We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming hotel in a charming not well known hill town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Lino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Lino
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A charming hotel in a charming not well known hill town”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The San Lino is a great place to stay in Volterra. Parking very close to the hotel in a covered garage. Arrange ahead of time. The hotel staff is very accommodating and the value price equation is amongst the best in the hill towns. Volterra is a quaint town and a great central location to do Tuscany day trips from.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    180
    84
    30
    12
See reviews for
92
197
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a great time in San Lino. Extremely friendly and helpful staff behind the reception made you feel welcom. The location is also terrific. Just a few minutes walk (up hill) to the restaurants and shops.
If you are bij car, we advice you to pay for the parking. It is very easy.
The only thing that we thought good be better is the breakfast.
More different kinds of bread would be an improvement and make sure that everything is there untill 10 o'clock AM. If you are in late for breakfast, you have to find the staf and ask them to fill up the empty trays..... And maybe this can be done then with a smile......
But overall the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I couldn't speak more highly of Hotel San Lino. I felt so well treated by the entire staff and the hotel was so conveniently located. Beautiful pool area, great restaurant and very reasonable prices. I'd stay here again in a second the next time I'm in Volterra.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 25nojive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I've been to Volterra many times over the years, and for my most recent visit I stayed at the San Lino. The rooms are comfortable and well-priced, and the location is terrific: it's a short walk into the centre of the city, while from the garden terrace you get wonderful views of the countryside. What makes this hotel exceptional, however, is the staff – they could not have been more hospitable. Next time I'm in Volterra, I'll definitely return to the San Lino.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JBBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful staff made everyone feel welcome. Ample space in the rooms and the little extras in the en-suite were a nice touch. Hotel is in a great location within the city walls but there is quite a steep hill up to the main shopping and restaurant area. Volterra is a super place for a relaxing break and I would recommend San Lino Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Room was as expected. The staff is conscientious. The rooms are clean, well enough appointed and the entire property is quite nice with a great view of the country, a nice breakfast buffet.\Adjacent parking garage was also great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and the one with the balcony if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rayfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

San Lino is a very good four star hotel. An ideal place to relax, and the pool is lovely. What makes it special, however, is the quality of the staff - incredibly friendly, professional but with a nice sense of humour. They clearly enjoy what they do! All in all, this is a great value hotel in a perfect location. Faultless!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuberry_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#2 of 24 in Volterra
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#3 of 24 in Volterra
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Antica Badia
Hotel Antica Badia
#11 of 24 in Volterra
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lino

Property: San Lino
Address: Via San Lino 26, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Lino 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lino is a 4 - stars Hotel set within the medieval walls of Volterra, only a 5-minute walk from the central Piazza dei Priori. It offers a fresh garden with outdoor swimming pool and panoramic sun terrace. Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel, even if it's not easy to realize a wiFi connection in a structure created in the 14th century.All rooms come with an en suite bathroom, satellite TV, and a minibar. Some feature a rustic Tuscan style, with wooden furniture and terracotta floors.San Lino Hotel is also a 5-minute walk from the Roman Amphitheatre. A garage is available on site.In the morning, a various continental breakfast buffet's waiting for our guests, during the summer months, it's even possibile to get the breakfast outside in our courtyard. The Restaurant "I Papi" offers you a light lunch and a special evening service with traditional specialities and also selected fish preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Lino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lino Volterra
San Lino Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing