We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Tuscany!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Villa Sensano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Villa Sensano
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The best of Tuscany!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent a few days in Villa Sensano, nearby Volterra. You went in a lot of places in Tuscany in the past years, and this one is certainly one of the best we ever booked! The place is just lovelly, well maintained, large appartment in a gorgeous Villa with an awesome view, particularly in the Rosa Rosa flat ! Owners are always ready to assist you for any question or request you may have. A very good experience!

Room Tip: Ask for the flat in the main villa, first floor. Two have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monaco_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
95
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent four nights here in June with our 3 children, 13,10 and 7. We all loved it after the frantic pace of Rome. Frederica and Lavinia went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed for our stay and helped in arranging our day trips. The Laurence room was very well set up for a family of three kids with the kids even having their own bathroom and separated sleeping area. The location is close enough to get to everything for day trips but is far enough away to feel like you are truly in the Tuscan counrtyside. We would definitely recommend a stay here and hope we will get back again one day!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pendlebury_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just spent seven glorious days at the beautiful Villa Sensano. From the minute we were welcomed by Federica and Lavinia they made us feel like nothing was too much trouble. Special mention of the sparkling infinity pool which has an outlook to the magnificent Tuscan hillside. Our apartment was very well appointed with quality fittings and luxury bedding and towels. Although the villa is secluded and very private it is only a relatively short drive to the beautiful historic towns San Gimignano, Volterra and Siena. We could not recommend this lovely holiday destination more highly. Thank you Villa Sensano for an unforgettable Tuscan experience. Debbie and Greg

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londra, Regno Unito
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked two apartments at villa sensano and were only there for two nights. It is a spectacular place, the villa, the garden, the views....everything was great. The osteria nearby is excellent too. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrizia855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was an unforgettable and excellent experience. Wonderful!! A luxury villa and warm welcoming. Spectacular views. Many, many thanks Federica and her sister for providing our best moments in Tuscany.

We want to get back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank José Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federica C, Direttore at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you very much, is important for us know that our guests have been so fine here!

We hope to do always better!

See you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A greatly restored and well kept tuscan villa in a spectacular surrounding, which provides a lot of comfort such as spacious rooms, wunderful garden, very nice pool, internet access and wlan and parking. The proprietors are very kind and helpful. We stayed there for 6 nights in May 2014 and enjoyed our time in the apartment Rosa Rossa with its views over the hills and landscape.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antje1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you are looking for an authentic Tuscan villa experience in the most relaxing and spectacular location then look no further. My wife and I spent six nights with Federica and her sister and it was superb. We had the one bedroom Rosa Azzura apartment within the villa with spectacular views over the Tuscan hillside. The apartment was exceptionally comfortable and well appointed and its true beauty was the abilty to wake up each morning with no other sound than the birds singing. Federica went out of her way to help us with all we required. The Villa complex has all you could want from a separately run restaurant next door, a fabulous pool, and lovely grounds

Room Tip: The Azzura one bedroom apartment was fantastic and we would recommend to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volterra
4.1 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
5.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
14.1 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
13.4 mi away
Relais Guado al Sole
Relais Guado al Sole
#1 of 4 in Pomarance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
20.9 mi away
Tenuta di Monaciano
Tenuta di Monaciano
#7 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Sensano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Sensano

Property: Relais Villa Sensano
Address: Localita Sensano 13, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace in the picturesque hamlet of Borgo di Sensano that is surrounded by woods and olive groves and the majestic silence of the Chianti hill country; Relais Villa Sensano offers charming, beautifully furnished apartments with all up-to-date amenities (TV, Internet). The Relais Villa Sensano is a complex of the eighteenth century, composed by a Villa and a close Resort, everything brilliantly restored, both with a private park where there is a swimming pool. For its guests there is a wonderful wellness area. Villa Sensano is located in the heart of Tuscany and after visiting the region's most famous cities (with their museums, monuments and exclusive stores) or the Chianti country, nothing could be better than a relaxing stay in a beautiful place with every comfort you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Relais Villa Sensano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing