We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A light pleasant, taste of Volterra”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Organic Bistrot Dioniso - CLOSED

Organic Bistrot Dioniso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome in DIONISO, a special restaurant with many particularities. Explore the ancient rooms, walking between etruscans and medieval riuns. Discover kitchen and tasting our organic and local products. DIONISO is a true testimonial of our origins and strong thinked foraward for the future.
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A light pleasant, taste of Volterra”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Easy to spot with the word "Organic" above the canopy visible from the top of the street most frequented by tourists, this place provides a clean smart alternative to the standard Tuscan fare plied at many of the town's eateries. The menu reflects the restaurant's guiding principles of vegetarianism and local sourcing. There's not a great deal of choice but as is often the case, this indicates that the dishes are freshly prepared, and in this respect we were not disappointed. Spaghetti comes with freshly prepared tomato sauce with a touch of refreshing lemon; home-made falafels, which were lozenge-shaped, were accompanied by fresh mixed salad and a lemon-tinted vegan "mayo". The plate of pecorino wedges - fresh and tasty - and their honey sauce provided a sweet contour . The highlight though was the locally produced Terre de Pepe red wine, full and round but blackcurranty and drinkable. Price was about right for a smartish Italian restaurant and the staff were correct, coping with quite a few customers, few of whom were able to speak Italian. The streetside terrace gives a good view of the crowd trudging up from the Etruscan gate at the foor of the hill, while inside the Etruscan theme is maintained by the ancient foundations visible through the glass floor. The toilet door catch needs fixing! But niggles aside, this is overall, a good place for a light, pleasant lunchtime taste of Volterra.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_K_250889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrganicDioniso, Direttore at Organic Bistrot Dioniso, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much. We are happy to read that you've appreciated our restaurant. We'll fix the toilet door. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    49
    21
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamme, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not convinced”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife (99% vegetarian) and son both said their pizza was delicious. My salad though, was lacking. Nothing fancy while I would expect this to be one of the main focuses of a restaurant like this.

What was really sub par was the service. Smiles were not on the menu. Now in the end, we noticed our bill was around 25 euros short. Because of the frozen service, we debated whether or not to let the waitress know. But in the end, we called her to let her know there must have been a mistake. You'd expect that this gesture would put a smile on her face? Nope. Not even a thank you for saving her 25 euros. She just said that she mixed up our bill with the one from another table and that was that.

When my wife returned the day after to pick up two postcards she left there, what we suppose was the boss was around. He was very friendly, and lo and behold, the same waitress was much friendlier now. Apparently she can only make the effort when her boss is around.

All in all great pizza, ordinary salad and not very motivated staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrganicDioniso, Direttore at Organic Bistrot Dioniso, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry that you were not happy about the service of our staff, and thank you for having occurred the error with the bill. I remember your wife when I returned her postcards; everyone in that moment was smiling. Usually customers do a lot of compliments to our staff. Evidently it was not your case. I am also sorry for the sadness of the girls who have served you, when they read your review. I can assure you that they are very good people, they are always very serious at work. But evidently we are not perfect. Thank you again, so through your review we confirm the quality of our pizzas and we'll work to improve the salads. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volterra
1 review
“Watch out!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One may think it's a restaurant with bearable food and an O.K. staff. When it came to the bill, we were told "the machine is broken"... so only cash. Then we were cheated with the bill: it was 10Euro higher and had wine, which we neither ordered nor got. They were trying to take advantage of us not knowing Italian and the bill was not clear

  • Visited August 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrganicDioniso, Direttore at Organic Bistrot Dioniso, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are sorry, but we can not understand your negative review. It 's true, we had a failure with the cash register, and we had trouble for this. We are not technicians, we spent a full day with this problem. Our job is choose organic food and serve it in our restaurant. And you wrote that the food and service were ok. We are happy for this. The problems with the cash register unfortunately can happen, is not our fault. About the 10 euros I don't think it's possible. Such as to take advantage of the fact that people don't know Italian. We work every day since many years with customers from all over the world, our staff is fluent in Italian and English. Any question could be serenely elucidated, you could ask for details. In this period is often present also the Restaurant Manager that can solve and give time to questions like yours. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good organic food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

There were six of us including two eight years old boys looking for something nice and simple to eat after a week of pizza pasta and steak and ran upon this restaurant serving vegetarian organic dishes decided to stay and had a light but fullfilling dinner,nice waiters and pleasent design.we warmly recomand this
Place for the style lovers and others.

Helpful?
Thank cristi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrganicDioniso, Direttore at Organic Bistrot Dioniso, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read your experience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Organic Dining in Italy"?”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Touring Volterra, we turned a corner then down the cobblestone street and saw Dioniso Bistro.
We sat outdoors to enjoy the atmosphere. Our waiter was Lorenzo who spoke excellent english and he guided us through the menu. I asked him to sit next to my wife so I could take their picture. Our food was most excellent and well prepared and presented. Such an enjoyable eating experience. If you go to Volterra be sure to dine there. www.ristorantedioniso.com Ed L.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MTKowBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrganicDioniso, Direttore at Organic Bistrot Dioniso, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the good review. Lorenzo is a very nice person, we are happy to have him in our staff. And we are happy because you have valued our food. Best regards, again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Organic Bistrot Dioniso also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing