We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoy the best of rural and urban Tuscany”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Volterra, Province of Pisa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Enjoy the best of rural and urban Tuscany”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We (my wife, our then 1 year old son and I) stayed at Casa Selci in late May for just over a week. To be honest, we were initially a little sceptical as the description and pictures seemed nearly too good to be true. We needn't have worried as this is a truly unique property. The cottage itself is comfortable and spacious but not otherwise remarkable. However, the real draw is the combination of beautiful large grounds, with truly stunning views over the surrounding countryside, and the location, within a 2 minute walk of restaurants, shops and cafes of lovely Volterra. Daniella was a perfect host - warm, welcoming and always available, whilst respecting our privacy. We hope to return one day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MylesAndM...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“The place to stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have stayed at Casa Selci 3 times now and it has always been great. The house is not fancy but it has everything we needed. The house is very clean and safe and, when there was a small problem, it was fixed immediately. There is a really beautiful view over the valley with many beautiful towns and sights to see within an easy drive. It was a bit too cool when we were there to use the swimming pool but which I'm sure is great in the summer. It has a parking space, which is a real bonus in Volterra where parking is in short supply. The owner, Daniela, is a wonderful, charming lady who does everything she can to ensure you enjoy your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is in the town of Volterra itself
Liked least: Can't think of anything - it was wonderful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Really lovely Tuscan holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here last September for the second part of our honeymoon. The place was absolutely lovely, a perfect location and Daniela made us feel so welcome. I would definitely return here. The house was clean and well equiped and very homely. The weather was unusually cold and stormy at times so we couldn't make use of the pool or BBQ which was a shame. Thank you Daniela, we hope to see you again! Maggie and Richard

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstracke
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful week in Tuscany”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife and I spent eight nights at Daniela's beautiful property, Casa Selci, in Volterra. It was everything we hoped for...and more.

It was quiet - really quiet. Volterra is an extremely cool village, centrally located for day trips. We spent hours walking the streets and alleyways. Great food and drink. The view from the garden was stunning. The kitchen is fully functional, and a treat to use. Having a washing machine was great, after having been in Cinque Terra the previous week. We felt completely at home, and found it difficult to leave.

Although there is shopping in Volterra, it is much less touristy than other towns (San Gimignano, Sienna, etc...).

I recommend Casa Selci without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo123l
kent
1 review
“WOW!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My Husband and another couple stayed here in September for just a week and so wish it had been longer.
After arriving late on Friday and a fantastic nights sleep we decided to explore the garden, we were overwhelmed with the view from the terrace it was amazing. The pool looked lovely but it was alittle too cold for us.
The house had everything we needed apart from a Toaster which I must be honest we did miss but just used the grill so nit really a problem, had a few glasses of Chianti and some lovely meals from the BBQ.
Volterra itself was beautiful as was Pisa, Florence San Gigiamano and Siena.
To see Tuscany at its best a car is advisable.
Thankyou Daniella for being a Great host and we hope to visit one of your other homes soon

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily A
Daylesford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Simply divine”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

All reviews below are accurate. The photos do not do this property any justice. The Villa is incredible, plenty of room, fabulous feng shui (hope i spelt that correctly). My husband and I were conniving how we could live in the house permanently. The bed was super comfortable and plenty of room in the wardrobe as we stayed for 3 weeks.

Fabulous to be able to park the car on the property. Gardens are stunning, and complete privacy, bbq awesome and used a lot. Kitchen was used too and the oven and stove were excellent to cook a storm up on. Plenty of plates and cutlery etc.

Did I mention the house was extremely clean?

Very short walk into village down a lane, less than 2 minutes. Local people amazingly friendly and acknowledging us every day. Great restaurants so plenty to eat out at.

Short drive to COOP outside walls to avoid carrying shopping back from village mini market. A car is highly recommended so lunch can be had at some excellent restaurants on side of roads to Colle di Val D'Elsa, plus visit other towns.

Doesn't provide Wi-Fi but we had italian SIM card so hotspot but only works outside (walls too thick to pick up reception inside house). If you need WiFi for work purposes, you won't be able to use it in the house. With such fab weather that didn't affect me, but could others.

This is a must stay and we plan to return, maybe a stay at another one of Daniela's houses.

We highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa, gardens, views, privacy and close to Village
Liked least: No TV, as I am learning Italian I would like to have watched Italian TV for 3 weeks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeowLiver...
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic property in a great location”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a great place to stay, 2 minutes walk from the centre of town yet completely peaceful and private. The house is comfortable and immaculate. The extensive gardens are beautifully maintained, have several seating areas, a fabulous and secluded pool and some of the best views across the hillsides I've seen. Daniela is a great host, welcoming and friendly, she allows you to enjoy your holiday in privacy, but you know that she is available if you need her.
The town of Volterra is really picturesque and interesting with plenty of historical sights. It is also well served by restaurants, cafés and shops. The location of the house down a lane on one edge of the town means that is is quiet and relaxing, but also only minutes away from things to do and see and places to eat. If you drive you can park at the house and there are many places in the surrounding countryside and other towns to visit. If you don't drive it is possible to get to. Volterra using public transport, and also to visit some other towns. Transport is not necessary on Volterra itself, the town is only small and cars cannot drive through much of it. The amphitheatre, Duomo and opera house are particularly worth a look. Having stayed in one of Daniela's properties before and been very impressed with the standard and scale of the house and grounds we were certainly not disappointed this time. I would certainly stay here, or in another of Daniel's properties again, and I would throughly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing