We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great time!!!”
Review of La Vena di Vino

La Vena di Vino
Ranked #26 of 89 Restaurants in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
South Daytona, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great time!!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were told that this was a must...that we couldn't depart Volterra without leaving our "mark" at this quaint local wine bar. What great wine - what great people - and what a wonderful time was had by all...Thanks, Bruno!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hilly876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    52
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Neat wine bar”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a cold, wet, Volterra evening and we're not disappointed. Its a fun, comfortable, place for some reasonably priced wine and a plate of cheese.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Herbie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Visited and had best glass of wine in voleterra. Accompanied by a fantastic plate of cheese and meats. Meant to come back but ran out of time. Next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiddlemLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wondeful place for lunch, dinner or a glass of wine”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Might I start by saying that there is nothing weird about this place as the last reviewer has mentioned. True it is unusual...it's rustic, laidback and chilled. We've been coming to Volterra for years and almost always make this one of our first stop off points. They serve fantastic wines and simple, home cooked local food. The "weirdos" who the last rude reviewer refers to tend to be mostly local people from Volterra - testement to the fact that this is a great place to go to try good wine - very reasonably priced by the glass and by the bottle, good coffee, the best zuppa Volterrana in the area. Do yourself a favour and don't buy a cheap bottle to drink on a park bench when you are in this beautiful Etruscan town - sit down here during the day or at night, enjoy the slow pace and good wine and don't forget to have a bowl of their delicious soup!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaerhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weird place, weird vibe, a little pricey”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

10 Euro for a 3 glass sampler (each glass is very small).

Weirdos hang out there, and it is just small and uninviting. Bras on the ceiling? OK, I guess that is eclectic?

I would only go there if the Etruscan museum tires you out, and you need to sit down quickly. Otherwise I would avoid. Just buy a bottle of wine at a store for 3 or 4 Euro, and drink it on a public bench.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sumocomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vena di Vino also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to La Vena di Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing