We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Volterra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chiostro delle Monache
Ranked #8 of 28 Volterra B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Volterra”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

So glad we stayed here. 4 of us women shared a VERY spacious room with plenty of closet space. The bathroom had separate toilet, shower, and sink areas, so it works really well for multiple people in the room. It is a 15-min. walk into town. There is a FANTASTIC restaurant by the Coop that you pass on the way to town - we were told that people come from all over Tuscany for their wild boar, and we were not disappointed (can't think of the name of it, sorry, but only restaurant by the coop--it's not the pizzaria). Chiosco Delle Monache is beautiful with the arches, the breakfast was absolutely fantastic with lots of choices. You can get hot tea, lattes any time of day, with excellent front desk service (English speaking). It was quiet, clean, the price was good, and I highly recommend it. Volterra is a great town - be sure to take the 5Euro tour by the American mentioned by Rick Steves -- it was fascinating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katmerry077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    82
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
36
84
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The room we stayed in was quite dusty and this was noticeable not only on the floors but as well on the top beds (the cover sheets were very very dusty). However, the bathroom was clean, breakfast was ok. We were by car and getting to the historical center was easy - right before the main entrance there's a spacious underground garage were you can safely park your car. However, if you have to walk the distance from the hostel all the way to historical center it might take a while. And especially in the summer it might sweat you off a little.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mee_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great place to stay. Simple but well maintained rooms. Good breakfast. Only down was walking there with our bags and 4 children. Didn't realize it was that far. Without the bags and after staff had shown us an easier way of getting to the town it would take about 15/20min to walk. The options to stay in the town would have been to expensive anyway so we were happy to be where we were. Volterra is beautiful but 2 days was long enough for us to see the town with small children. Be warned that no taxis are allowed in the town so when you arrive by bus if you stay outside the gates you'll need to walk there unless you've arranged a pick up point.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwienvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Actually we've never stayed before at a place like this. It was a very interesting experience to stay in a former monastery. Its atmosphere was really inspiring. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable, very clean and bright and the bathroom too. We loved the small church next to the hotel. The breakfast room is incredible with the original (?) murals and the breakfast was totally normal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vilszi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Fantastic place to rest and relax, clean rooms and very quiet. One member of the staff was not very forthcoming with relevant information like the dinner menu twhich is disolayedin the foyer and that you can book for is actually at another hotel a few minutes walk away. A wee bit away from the village centre but still a great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsVAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We enjoyed our stay! It was very calming and quiet. Clean rooms, great service! Would plan to stay there again! Didn't know about lack of street lights at night though, so bring a flashlight for after dark if you plan to walk around! Bus stop to city center right in front at Lobby. Friendly staff!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KcsIrishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#10 of 24 in Volterra
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
234 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
467 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 24 in Volterra
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiostro delle Monache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiostro delle Monache

Property: Chiostro delle Monache
Address: Via Del Teatro, 4 | Loc. Borgo San Lazzero, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not so far from the attractive Etruscan walls of Volterra, The Chiostro delle Monache is an ancient Franciscan convent, that was built together with the Church of San Girolamo in 1445 a.C. by the municipality and then assigned to the Franciscan order. Restored as a Hostel, The Chiostro delle Monache offers now some agreeably furnished private rooms, all with private bathroom and shower, and facilities, that you can find in higher hotels. Our aim is to propose a new idea of Hostel, closer to a low cost Hotel, perfect for families, study trip, business trips, groups, friends... Situated at only one km from Porta a Selci and the Etruscan Museum, this Hostel is situated in a quiet position, far from the city chaos and traffic, with the possibility to park the car free of charge. From her you can reach the most important cultural cities as Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Siena, San Gimignano and the seaside. Without structural barriers, this facility is well characterized by the internal marvelous cloister surrounded at the four sides by an open gallery, built respecting the drawing of Michelozzo (sculptor and architect in Donatello's laboratory), where you can sit and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of the ancient Franciscan Convent, just a good stop. We offer a small caffetteria, a tv corner and a reading room, but also a beautiful frescoed hall, where breakfast is generally served. By reservation it is also available for dinners, brunches, business meetings, ceremonies and parties. At the back of the Chiosco there is a wide free parking available for all our guests and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Chiostro delle Monache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing