We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and convenient”
Review of San Lino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Lino
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful and convenient”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. The reception staff were fabulous, so helpful and thoughtful with trip recommendations. The rooms were brilliant and views over the pool stunning. Breakfast was typically Italian and delicious. Would definitely go back and visit again. Just lovely :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DoodyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    185
    87
    31
    12
See reviews for
93
205
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just returned from this charming hotel just within the walled city of Volterra. The reception and dining staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms though small were very comfortable particularly those with balconies. Breakfast was excellent!
My wife left an expensive pair of walking boots in the very large indoor car park on leaving! These were returned free of charge by the hotel to England! How about that for service?

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Volterra is a great place to visit, but I would not recommend this hotel. Whilst the front desk staff were very polite, the room we had was complete rubbish and tiny besides. This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel (I think the ratings in Italy tend to be on the generous side, buyer beware!). I am 5' 3" and could scarcely use the loo without banging my knee on the sink. Imagine the fun my 6' husband had. The noise from other rooms was so loud, even with ear plugs it was difficult to sleep. After about 10:30pm there's absolutely no help in the lobby (4 star?) - the computer for guest use did not work and the custodian who is left to "help" after the front desk people have left had not clue one how to make it work ...
I accidentally pulled the help cord in the bathroom (thought it was extra light in the black hole of the bathroom) .... not that I needed anyone's help as it turned out (lucky me), but did anyone come to ask if I did? No.
The whole place is shabby and expensive and I wish we had stayed elsewhere.
If it had been some cheapy last minute place, that would be one thing, but it was not. I felt we were ripped off.

Room Tip: Be sure to go SEE the room you're destined for before paying a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is inside the town gate, a 5 minute walk uphill through the historical streets into the main square, shops and restaurants. The hotel was nicely decorated with communal seating areas, small bar and a dining room which served continental buffet breakfast, good range of cereals, pastries, eggs, cheese, cold meat, etc. They also serve dinner, but we didn’t eat there in the evening. The rooms are quite small but adequate with modern bathrooms. We were initially given a room with a window in the corner, making it quite gloomy - we needed lights on constantly to read by. The following morning we explained to the receptionist we’d like a lighter room and she immediately found us an alternative with a window and small balcony overlooking the pool area. The staff are generally helpful and friendly. Enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: Light quality varies depending on location of window/room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bardpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is ideally placed to explore Volterra, in my opinion one of the best hill town's of Tuscany if not the best- big enough to be interesting with munch to see and do but also still a working town, not a tourist honey-pot. The hotel has good sized rooms and is spotlessly clean. The reception was endlessly helpful, finding details of public transport on a bank holiday and offering advice. Noise from other rooms at night is a problem though which loses a review point - take ear plugs if you don't want to hear your neighbour 's antics or late night corridor discussions. Breakfast was excellent - we were walkers and appreciated the substantial options within the usual continental breakfast constraints. Wifi ok unless late on when all the guests were trying to be on line. When we go back to Volterra though, no doubt this will be our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We chose this hotel based on the location and four star rating. From the moment we checked in I knew it was going to be a nice place to stay. The lady at the front desk was warm, welcoming, and informative. She suggested we unpack and go to the garden for a view from the hotel walls....spectacular. The staff gave us lots of information about sightseeing and what would be entertaining for our children. The hotel location cannot be surpassed. Next door to a beautiful little church, close to the amphitheater and entrance to the city walls, steps from the main square. I would stay here again without hesitation. The only thing we would have appreciated was a bathtub or larger shower in the bathroom but the room itself was very big, especially in Europe, and the hotel was very comfortable for our family and our dog.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Last Christmas we spent lunch at a nice hotel San Lino in Volterra. the menu was well balanced and high quality traditional food. the service and the atmosphere was brilliant. Hotel San Lino thanks for a wonderful Christmas !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alon_simantov11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 24 in Volterra
192 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lino

Property: San Lino
Address: Via San Lino 26, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Lino 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lino is a 4 - stars Hotel set within the medieval walls of Volterra, only a 5-minute walk from the central Piazza dei Priori. It offers a fresh garden with outdoor swimming pool and panoramic sun terrace. Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel, even if it's not easy to realize a wiFi connection in a structure created in the 14th century.All rooms come with an en suite bathroom, satellite TV, and a minibar. Some feature a rustic Tuscan style, with wooden furniture and terracotta floors.San Lino Hotel is also a 5-minute walk from the Roman Amphitheatre. A garage is available on site.In the morning, a various continental breakfast buffet's waiting for our guests, during the summer months, it's even possibile to get the breakfast outside in our courtyard. The Restaurant "I Papi" offers you a light lunch and a special evening service with traditional specialities and also selected fish preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your San Lino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lino Volterra
San Lino Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing