We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Bada Ganzo - CLOSED

Trattoria Bada Ganzo
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
179 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We came across this restaurant while walking around Voltera. We really liked the food at Bada Ganzo's. They had a separate menu that highlighted foods prepared with truffles, which we enjoyed very much. The house wine was more than adequate. Service was not very attentive and we had to ask for the bill several times. But the food was worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefDon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    21
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
314 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great choice in Volterra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Trattoria Bada Ganzo, less than 100 yards away from the main piazza, was a mostly random walk-by choice for lunch. It is a small place, 4 or 5 tables outside, less than a dozen inside. Fantastic menu, appetizers, soups, salads, pastas, main dishes. Of our choices, crostini toscani, consisting of pate and bread served individually, and panna cotta con ciocolatto, served inventively in vial-like cups, were the highlights, but all of our other selections were just perfect. Friendly service, pleasant atmosphere, great choice for a meal in Volterra.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank IlyaBurlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent local food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a nice family evening at this restaurant. The food was excellent (local specialities) and we received excellent service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XBrittax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just great !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Food, service, wine, atmosphere....everything was perfect. If ever in Volterra dont miss this little gem. There is also a terrace to enjoy the view of the medieval streets

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Biblically Bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

If I had the direct input of James Joyce and William Shakespeare, it would be difficult to put into words the five sense atrocity that awaits you in this trattoria. From start to finish, the food was so fabulously awful. We had three dishes, each of which deserves mention. Firstly there was a pork dish. It is to my own shame that I did not photograph it, as any description cannot convey the visual retching that it induced. I unaware of an abortion clinic in the vicinity, however, this looked like a the product. A limp, purple piece of road kill, with half a glass of wine thrown over to disguise any moving parts was produced with no accompaniment. One can only assume that it was prepared by a strategically shaved orang-utan assisted by the electrified corpse of Marlan Brando and then finished by Stevie Wonder. Next came a pasta dish with a mysterious meat. There were pieces of what looked like ?chicken / beef / monkey genitalia and bay leaves. The bay leaves served the purpose of camouflaging the underlying affront and, as such, one has to commend on the grounds of pragmatism. Finally, there was a pecorino ravioli in a creamy sauce. The sauce had a consistency of strained water, the ravioli tasted like it came out of a freezer. It had the accolade of being the only one of the three dishes that was technically edible. One person braved a coffee, which was surprisingly good. I should add that this is the only bad meal I have ever had in Italy (I've been about seven times).

I feel I owe it to humanity to try to illustrate how biblically terrible this meal was. It made the plague of locusts seem like a nice ex-foliating massage.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank IrishDavid1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Bada Ganzo also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing