We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"highlight of the trip"”

Volterra Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Annie Adair and her colleagues offer a introductory walking tour of Volterra, Tuscany's oldest, continuously-inhabited city.The one-hour walk is held EVERY DAY from 6pm to 7pm, April through October (except August). Cost: €10 per person, minimum 3 persons or €30Meeting point: Piazza Martiri della Libertà, in front of the ALI alabaster shop.This is a group tour, and there is no need to book in advance.The walk is done in English by professional, licensed guides and touches on Volterra's Etruscan, Roman and Medieval history.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“"highlight of the trip"”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We just returned to our apartment at Podere San Lorenzo after going on a wonderful walking tour of Volterra. Our tour guide Annie did an amazing job keeping our whole family (2 adults and 3 children aged 3, 9 and 12) interested. We had considered taking a self-guided tour of this charming village but are glad we did not. It could not have compared!!! Thank you Annie for making us feel welcome, for entertaining all of my son's questions and for sharing your knowledge of Volterra with us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    18
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No one showed up!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We were there at the appointed time and place. Waited 15 minutes. At least 10 people were there waiting. Nothing written on the website

Helpful?
1 Thank Land-air-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie A, Proprietario at Volterra Walking Tour, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Land-air-c,
please accept my sincere apologies about my no-show for the walking tour this past Sunday.
In the late afternoon I was dealing with a serious personal emergency and was simply unable to come and unable to find someone to substitute me at such late notice. As a guide, my worst nightmare is a situation such as this, and unfortunately it materialized... at our mutual expense. If you are still in the area and would be interested in visiting Volterra again, please contact me so I can offer you a guided tour free of charge.
let me express again how very sorry I am about this
Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, FL, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Annie Adair in Volterra, Italy”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Knowledgeable, personable, and enthusiastic Annie Adair presented Volterra to us and made us fall in love with her Italian home. The history of the Etruscans came alive through Annie's spiel which encouraged us to delve deeper via the Etruscan Museum. We marveled with her at the stone theater uncovered in the 1950's and understood the significance in the circle of life in Volterra's city center where once a hospital, baptistery, church and funeral home existed. One should NOT miss Volterra through the eyes of Annie. Grazie, Annie Adair!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie A, Proprietario at Volterra Walking Tour, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you Deborah for your kind words on the tour... and most of all for joining the club of those of us who love Volterra!
alla prossima,
Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OMG! So much useful and fun information! What a great day!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Annie Adair gave us a personalized and fun tour of Volterra, inspiring a new-found love of Etruscan culture! with Annie, and learned far more than we expected. Annie's style is very approachable, and delivered with a real enchanting delivery. We will definitely return to Volterra, and would like to tour with Annie in another location, as well! Job well done!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank StacyMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, NC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great tour of neat little hill town”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A wonderful introduction to the town and its history, this walking tour with Annie Adair was full of information and interesting stories as she took us the Arch, the amphitheater and other sites through the city. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank msoz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volterra Walking Tour also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Volterra Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing