Hotel or the self-catering Apartments and Bungalows with build-in kitchens allow deciding whether you want to cook for yourself or enjoy the full service of the Hotel. If you do not want to stay in the complex for your entire holiday we would definitely recommend renting a car to explore the other beaches around Villasimius, Cagliari or other places in Sardinia.

Room Tip: If you like self-catering go for a apartement or a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plugged_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The place is in excellent with great beach and great rooms
The people that work in the hotel are super always making sure you are happy
I feel like I was in a 5 start hotel. Great activities at night life music ...l.

Room Tip: In villasimius The best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villasimius
1.9 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#3 of 33 in Villasimius
1,512 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#15 of 33 in Villasimius
280 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Le Bouganville
Residence Le Bouganville
#25 of 33 in Villasimius
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Simius Playa
Hotel Simius Playa
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
464 reviews
28.8 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cormoran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cormoran

Address: Via del Porto 37 | Localita Campus, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Villasimius
#4 Luxury Hotel in Villasimius
#8 Family Hotel in Villasimius
#17 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range: £148 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cormoran 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cormoran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormoran Hotel Villasimius
Hotel Cormoran Sardinia/Villasimius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing