We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic”
Review of La Vecchia Lira

La Vecchia Lira
Ranked #2 of 89 Restaurants in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this restaurant. We had both lunch and dinner there and both were not only delicious but excellent value. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and happy to explain all the dishes on the menu. I highly recommend trying some typical Volterra cuisine here such as wild boar (they even serve pigeon if you're feeling adventurous….)

However if you go on a Friday or Saturday night I recommend making a reservation because this place fills up quickly with the locals.

All in all, do not leave Volterra without eating here

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoshana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    595
    119
    44
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
volterra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

No question this is the best restaurant in town. They serve very original dishes and aren't bound
to the usual traditional Tuscan fare. They do, however, make a point of using local organic
produce and research local wines very carefully. The staff/owners are great - nothing is too
much trouble.

We live in Volterra so go regularly and are never disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paula14Volterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Authentic, generous and delicious”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was a Claudia of Podre Marcampo dinner recommendation and did she know what she was talking about. The restaurant is in Volterra and easy to get to. All the the portions were so generous especially the appetizer variety sample plates. We sat all the way in the back of the restaurant, as it was deceivingly large. It was like having the whole place to ourselves, quite a dining experience. Local fare of truffles and wild boar were the highlight of the evening. The soup was fantastic. We ended the meal with the best lemoncello after dinner drink we have ever had. So much so we have gone online to find it. The cost of the dinner was very reasonable. Their was a slight language barrier because none of us speak Italian but the wait staff were patient and did everything they could to overcome any language barriers. It proved not to be a problem. It was really one of the best Tuscan dinner experiences of our trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HomeCareGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have been coming to Volterra for around 10 years, 4 or 5 times a year, and have eaten in almost every restaurant in town. The top choice is, however, La Vecchia Lira. Time after time it never let's you down. I couldn't imagine coming to Volterra and not eating here. It is a member of the "Slow Food" movement-- always a good sign in Italy--and specialises in local dishes and ingredients. The menu changes with seasonal specials. We were there just a couple of days ago. I had the Zuppa di funghi porcini followed by Tagliolini al'astice (pasta with lobster). My husband started with the Tagliolini and then had the wild boar stew which he always says is the best he has tasted (and he has tasted a few). Excellent and reasonably priced wine list, specialising in local wines--though there is no need to look past a carafe of the excellent house wine.The restaurant is always busy no matter what time of year you go--and the clientele is largely local people, so it's better to book. It's closed Thursdays.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We ate dinner here on two occasions, once with four people and the second time with seven times. Both times the dinners were absolutely fantastic, and for a very reasonable price. Everything we ate was perfect: the antipasti, the primi, the secondi, and the atmosphere also is terrific. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vecchia Lira also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to La Vecchia Lira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing