We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect food, excellent ambiance”
Review of Trattoria Albana

Trattoria Albana
Reserve with
Trattoria Albana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 91 Restaurants in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect food, excellent ambiance”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Like the French cuisine, absolutely perfect! You must go there for the perfect food and great ambiance

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willemijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    88
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“But you have to find it first!”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

In Mazzolla, a tiny vilage in Volterra, we found this little restaurant. Very friendly service and good basic italian food at very reasonable prices. Don't bother to try and find a parking space near the restaurant. There is a free parking space just outside the little village when you enter and in 4 minutes walking you are at Albana. (and in 6 you are on the other side of the village..!)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DVG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a find.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

It is a gem of a little restaurant hiiden away in the hills of Tuscanny. After a stunning drive through the area with my wife who had never been to Italy I had sourced this restaurant in advance (after much work i might add) and wow, not disappointted. The liitle sign for the town of Mazzolla suddenly appears and you make your way up and old windy road to a old town almost seemingly abandoned on top of a hill with spectacular views. If there are 80 people living in this town I would be surprised. The restaurant can be compared with the best food I have had in Italy. The chef serves beautiiful food which is rich in Tuscan influence and definitely utilised all local produce like hare and wild boar in combination with pasta in the form of parpadelle and large ravioli. Great local wine helps wash these dishes down and to finish for the wives you have a molten chocolate pudding which is the best I have ever tasted.Enjoy>>>

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trattoria Albana gourmet food in Tuscany”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

A small restaurant in the heart of Tuscany, in a small village of Mazzolla near Volterra. If you want to taste a real Tuscan food, stay away from tourist routes and visit this tiny place with excellent food and wine at a very reasonable price. We had home made pasta, wild boar ragout, rabbit with rosemary and olives, sample Fiorentina stake (the full steak is huge) cheese and apple tart and great local wine. Hard to tell what was better. The owner is very nice, we were at the restaurant on Friday night and the place was full of Italians coming here from surrounding cities. Highly recommended. We paid 90EUR for dinner for two plus two bottles of wine.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretaConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food and view are spectacular! a 360 view on Tuscany and the wonderful hills”
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The trattoria is in this beautiful town, Mazzolla only 2 miles from Volterra. The restaurant is owned by one of the best chef I have ever encountered. Pippo, the owner and chef used to run the Pizzeria that literally was raving people from all over Tuscany in the 90's. His cuisine has refined over the years and when you seat down and look at the menu you will see the very original tweak that Pippo likes to give to what are considered traditional dishes for the Tuscan cuisine.

What blew my mind was the guinea fowl, a wild bird, a very well known meat in Tuscany which is usually served with black olives and oven beaked. His recipe is very different and it goes back to the 1300's.
Besides the food, which is based on typical Tuscan dishes, amazingly revised, Pippo has the capability of suggesting how you should order which I think is beautiful especially if you are apt at trying new things. He suggested a beautiful Poggio ai Ginepri, a Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah and Merlot blend, that worked perfectly with our lunch.

Do not esitate to ask him for suggestions it will make your meal much more enjoyable if you follow his advice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loripianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Albana also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Trattoria Albana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing