We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been disappointed”
Review of Don Beta

Don Beta
Ranked #35 of 91 Restaurants in Volterra
Price range: US$31 - US$126
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

After reading previous reviews I am very surprised that there are negative words about Don Beta. We go there very regularly and have never been disappointed. The food is always very good and the service has also never lacked, even though it is so very busy during the holiday seasons. I'd always make a booking beforehand. Now I am not sure on what level their English is, we speak italian. But generally I find the service nothing but friendly and as quick as it allows in a buzzing restaurant. In the heart of charming mid evil Volterra, the Location is superb, but if coming with a car you will need to walk a few minutes down the pedestrian street. Always packed with locals I dare to say that they serve tasty tuscan/italian food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    326
    176
    76
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average Service and Food”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It was pouring rain when my wife and I arrived so we decided to get out of the rain and have some lunch here. The service was a bit slow considering hardly anyone was in there when we came in. My wife ordered a spicy salami pizza which was very greasy due to the enormous amount of cheese they put on it and I ordered the pasta with ragu sauce. My dish was pretty good but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdmspoonctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The food was alright. We had pizza and a steak. The service was extremely slow and those serving were rude. Their cover charge was about 10% for poor service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mmgsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tale of two cities - Volterra today - San Gimignano yesterday”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Sorry but we have to give this restaurant just 2 stars.
Service was fine but food was not good - so promising with a pretty good generous risotto, waiters were helpful with my gluten free needs - others had a soup which was bland to start but then my Boar with Olives dish was dried up - but the worst was my wife and daughter salty sausage and mushy beans (not anything like beans in oil we had had in San Gimignano the day before). My sons pizza was not homemade - the base looked shop bought. My friend beef was grissly. House wine was quite nice.

We didnt stop for coffee or desert. It was still 120 Euros for 5 people.

I'm sure you might be lucky as others seemed happier and it was quite busy and buzzing.

We won't go back here during our holiday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GetWellGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't see how anyone could write a negative review about this place!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Saw this place in our guide book and decided to give it a try. The menu was reasonably priced. We both had two courses and a bottle of prosecco which came to only €50 which was great considering the quality of the food and service. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Reeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Beta also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Don Beta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing