We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three cheers for the Hotel San Lino!”
Review of San Lino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Lino
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Three cheers for the Hotel San Lino!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Three cheers for the Hotel San Lino. I have visited the Tuscan hilltop town of Volterra for the past 11 years with student groups on sightseeing tours of Italy. We have always used the San Lino as our hotel of choice. Over the course of these 11 years, the hotel's management has changed 3 times. The most recent team is, by far, the best. Recently, our group of 48 people arrived without our luggage, an unfortunate situation due to weather-related and airline issues. Carina and Michele (not to mention several other people at the hotel) worked with me and the airline to make sure that our bags were eventually delivered. We received some of the pieces of luggage while in Volterra while the rest of them were sent to our next destination for us.
Without the help of the staff at the Hotel San Lino I'm not sure we'd have ever gotten our luggage. They went above and beyond my expectations of "hotel service". They were sincerely concerned for us and made every effort to help us during a time in which 48 people had to endure the summer heat of Italy without having sufficient clothing and personal items.
I would advise anyone considering travel to this Tuscan jewel-of-a-town to make their hotel of choice the Hotel San Lino. The rooms are exceptionally clean, the meals at the restaurant are incredibly prepared with fresh, local ingredients and are delicious. The breakfast buffet even impressed forty one 18 year olds, not to mention the adults who particularly were impressed with the soft boiled egg maker! Add the terrace and the pool to the experience and you'll have memories to last a lifetime.
Did I mention the hotel staff and the service they provide? Three cheers and 5+ stars for the Hotel San Lino in Volterra.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank da2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanLino, Direttore at San Lino, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear da2man,

what to reply on your experience ?
It's been a great pleasure for us to help you and your group during the stay at Hotel San Lino and we just want to thank you for all your kindness and sympathy,

hoping to see you again soon,

Susanne Lechner
with the whole staff of Hotel San Lino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    184
    86
    30
    12
See reviews for
93
202
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bent Mountain, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed here at the tail-end of a 3 week European tour with my niece, cousin, and aunt. We were welcomed by one of the kindest, most pleasant group of hotel staff. Upon explaining that Volterra was not only a stop for my Twilight-fan niece, but also to experience historical Tuscany, the hotel provided for us arrangements for a personalized tour around Volterra.

We felt like we were welcomed into a big family and given 5-star treatment. The hotel is situated next to an ancient cathedral and only footsteps away from the famous clock tower and square. Volterra is a small, tourist-friendly yet immersive town that provides incredible food, shopping, and relaxation.

Hotel San Lino focused on comforts that many other hotels have forgotten. Upon opening the room door I was greeted with aromatherapy, a variety of soaps and bath products, comfortable beds, artwork and a lot of those extra touches that really make the difference.

In all of my European travels, Hotel San Lino offered the most pleasant stay, pleasant enough to impress and amaze a 19 year old history fan, an 18 year old Twilight fan, a baby boomer, and me-- a twenty something looking to enjoy a variety of towns and cities in various locations around the globe.

Room Tip: A room with a courtyard view of the pool is great-- some rooms have balconies while others do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PStasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

1) Great location within the city wall so very central.
2) Reception staff most welcoming and very helpful with timetables for local transport and suggesting places to visit. We enjoyed the hotel's written tour of Volterra.
3) Our upgrade room was very good value and the hotel had the added benefits of a pool and a sun terrace.
On the downside, we would have liked the breakfast to contain more savoury items and less "cake"
We would certainly recommend this hotel for a stay in Volterra

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to get a larger room and view of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A very fine Hotel in the wonderful city of Volterra. The staff were extremely helpful ( even assisting me with my limited Italian ).The pool area is great for sunning during the day, or having a glass of local wine in the evenings. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RF C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrnambool
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The slightly institutional feel of this place failed to impress us. The bedroom was certainly adequate but overall the place seemed to lack the professionalism evident in other locations. It was impossible to get internet connection and their solitary computer was unavailable. The staff struggled with simple requests due to language barriers and the shower was lukewarm on both nights we stayed there. Certainly a great location but lacking love and professionalism

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritawbool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This wonderful hotel location has recently changed hands and whilst the management are fanastic hosts, and the building/gardens/pool beautiful, a few fundamental issues arose on our third trip here in 5 years. Breakfast was sadly lacking in terms of service and food. 8 types of (dry cake), but no orange juice, fruit salad or even cutlery on 3 mornings out of 4. Ask for rooms overlooking the pool as they are vastly brighter, newly furnished and quieter than those at the front (we asked, and we changed with no problem). A warning - booking 4 months in advance secured us 2 rooms for 4 nights at 90 euros per night, but this week they are selling for 69.99... Needless to say we felt somewhat let down by that but the management very kindly offered a free carpark for 4 days to compensate. Take earplugs as the design of the tiled corridors means that you hear every suitcase rolling along and the voices carry.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themastersexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We hired a car and went to stay at San Lino for 6 nights to explore Volterra and Tuscany. One of the reasons we chose San Lino was the garage which is extra but we thought worth it.
The hotel location is beautifil at the far east end of Volterra just inside the city wall. Its almost surreal in this little cobble street and we almost missed the hotel. The location is ideal to explore the tiny old city of Volterra. The room is exactly what we wanted. comfy, clean and functional. a TV we never used and free water in the fridge. The staff are lovely. So friendly and helpful. It was my wife's birthday whilst we were there and they prepared the breakfast table with a card from them and a bottle of wine which was a nice touch. The pool is small but it was too cold anyway and the weather wasnt conducive to sitting out except on our last day when we discovered the roof terrace behind the pool with a view across the Tuscan countryside. All in all it was exactly what we wanted. However, the Hotel was quiet (for three days we were the only ones there) and I imagine in the summer it would be quiet busy. Our room looked out onto the patio by the pool and I'd imagine if there were children staying it would be quite noisy. We ate in the restaurant one night and were disappointed with the choice but what we had was good. The bar had very little choice. The only other comment is that I do like to have a kettle and makings for tea coffee which the room didnt have.
We would stay here again which I think says it all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulPatch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Antica Badia
Hotel Antica Badia
#11 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lino

Property: San Lino
Address: Via San Lino 26, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Lino 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lino is a 4 - stars Hotel set within the medieval walls of Volterra, only a 5-minute walk from the central Piazza dei Priori. It offers a fresh garden with outdoor swimming pool and panoramic sun terrace. Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel, even if it's not easy to realize a wiFi connection in a structure created in the 14th century.All rooms come with an en suite bathroom, satellite TV, and a minibar. Some feature a rustic Tuscan style, with wooden furniture and terracotta floors.San Lino Hotel is also a 5-minute walk from the Roman Amphitheatre. A garage is available on site.In the morning, a various continental breakfast buffet's waiting for our guests, during the summer months, it's even possibile to get the breakfast outside in our courtyard. The Restaurant "I Papi" offers you a light lunch and a special evening service with traditional specialities and also selected fish preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your San Lino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lino Volterra
San Lino Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing