We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Lino in Volterra”
Review of San Lino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Lino
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We loved the San Lino! It was a very comfortable room in a very beautiful town. The staff was very helpful with recommendations. We went to the Etruscan museum down the street. We used the pool, ate dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed the lovely view from the terrace while we drank some excellent Italian wine. They have parking very close (a fee). It was very restful and peaceful. The rooms overlook the pool. We bought two bottles of wine: red and white in their shop. They have two restaurants. Breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayear0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanLino, Direttore at San Lino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear ayearOff,

thank's so much for your kind opinion, we're very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel San Lino and we look forward to welcome you again as our guests in Volterra.

Susanne Lechner
Director
with the complete Staff of Hotel San Lino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Three cheers for the Hotel San Lino. I have visited the Tuscan hilltop town of Volterra for the past 11 years with student groups on sightseeing tours of Italy. We have always used the San Lino as our hotel of choice. Over the course of these 11 years, the hotel's management has changed 3 times. The most recent team is, by far, the best. Recently, our group of 48 people arrived without our luggage, an unfortunate situation due to weather-related and airline issues. Carina and Michele (not to mention several other people at the hotel) worked with me and the airline to make sure that our bags were eventually delivered. We received some of the pieces of luggage while in Volterra while the rest of them were sent to our next destination for us.
Without the help of the staff at the Hotel San Lino I'm not sure we'd have ever gotten our luggage. They went above and beyond my expectations of "hotel service". They were sincerely concerned for us and made every effort to help us during a time in which 48 people had to endure the summer heat of Italy without having sufficient clothing and personal items.
I would advise anyone considering travel to this Tuscan jewel-of-a-town to make their hotel of choice the Hotel San Lino. The rooms are exceptionally clean, the meals at the restaurant are incredibly prepared with fresh, local ingredients and are delicious. The breakfast buffet even impressed forty one 18 year olds, not to mention the adults who particularly were impressed with the soft boiled egg maker! Add the terrace and the pool to the experience and you'll have memories to last a lifetime.
Did I mention the hotel staff and the service they provide? Three cheers and 5+ stars for the Hotel San Lino in Volterra.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank da2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanLino, Direttore at San Lino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear da2man,

what to reply on your experience ?
It's been a great pleasure for us to help you and your group during the stay at Hotel San Lino and we just want to thank you for all your kindness and sympathy,

hoping to see you again soon,

Susanne Lechner
with the whole staff of Hotel San Lino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed here at the tail-end of a 3 week European tour with my niece, cousin, and aunt. We were welcomed by one of the kindest, most pleasant group of hotel staff. Upon explaining that Volterra was not only a stop for my Twilight-fan niece, but also to experience historical Tuscany, the hotel provided for us arrangements for a personalized tour around Volterra.

We felt like we were welcomed into a big family and given 5-star treatment. The hotel is situated next to an ancient cathedral and only footsteps away from the famous clock tower and square. Volterra is a small, tourist-friendly yet immersive town that provides incredible food, shopping, and relaxation.

Hotel San Lino focused on comforts that many other hotels have forgotten. Upon opening the room door I was greeted with aromatherapy, a variety of soaps and bath products, comfortable beds, artwork and a lot of those extra touches that really make the difference.

In all of my European travels, Hotel San Lino offered the most pleasant stay, pleasant enough to impress and amaze a 19 year old history fan, an 18 year old Twilight fan, a baby boomer, and me-- a twenty something looking to enjoy a variety of towns and cities in various locations around the globe.

Room Tip: A room with a courtyard view of the pool is great-- some rooms have balconies while others do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PStasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

1) Great location within the city wall so very central.
2) Reception staff most welcoming and very helpful with timetables for local transport and suggesting places to visit. We enjoyed the hotel's written tour of Volterra.
3) Our upgrade room was very good value and the hotel had the added benefits of a pool and a sun terrace.
On the downside, we would have liked the breakfast to contain more savoury items and less "cake"
We would certainly recommend this hotel for a stay in Volterra

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to get a larger room and view of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A very fine Hotel in the wonderful city of Volterra. The staff were extremely helpful ( even assisting me with my limited Italian ).The pool area is great for sunning during the day, or having a glass of local wine in the evenings. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RF C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The slightly institutional feel of this place failed to impress us. The bedroom was certainly adequate but overall the place seemed to lack the professionalism evident in other locations. It was impossible to get internet connection and their solitary computer was unavailable. The staff struggled with simple requests due to language barriers and the shower was lukewarm on both nights we stayed there. Certainly a great location but lacking love and professionalism

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritawbool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This wonderful hotel location has recently changed hands and whilst the management are fanastic hosts, and the building/gardens/pool beautiful, a few fundamental issues arose on our third trip here in 5 years. Breakfast was sadly lacking in terms of service and food. 8 types of (dry cake), but no orange juice, fruit salad or even cutlery on 3 mornings out of 4. Ask for rooms overlooking the pool as they are vastly brighter, newly furnished and quieter than those at the front (we asked, and we changed with no problem). A warning - booking 4 months in advance secured us 2 rooms for 4 nights at 90 euros per night, but this week they are selling for 69.99... Needless to say we felt somewhat let down by that but the management very kindly offered a free carpark for 4 days to compensate. Take earplugs as the design of the tiled corridors means that you hear every suitcase rolling along and the voices carry.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Themastersexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
328 reviews
5.7 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
3.8 mi away
Molino D'Era
Molino D'Era
#7 of 25 in Volterra
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lino

Address: Via San Lino 26, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: £73 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Lino 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lino is a 4 - stars Hotel set within the medieval walls of Volterra, only a 5-minute walk from the central Piazza dei Priori. It offers a fresh garden with outdoor swimming pool and panoramic sun terrace. Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel, even if it's not easy to realize a wiFi connection in a structure created in the 14th century.All rooms come with an en suite bathroom, satellite TV, and a minibar. Some feature a rustic Tuscan style, with wooden furniture and terracotta floors.San Lino Hotel is also a 5-minute walk from the Roman Amphitheatre. A garage is available on site.In the morning, a various continental breakfast buffet's waiting for our guests, during the summer months, it's even possibile to get the breakfast outside in our courtyard. The Restaurant "I Papi" offers you a light lunch and a special evening service with traditional specialities and also selected fish preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Lino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lino Volterra
San Lino Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing