We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location and very dated”
Review of Molino D'Era

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Molino D'Era
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We found this via trip advisor when we found ourselves in the area. The reviews their rated this hotel well, but that was not our opinion. The pictures on trip advisor make it look like this hotel in on the top of the hill with great views. It isn't. It is right down the bottom, with no views, and located on a busy road. Our room was next to that road. The site said it was 10 minutes drive from Volterra, it wasn't - it was twenty minutes drive. The whole place feels like the 70s, and the bathroom in particular needed updating. The shower had mould on the grouting, and the tiles were a horrible dusty pink. Add that to the green bathroom door with doorframe in a different green and it is not a good effect. The restaurant looked nice, but the meal was very average. I had papadelle with wild boar, which was a meat ragout on the pasta, but it contained lots of little bit of bone. Quite off-putting. There is no phone coverage, and no wifi. That might not matter to some people, but it was a problem for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennyalogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madaminamo, Proprietario at Molino D'Era, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Mrs” Jennyalog”

It is important for us to get feedback from our guest in order to improve our service.

Thank you to give us the chance to clarify that the photos on tripadvisor and on our website, show to the guest where the hotel is located. Some rooms have view on our park and others not.

To get to Volterra centre, there are two roads: at the moment the shorter one is closed for work ( we hope it will be open again soon). Taking the alternative road you will get in Volterra in about 15 minutes drive.

We renew the furniture and the hotel in the beginning of 2000. Wi-fi is available free of charge in the common areas and in most of the rooms. Unfortunately some phone companies has no coverage for mobile phones in that area( counrtryside). Phone on the rooms is always available.

Should you ever have the chance to come back, please do not hesitate to contact me personally in order to assure you will have a better stay with us.

Thank you.

Irma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have traveled to more than 50 countries and lived in half a dozen. I have seen more than my share of hotels, and this is one of my all-time favorites!

The grounds were lovely. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. My husband had to complete a paper for a class he was taking and forgot to bring the charger for the computer. The staff graciously let him use the hotel computer.

The food in the restaurant was well prepared -- they even made a childhood favorite specially for me.

I don't understand why some reviewers complain . . . the room was fine. The bed was comfy. You're in Tuscany! Why are you spending time in a hotel room anyway? We never heard any road noise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madaminamo, Proprietario at Molino D'Era, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear "CarolR55",

Thank you very much for your nice words.

We hope to welcoming back very soon at Molino D'Era.

A presto.
Irma, Sandra and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have visited this excellent Tuscan hotel-restaurant many times over the last three years and have also stayed in the hotel from time-to-time. It has been simply wonderful on every occasion we have been there. It is family-run, friendly and well-located for the main tourist sites. Pisa airport is 45 minutes drive, Volterra about 15 minutes away and San Gimignano about 25 minutes. Florence and Sienna are each just over an hour's drive. The restaurant serves freshly-prepared traditional Tuscan food, and is an absolute delight. The wine list is extensive and the atmosphere - whether outside in the summer or inside in the cooler months - makes the whole experience superb and unforgettable. Not to be missed, and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We recently spent two nights at Molina d'Era, several kilometers outside of the old Etruscan town of Volterra. The highlight here in the restaurant which is frequented by local folks looking to eat well. The hotel/restaurant in right next to a road with a fair amount of traffic. We could see the road from our bedroom window but traffic at night was minimal and did not disturb our sleep. The rooms/bathrooms are fairly large and well fitted to a three star quality.

The restaurant is known for their Florentine style steak. For two people, a one kilo (2.3 pound) steak is typical. It is a porterhouse steak, grilled and served with salt flakes and lemon slices. It really was wonderful for beef lovers. Another delicious item on the menu was the pork chop with a creamed porchini mushroom sauce. The antipasto rustico is a fine first course and enough for two. The wine list is extensive and features local Tuscan wines at very reasonable prices. Another recommended first course is the anchovy and onion dish. Total for a three course dinner for two with a bottle of good Tuscan wine is 60-70 euros (80 if you order the Florentine steak, 50 if you order house wine). For the quality, this is a great value. There is always an English speaking person on hand to help with food/wine selections. The manager, who I think is Irma, was a delightful host! We loved this restaurant!!

Room Tip: ask to be as far from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjiahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Molino D'Era. The first night we were put into a room that was probably less than a metre from the road. The room itself was very small and looks as it the room and the bathroom were decorated in the late 1970's. Even though we had the double glazing and the shutters firmly close the noise all night was unbearable with cars, vans and articulated lorries thundering by the bend in the road with potholes in it. The bathroom had tiny shower with a shower curtain in it and the TV was the smallest ancient CRT television I've seem in the past 25 years. The AC didn't work. First thing next morning we asked politely if we could be move to a quiter room and the owner did manage to find us a room at the back of the hotel that was much quieter. It was slighly bigger as was the TV ( although a relic with a slection of nothing but 100 Italian channels), but again the AC didn't do anything but waft warm air and the decor was similar. We didn't eat in the restaurant on the 1st night as it was closed - as was the bar. I wouldn't say the hotel as close to Volterra as it was a 25 minute drive and there is nothing within walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was ok, but nothing more. We ate in the restaurant on the final 2 nights and I would so the food was fine, but not as good as many restaurants around or Volterra. The location of the hotel is sub optimal. The staff were all very pleasant even if haphazard. I was concerned somewhat by the lackadaisical security at the hotel. The rooms had no safes and very often the front desk would be unmanned so you had to help yourself to your room key - or anyone else's! Perhaps it was sleep deprivation, but all in all Molino D'Era was a disappointment and we would not return or recommend it.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room at the front of the hotel unless you are totally deaf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurence_B_Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Molino d'Era and felt very at home. The location overlooking the Tuscan countryside was exactly what I was hoping for. The staff accommodated us with an unexpected early arrival. The gardens and courtyard were lovely. We found communicating in English a little more challenging here, which was part of the fun, and everyone was extremely gracious as we pantomimed our way through - this is what international travel is all about for us! The hotel had a decidedly feminine feel to it, including our room, but my husband argued that it felt appropriate for the location and not overwhelming. The only negative of our experience was the shower, with a detachable nozzle that had broken the day before and therefor had no support, along with no hot water. I'll attribute that to the out-of-the-way location and it certainly didn't ruin the experience. Meals, including breakfast, were outstanding and especially memorable out in the garden. Breakfast was easily the most generous we experienced on our 14 day trip through Tuscany.

Room Tip: We requested a garden view but reserved our room late and missed out on that. I think it would be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_marice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed en route from Pisa to a wedding in Tuscany. We met family at the Molino and enjoyed dinner together in the excellent garden terrace. Car parking is easy and helps to make this a relaxing stopover. We would return to explore more of the area.

Room Tip: Book dinner. The restaurant is popular with local people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnPrimeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
269 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
4.3 mi away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#12 of 25 in Volterra
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
504 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
318 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#7 of 25 in Volterra
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino D'Era? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino D'Era

Address: S.R.T. 439 Dir km 6,400 | Molino D'Era - Villamagna, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Molino D'Era 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Molino D'Era reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing