We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enormous thin-crust pizzas!”

Ristorante Il Monastero
Ranked #11 of 298 Restaurants in Viterbo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enormous thin-crust pizzas!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Il Monastero has a huge selection of pizzas and they are huge! They cover two plates and can easily feed 2-3 people a piece. We made the mistake of ordering one for each of us and they could barely fit on the table. The thin crusts are crunchy and delicious, and the cheese and sauce are just perfect. Make sure you know what you are ordering! And be prepared to pay for the cover charge and water with your meal. But it's worth it, especially when you'll have leftovers to eat for days afterward!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jbsblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    381
    104
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a side trip. Seriously.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I regularly drove 2 hours to have this amazing perfect pizza. I've rarely encountered a pizza in Italy that I didn't love, but this pizza is extraordinary. One of those rare places where everyone is in a great mood just because they're there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cipollanera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Roman-style Pizza”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Let's face it, pizza is from Naples and if you want authentic pizza, you have to go there to get it. However, I also enjoy the thin crispy Roman-style pizza as well. It's tasty and the crunch-factor is satisfying.

This place serves extra large pizzas that are so big, they bring it to you on two plates! It was delicious and couldn't have asked for more. The price is perfect and the service is fast enough.

Go early or reserve, otherwise you'll find a line of people.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenys V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big delight”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lot's of people love Il Monastero. It's particularly famous for its big portions; it's the home of the two-plate pizza. But, i must say, their pizza is outstanding. Italians and tourists agree, that this is the place to go for a casual, fun night of pizzas, particularly in the summer, when you can eat outside. As for the service...well, it's fast... And friendly enough. Don't wait for your bill, as we have too often, for too long. Go inside to the cashier to pay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrawingViterbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best pizza on the planet!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were searching for the restaurant and the Viterbo streets were deserted. Where was everyone - in the pizzeria! Totally delicious! We loved the thin crust and the seafood salad. We only wish that we understood that we could order two different types of pizza flavors on the two plates. The service was quick and friendly. We loved the energy of the place and it was full of happy families.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Il Monastero also viewed

Viterbo, Province of Viterbo
Viterbo, Province of Viterbo
 
Viterbo, Province of Viterbo
Viterbo, Province of Viterbo
 

Been to Ristorante Il Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing