We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Volterra, Province of Pisa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jo123l
kent
1 review
“WOW!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My Husband and another couple stayed here in September for just a week and so wish it had been longer.
After arriving late on Friday and a fantastic nights sleep we decided to explore the garden, we were overwhelmed with the view from the terrace it was amazing. The pool looked lovely but it was alittle too cold for us.
The house had everything we needed apart from a Toaster which I must be honest we did miss but just used the grill so nit really a problem, had a few glasses of Chianti and some lovely meals from the BBQ.
Volterra itself was beautiful as was Pisa, Florence San Gigiamano and Siena.
To see Tuscany at its best a car is advisable.
Thankyou Daniella for being a Great host and we hope to visit one of your other homes soon

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily A
Daylesford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Simply divine”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

All reviews below are accurate. The photos do not do this property any justice. The Villa is incredible, plenty of room, fabulous feng shui (hope i spelt that correctly). My husband and I were conniving how we could live in the house permanently. The bed was super comfortable and plenty of room in the wardrobe as we stayed for 3 weeks.

Fabulous to be able to park the car on the property. Gardens are stunning, and complete privacy, bbq awesome and used a lot. Kitchen was used too and the oven and stove were excellent to cook a storm up on. Plenty of plates and cutlery etc.

Did I mention the house was extremely clean?

Very short walk into village down a lane, less than 2 minutes. Local people amazingly friendly and acknowledging us every day. Great restaurants so plenty to eat out at.

Short drive to COOP outside walls to avoid carrying shopping back from village mini market. A car is highly recommended so lunch can be had at some excellent restaurants on side of roads to Colle di Val D'Elsa, plus visit other towns.

Doesn't provide Wi-Fi but we had italian SIM card so hotspot but only works outside (walls too thick to pick up reception inside house). If you need WiFi for work purposes, you won't be able to use it in the house. With such fab weather that didn't affect me, but could others.

This is a must stay and we plan to return, maybe a stay at another one of Daniela's houses.

We highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa, gardens, views, privacy and close to Village
Liked least: No TV, as I am learning Italian I would like to have watched Italian TV for 3 weeks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeowLiver...
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic property in a great location”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a great place to stay, 2 minutes walk from the centre of town yet completely peaceful and private. The house is comfortable and immaculate. The extensive gardens are beautifully maintained, have several seating areas, a fabulous and secluded pool and some of the best views across the hillsides I've seen. Daniela is a great host, welcoming and friendly, she allows you to enjoy your holiday in privacy, but you know that she is available if you need her.
The town of Volterra is really picturesque and interesting with plenty of historical sights. It is also well served by restaurants, cafés and shops. The location of the house down a lane on one edge of the town means that is is quiet and relaxing, but also only minutes away from things to do and see and places to eat. If you drive you can park at the house and there are many places in the surrounding countryside and other towns to visit. If you don't drive it is possible to get to. Volterra using public transport, and also to visit some other towns. Transport is not necessary on Volterra itself, the town is only small and cars cannot drive through much of it. The amphitheatre, Duomo and opera house are particularly worth a look. Having stayed in one of Daniela's properties before and been very impressed with the standard and scale of the house and grounds we were certainly not disappointed this time. I would certainly stay here, or in another of Daniel's properties again, and I would throughly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just beautiful! I didnt want to leave.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Casa Selci for 2 weeks for our honeymoon and we fell in love with Italy, the people, the food and the lifestyle. Daniela was lovely as was Rosanna and Sylvano. The villa is right in the centre of the town but we hired a car from Firefly at Pisa Airport to take day trips to other towns and cities. The garden is completely secluded gives total privacy. The pool is a great size and perfect on a hot day. The photographs on here really do not do it justice- it is BEAUTIFUL! The villa itself was very clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed and even found a selection of books in English that i assume have been left by previous occupants which we added to. I honestly cant speak highly enough of this place and if you dont go, you're missing out. We'll go back as soon as we can. Alex and Chris x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! This was a perfect holiday and lovely villa.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iainm45
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb villa in Volterra”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a split site holiday. First week in Volterra , second in Daniela's Casa Dei Nonni in Monteguidi.
Casa Selci is a charming and very comfortable traditional villa; just inside the city walls at Porta Selci. The garden walls are the city walls and you get unbelievable views from the pool and from sitting areas - you could spend all day looking out over the Tuscan countryside. The garden is huge!
The villa has kept its charm and is spotless and completely functional - easily suitable for 4 adults. The pool is a bonus and ideal for a cool down whilst looking out over Tuscany.
Volterra is fantastic; busy but not frantic and you can stroll into town in 2 minutes. You will find more restaurants, coffee shops, gelataria than you can visit; we had superb food everywhere. There is a wee Spar for essentials and a big Co-op 5 minutes drive away. You can get to Siena (you must!!), Florence etc. from the bus terminal but driving is fine if you wish to explore Tuscany - you do not need the car if exploring Volterra itself.
Daniela is a delight to deal with; booking was a breeze and she is very helpful.
We would go back any day of the week - superb holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocgirl
Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“stunning views”
Reviewed 26 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in September. We've visited Tuscany many times before and had visited Volterra for a day on a previous trip, and we decided to have a holiday there.

When enquiring initially our preferred week wasn't available but Daniela (the owner) offerred us a discount for the following week.

Arrival was to be between 5pm and 8pm. This had not been previously explained to us and we hadd booked our flights to arrive in the morning, so we spent some time in San Gimignano during the afternoon. When we arrived we were very warmly welcomed by Daniela and the housekeeper who lives nearby. There is parking on the property which is essential in Volterra (which has restricted vehicle access) and a car is definitely needed when visiting this part of Italy to fully appreciate it.

The cottage itself is simple and rustic. It is rather dark inside which probably helps keep it cool in summer. In Septemeber the temperature was just right and we needed neither heating or aircon. Heating was at an additioanl charge, to be arranged with the housekeeper. there is no aircon, but fans in the bedrooms if needed.

The area adjacent is a field and pavilion building used by the local historical society to practice for pageants etc and for social gatherings. There was no pageantry practice while we were there, but there was some partying going on one Saturday night. The biggest issue was the large iron gates to the area which were joined to the cottage and were very noisy clanking open and shut (several times a day and night at some strange hours) as people came and went to use the facilities next door (some people parked their cars there).

There were also some sorts of insects in the bedroom that made loud scratching noises all night. I never did discover where they were but they were annoying!

The kitchen was basic but had everything we needed. The shower was a bit weak, but perfectly adequate. The fact that the loo was downstairs was a bit awkward in the middle of the night, but we soon got used to it!

The garden area was the real bonus - a pool, sunbathing area (where we spend a lot of time) BBQ, outdoor seating and stunning views. The location was perfect. A short walk into town with all the ameneties, restaurants, bakeries, small supermarket, historic sites etc. It was also close to the Selci gate for a quick getaway into the Tuscan countryside.

Overall we had a lovely staywith the location and stunning views really making the holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden facilities
Liked least: noise at night (people accessing next door and insect noises)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaxton_11
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A rare rental that deserves its stars”
Reviewed 18 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Positioned close to the main centre of Volterra (fascinating medieval town with lots to see including a Torture Museum!), this oasis of calm is ideal for an extended stay. Its garden has a BBQ, large pool and quiet breakfast table overlooking a fantastic view as well as an apricot and pear tree. We spent most of the time outside, but there are two good sized bedrooms and a great shower room. All the cooking facilities you need and even some English books in the little "library" room.
We had no car so sauntered into town down a street lined with bars, restaurants and even a good supermarket and freshly ground coffee shop. Ice cream, pizzas, cakes and other takeaways all available if you don't fancy cooking or trying the restaurants, and a great street market every Saturday morning.
Down sides - no air conditioning so quite hot at night, and a 5th "bedroom" (bed in a box) that would be far too hot to sleep in as glass windows face south.
Italy IS noisy, and twice a week we had some drumming and trumpet practice in the next door park (but started 9.30 and finished dead on 11pm) and boys play football every afternoon - but really not enough to worry most people.
Landlady and caretaker (Daniela and Roseanna) more like family as so friendly and helpful. Helped make a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden with pool
Liked least: Hot at night, noise from park, mosquitoes and Volterra not on trainline
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing