We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cantina hidden in Volterra, Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria La Pace

Osteria La Pace
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
311 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Cantina hidden in Volterra, Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hidden off to the side of one of the entrances to the medieval town of Volterra is this small restaurant and coffee shop. We enjoyed a cup of Americano but the hostess also brought us a complimentary liquor wine and three pieces of cantuccim which they made in the establishment--no charge. The coffee was good and the cantuccim and liquor wine was delicious. Service was a hit. We ended up buying a dozen cantuccim and she rounded down the charge. A delightful experience with wonderful service and staff. I would definitely return whenever I am in Volterra (which by itself was a hit).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,338
    739
    141
    102
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet place for coffee and a snack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stopped here just before exiting the gates of the old town. What a lovely little place. The hostess spoke great English, which really helped us. We had a great cup of Americano coffee and a delicious homemade cantuccim. As we were enjoying our coffee the hostess came over to our table and gave us the biscuits and a glass of wine liquor! What a treat. They were so tasty that we wound up buying some before we left! There is also a full service restaurant. We watched the orders come out of the kitchen and they looked absolutely delicious and smelled GREAT!!. We had such an enjoyable experience and would certainly return when in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very good place, nice and quiet atmosphere. We had Lasagne and Pizzas, all very good, and good red vine as well.

Friendly waitress.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClausHansen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Fantastic Pizza Etrusca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

A nice place at the walls with great pork sausages, excellent pizza and low prices. The service was great, too.

Helpful?
Thank Steffen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I really wanted to like this restaurant but it was not a good experience. I have real difficulty understanding the positive reviews, maybe something changed. I know sometimes a restaurant has an off night, but it was poor enough all the way around from the sticky and dirty plastic menus to the inedible appetizer, off-tasting pasta dishes and gristly meat, that I was upset that they would serve food of this quality. My wife did have a decent bean soup, but the rest of the meal made us both slightly ill. I hate to leave such a negative review but the two stars is generous. They did offer complimentary grappa at the end of the meal, which was a nice gesture, and the service was fine but the food was very disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jake1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Pace also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Osteria La Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing