We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on Earth!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Volterra, Province of Pisa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon M
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Superb accommodation in a fantastic location with outstanding views from the ancient walls of the town over the surrounding countryside. We never tired of that view.
The accommodation was extremely comfortable but the jewel in the crown was the garden - amazing! The pool was a welcome refreshment after a day strolling through Volterra. The garden is huge with different areas for eating and relaxing. The fact that we could park on the property was a real bonus.
Daniela is a fantastic host - nothing is too much trouble. Together with Rosanna, who lives on the same street and is on call if needed, she does everything to make your stay perfect. I can't recommend this accommodation highly enough and hope to return in the future. Thank you Daniela!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeezerTho...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a delightful cottage with a large garden and deceptively large pool; which in a place as picturesque and therefore as popular as Volterra is going some. You don't go to Tuscany and Volterra to watch TV or deal with work emails. If you want a plugged in holiday then this might not be your bag. But if you want to be within 5 minutes of the centre of a town that predates the Roman Empire, sitting on the old city walls staring across the Tuscan hills with a glass of wine in hand, having a holiday in the true sense of the word then you can't do better than this. Daniela is lovely, going the extra mile and doing everything herself (including in my case sending on a load of shirts I left hanging by accident in the wardrobe!) Volterra is San Germigniano without the self awareness. Eat amazing Gelato's in the squares, wander in and out of artisans workshops and eat like a king at the many restaurants. I would recommend Volterra and Casa Selci in particular to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Enjoy the best of rural and urban Tuscany”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We (my wife, our then 1 year old son and I) stayed at Casa Selci in late May for just over a week. To be honest, we were initially a little sceptical as the description and pictures seemed nearly too good to be true. We needn't have worried as this is a truly unique property. The cottage itself is comfortable and spacious but not otherwise remarkable. However, the real draw is the combination of beautiful large grounds, with truly stunning views over the surrounding countryside, and the location, within a 2 minute walk of restaurants, shops and cafes of lovely Volterra. Daniella was a perfect host - warm, welcoming and always available, whilst respecting our privacy. We hope to return one day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MylesAndM...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“The place to stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have stayed at Casa Selci 3 times now and it has always been great. The house is not fancy but it has everything we needed. The house is very clean and safe and, when there was a small problem, it was fixed immediately. There is a really beautiful view over the valley with many beautiful towns and sights to see within an easy drive. It was a bit too cool when we were there to use the swimming pool but which I'm sure is great in the summer. It has a parking space, which is a real bonus in Volterra where parking is in short supply. The owner, Daniela, is a wonderful, charming lady who does everything she can to ensure you enjoy your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is in the town of Volterra itself
Liked least: Can't think of anything - it was wonderful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Really lovely Tuscan holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here last September for the second part of our honeymoon. The place was absolutely lovely, a perfect location and Daniela made us feel so welcome. I would definitely return here. The house was clean and well equiped and very homely. The weather was unusually cold and stormy at times so we couldn't make use of the pool or BBQ which was a shame. Thank you Daniela, we hope to see you again! Maggie and Richard

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstracke
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful week in Tuscany”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife and I spent eight nights at Daniela's beautiful property, Casa Selci, in Volterra. It was everything we hoped for...and more.

It was quiet - really quiet. Volterra is an extremely cool village, centrally located for day trips. We spent hours walking the streets and alleyways. Great food and drink. The view from the garden was stunning. The kitchen is fully functional, and a treat to use. Having a washing machine was great, after having been in Cinque Terra the previous week. We felt completely at home, and found it difficult to leave.

Although there is shopping in Volterra, it is much less touristy than other towns (San Gimignano, Sienna, etc...).

I recommend Casa Selci without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo123l
kent
1 review
“WOW!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My Husband and another couple stayed here in September for just a week and so wish it had been longer.
After arriving late on Friday and a fantastic nights sleep we decided to explore the garden, we were overwhelmed with the view from the terrace it was amazing. The pool looked lovely but it was alittle too cold for us.
The house had everything we needed apart from a Toaster which I must be honest we did miss but just used the grill so nit really a problem, had a few glasses of Chianti and some lovely meals from the BBQ.
Volterra itself was beautiful as was Pisa, Florence San Gigiamano and Siena.
To see Tuscany at its best a car is advisable.
Thankyou Daniella for being a Great host and we hope to visit one of your other homes soon

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing