We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our lowest night”
Review of Tuscia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tuscia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Viterbo
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“our lowest night”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

driving out of Abruzzo and into the Lake Bolsana region, we though we would spend the night at Viterbo. This hotel came up on my phone as well located and agreeable, and we were able to book it at the Tourist Office and get directions to it. It has a parking lot but it was full when we arrived late afternoon. Found a spot on the street but had to buy parking stckers to cover the time until 8 PM, then had to get up again early the next morning to buy new ones. Did not find Viterbo very pleasant, at least not in the walled area. Very crowded, noisy, lots of car fumes and trash. After a week in Lazio we realized there were much nicer towns to stay.
Room was very basic, cheap local motel level you'd find off a motorway. Breakfast the minimalist we had in 3 weeks. Very little English spoken in hotel and most guests seemed like locals there for some event (group were getting their hair done in the first floor room for a wedding). We also had no hot water despite showering at normal morning hours. There was a lot of voices waking us in the night, not just from the street but seeming to reverberate thru the walls from somewhere not that close.
A depressing night in a depressing place.

Room Tip: look somewhere else, probably outside the walls. OR choose another town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    87
    59
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
68
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Room was adequate, breakfast was modest, location and staff helpfulness were great. Wifi worked fine in our room. Close to restaurants and tourist attractions. Used by a lot of tour groups, so try to avoid breakfast when they are there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Centrally located: clean, tidy, comfortable and very friendly. This hotel has a useful roof terrace and is close to a good variety of restaurants and bars. Modest breakfast but this is Italy. We were travelling with ATG-Oxford and they have used this hotel for quite a few years which normally signifies that most clients have enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellioth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Staff very, very kind and helpful. Very good location to visit Viterbo (the hotel is in the city centre). The room was Ok.
The price was excellent.
Even though the wi-fi should only work in the hotel lobby, I was on the 2nd floor and it worked perfectly.
The parking does not dignify the hotel, it is small, dirty, and the walls were tagged.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I liked everything: the nice prices, the friendly staff, the good location, the nice bedrooms and the excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nekas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baschi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I stayed at the Tuscia because I had to spend the night in Viterbo for a school test that my teenage son had to take. The location was perfect and the people who worked there were all extremely helpful. While he was taking the test I enjoyed the small roof-top terrace where I could see out over the city and get some work done, using the free wifi. Simple, low cost, clean, pleasant...Just right for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lecompre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at Viterbo in order to visit the classic garden at Villa Lante della Rovere in Bagnaia which can be reached by a town bus. A bonus was the opportunity to be in a town walled since the Middle Ages and peopled by Italians instead of tourists. It did not disappoint.
Hotel Tuscia is a better than decent 3-star accommodation, whose staff were patient with my beginner's Italian, friendly, and very helpful. Our room was comfortable with a balcony overlooking the rooftops of the town. The street was noisy at night, my wife slept with earplugs, while I slept soundly with nothing but my good opinion of the place. She in retrospect pronounced it the friendliest hotel we stayed at in Italy.
If you are going on to Rome, as we did, I heartily recommend the local Viterbo-Roma Nord line (not Trenitalia). The fare is 4 euros! And the approach to Rome is the classic route by way of the via Flaminia, taken by all travellers from the north since tourism began. Along this route, near the Porta del Popolo where the line ends, the coachman would pause to exlaim 'Ecco Roma!'

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmeritusProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viterbo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viterbo Inn
Hotel Viterbo Inn
#8 of 20 in Viterbo
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Viterbo
1.7 mi away
Hotel Salus Terme
Hotel Salus Terme
#2 of 20 in Viterbo
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mini Palace Hotel
Mini Palace Hotel
#9 of 20 in Viterbo
196 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Sofia
Villa Sofia
#5 of 20 in Viterbo
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altavilla Hotel
Altavilla Hotel
#16 of 20 in Viterbo
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscia Hotel

Property: Tuscia Hotel
Address: Via Cairoli 41, 01100, Viterbo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Viterbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Viterbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuscia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical centre of Viterbo, the hotel is ideally positioned near to the most important monuments, museums and typical restaurants of the city. Hotel Tuscia takes its name from the ancient territory of Tuscia, beloved by Etruscans and elected Papal seat in the Middle Ages. After a long day of exploring the historic centre you can relax in the hotel, complete with an air conditioned lounge, an American bar, and a roof-garden, with enchanting views over the ancient town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tuscia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing