We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your run of the mill hotel”
Review of L'Ombricolo

L'Ombricolo
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Viterbo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Ombricolo
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not your run of the mill hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2008

If you are looking for an anonymous hotel then this is not the place for you. If however, you want to stay somewhere a little different then this is the place. The atmosphere is relaxed and home from home with most conversations taking place around the kitchen table! Dinner has a real dinner party atmosphere, providing the opportunity to mix with other travellers and local friends invited in by Dawne the host. The traditional italian 5 course dinner is second to none and includes sparking wine to kick of the evening and limoncello to finish. The 5 rooms are comfortably furnished with the 2 downstairs providing access directly to the sprawling grounds. The property is ideally placed for exploring the area around Orvietto and Dawne is more than willing to make table reservations and provide itinerary suggestions, as required.

PS Beware if you do not like dogs, here like the guests 'Luna' and 'Belinda' are treated as members of the family!

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Putting on weight due to the fabulous dinners
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YW4YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
5
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2007

This guest house is not only gorgeous (it has been featured in Architectural Digest and Karen Brown's Romantic Inns for good reason), but very comfortable and peaceful. The website pictures are very accurate. The bathroom was very modern and came equipped with a fluffy bathrobe-a touch I always appreciate.

The hostess Dawne is very welcoming and is a terrific cook as well. We thouroughly enjoyed aour wonderful dinner with her. She has lived a most fascinating life in both the UK and Italy and we loved hearing about it over dinner. She was also most helpful in providing maps and directions for taking the most scenic route to our next destination.

This is the perfect spot to relax and get over jet lag on arrival from Rome, or to take in the peaceful and lush setting before heading home. Located an easy 90 minutes from FCO, it is easy to find and a good location from which to explore the southern towns of Umbria and parts of Lazio. Especially Cita di Bagnoregio which is about a 15 minute drive.

I will always think about staying here on my way from or to Rome if I have travel plans in the area. Highly recommended both for the lovely house and setting and for the very friendly and accomadating hostess.

  • Liked — Its' beauty, comfort and friendly hostess
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank colk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2006

My wife and I along with my brother and sister-in-law made a brief stop at L'Ombricolo on our intense two-week whirlwind Italy tour. We were in this part of the country primarily to visit the dying city, Civita di Bagnoregio, which was a sublime experience for all of us. We arrived a little late on the first night, but our hostess Dawne had a magnificent meal ready for us. If you leave her table wanting for anything, it is truly your own fault.

While we all enjoyed the food and wines immensely, we found our hostess to be more than a little stodgy and quite rude at times because we were apparently not as sophisticated or cultured as she. She rolled her eyes at our various cultural blunders and corrected our Italian mispronunciations like a second-grade grammar teacher. I also think she was dismissive of us because we were much younger than she or her "average" guest. No matter though because we managed to spend relatively little time with her except for her rather annoying little habit of taking her own dinner right along with us on both evenings we were there. If we would have known that, we would have undoubtedly arranged for dinner out on the second night. It was also quite strange to see how she treated her man-servant, Oleg, who we found to be very pleasant however eccentric he may seem.

Overall, the house itself is wonderfully restored and we enjoyed our rooms with their comfortable beds and quaint furnishings. The sitting rooms were very plush with live fires in the grand fireplace on both nights and more than enough food and drink to satisfy everybody. Breakfasts were equally enormous with a bounty of fresh fruits/yogurt/croissants/etc. Do try the persimmons...you'll thank me later. Just keep your interactions with Dawne to a minimum and you'll have a great time. Trust me.

  • Liked — the food and wine
  • Disliked — read the review
  • Tips/Secrets — ditto
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jfury76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 December 2005

Having discovered L'Ombricolo and hostess Dawne Alstrom Vioti (ex pat Brit) in 1997, a friend and I have returned almost every year. The atmosphere is comfortable yet elegant as guests gather by the fire following a day of exploration. Those who choose the optional evening dinner are participants in a true Italian evening beginning with antipasti and bubbly, a prelude to multiple courses of pasta, carne, insalata, formaggio e insalata, finite con dolce e limoncello.
Proprietor, Dawne Alstrom, is extremely knowledgeable about everything in the region because she has been there for almost 40 years. Those interested in restoring old properties will be fascinated by her photos of the transformation of her property. This transformation was designed and orchestrated by her.
On a side note, dog lovers will be especially happy when they are greeted by Luna and Belinida. However, cat lovers will find numerous felines outside.
Well enough for now. I am open to individual inquiries.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 October 2005

My wife and I stayed at L'Ombricolo in the first week of July 2005 and had a superb time. It is located in a quiet region about 90min drive from Rome, and about 40min drive from Orvieto. All the facilities are superb, great swimming pool, the rooms are big and well furnished with big ensuite bathrooms, as well as a big communal loungeroom filled with guidebooks for the area. The breakfast is excellent, continental, with homemade jams. The strength of L'Ombricolo is your hostess Dawne - who built the place to what it is today, and is also well-known by all in the surrounding villages. Recommended is as many dinners in-house as you can muster (extra € but well worth it) - cooked by Dawne from local or home seasonal produce - and absolutely sumptuous. If not, Dawne is happy to recommend fine local restaurants that will welcome you as a local and feed you like a king.
Strengths: welcoming atmosphere, B&B facilities, fine food & drink, the pool, and friendly trip advice.
Keep in Mind: L'Ombricolo is fairly isolated and you will need a car.
We spent ages looking for a place to stay in or around the Umbria region and staying here we could visit all the places we wanted to go (highlights Spoleto, Civita di Bagnoreggio, Orvieto). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2004

After four trips to Italy in the last 6 years, we keep coming back to L'Ombricolo, our favorite B&B. It's in a beautiful setting, with sweeping views across vineyards to the Umbrian hills. Located where Lazio, Umbria, and Tuscany come together, it's an easy 90-minute drive from the Rome airport, and perfect for day trips to many favorite Tuscan and Umbrian hill towns -- including Orvieto, Siena, Todi, Perugia, and Assisi. Rick Steves' favorite "back door" hill town, Civita di Bagnoreggio, is only a few miles away. Hostess Dawne has restored an old farmhouse in exquisite taste, and spares no effort in making her guests feel comfortable and pampered. Definitely try to schedule at least one dinner at Dawne's amazing table (salvaged from planks in an old cow barn), where the conversation flows as freely as the wine, and the food is out of this world. Dawne is British by birth, but has lived in Italy for many years -- some of them working in the Italian film industry. She has made L'Ombricolo a wonderfully welcoming place that has given us some of our happiest European memories.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank eliasor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viterbo hotels
9.8 mi away
Hotel- Restaurant Bagnaia
10.8 mi away
Hotel Salus Terme
Hotel Salus Terme
#3 of 20 in Viterbo
1,050 reviews
13.8 mi away
Balletti Park Hotel
Balletti Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Martino al Cimino
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Viterbo
12.6 mi away
Alla Corte delle Terme Resort
11.1 mi away
B&B Viterbo Antica
B&B Viterbo Antica
#1 of 94 in Viterbo
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ombricolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ombricolo

Property: L'Ombricolo
Address: Localita Ombricolo 1, 01020, Viterbo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Viterbo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Viterbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing