We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Villa Farinella”
Review of Villa Farinella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Farinella
Ranked #7 of 101 Viterbo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hello,

We have stayed at this Villa in Italy and everything was perfect. The owners were very nice and eager to help as far as what to visit, restaurants we should go to etc...They sent us to a restaurant walking distance from the Villa, just the next street over, where we had the best steak we had , ever, the meat comes from Argentina, the chef is french, it was so good we went back the next day.

Thank you,

Suzanne & Alain

Room Tip: We go through all the sites, but Venere.com is a very good site, we have never been deceived.It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italiestlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Just over one hour from Rome on the edge of Viterbo we arrived at the stunning Villa Farinella, conveniently set off from the road in a pastoral and quiet setting. We were warmly welcomed by Rita who opened the gate and villa to our delight as she showed us our magnificent bedroom and living quarters for guests to relax in luxury and beauty. Rita, her son, Maurizio, and his wife Valentina were most gracious and generous, with a lovely breakfast and refreshments always available. They were a fountain of information, helping us find the beautiful gardens and villas in the area. For a truly elegant and relaxing experience of Italy we highly recommend Villa Farinellla.

Carlo and Lia

Room Tip: The corner bedroom aside from the master suite is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

After spending 10 days exploring beautiful Tuscany, this lovely older historical Italian Villa located in a very quiet and serene neighborhood of Viterbo was just what we were hoping for. We met Valentina at the front gate who was a very warm and gracious host and stayed in the stunning, spacious, grand suite for 2 nights. Beautiful view from the bedroom window and delighted in watching their two horses out back. The bathroom was very modern with an extra large air jet tub as well as a separate shower. The very comfortable, original period furniture and paintings in the common rooms made you feel like you were transported back in time even while accessing free wi-fi. The medeival city centre and wonderful restaurants were just minutes away. All in all it was a perfect stay to end our fantastic holiday!
Thank you Valentina for making us feel like very special guests in your magnificent home.
Esther and Alan
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in this Villa for just one night, but are sure we will return there, if again in the neighbourhood of Viterbo. It is a real old Italian Villa, with all the furniture in it that you expect. Everything very well kept. The host treats you as if you are family. The centre of the city is only five minutes away by car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Susan & Robert from Aurora, Ont.
This historic villa is beautifully maintained as a family operation. Maurizio and his wife are gracious and generous hosts. We stayed in the stately 'pink room' suite ... very spacious, stunning view, comfortable bed and crisp linens. The ensuite bathroom is finished with high end modern fittings. Free wi-fi in the lounge, and tasty continental breakfast included.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
makcomunevt, Direttore at Villa Farinella, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Villa Farinella was among the best places we stayed in Italy. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated and opened out into an equally beautiful sitting room and dining area. The location is perfect for touring Viterbo and surrounding small historic towns, including the amazing Villla Lante and Bagnaia. Rita, the owner of Villa Farinella, is a lovely hostess whose conversations guided our experience and enhanced our journey. A wonderful restaurant, Bistrot, is a five-minute walk from the Villa Farinella. We highly recommend this B&B as one of the most reasonably priced of our stays and definitely at the top of the scale for comfort, history, and location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We recently stayed at Villa Farinella with our ten year old daughter and thoroughly enjoyed it. As stated by the other reviewers, Rita is a delightful and extremely helpful and knowledgeable hostess. We were given a number of tips about the region that made it an interesting stay. The villa has been beautifully maintained and elegantly furnished and feels like a step back in time. The many personal effects and family photos add to the intimacy of what was once a family home. We also stayed in the "pink" room and agree this is the room to request. Breakfast is fairly simple and is probably the only area that could be improved.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the pink suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viterbo hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Salus Terme
Hotel Salus Terme
#2 of 20 in Viterbo
1,137 reviews
1.3 mi away
B&B Viterbo Antica
B&B Viterbo Antica
#1 of 101 in Viterbo
316 reviews
5.4 mi away
Le Pozze
Le Pozze
#12 of 101 in Viterbo
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
B&B L’Incontro Residenza Medievale
1.3 mi away
B&B Orchard
B&B Orchard
#4 of 101 in Viterbo
232 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B dei Papi Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Farinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Farinella

Address: Via Capodistria 14, 01100, Viterbo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Viterbo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Viterbo
Price Range: £86 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Farinella, established since 1999, found its aim in bringing new life and preserve to abandon a wonderful country house whose structure kept wearing down rapidly. We made the decision to restore and then open it to guests, up to six, who prefers to stay in a proper and fascinating old country house. Our hospitality is way far different from the classical hotel one: we bring more familiarity as well as intimacy in our service. Inspired from and as for the classic Irish B&B, you can enjoy a different and more characteristic atmosphere: you'll never wake up at the noises of traffic, more likely you could be awaked at birdies singing on the horse-chestnuts by the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Farinella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing