We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a couple of nights”
Review of San Lino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Lino
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine for a couple of nights”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fine for a night or two if touring volterra but I wouldn't want to make a weeks holiday of it. Unfortunately the weather was wet and cold when we were there so were unable to utilise the pool, which infact could have made a difference. The staff on the front desk were lovely, welcoming and very helpful. I wouldn't recommend eating there as there are some fabulous little places in town with a lot more atmosphere. But a nice clean hotel in a great location

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodidodi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    185
    87
    31
    12
See reviews for
93
205
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely little hotel with very friendly staff. My husband used the pool which is very clean and on a lovely terrace. Our family stayed in the quadruple room which was very spacious. Excellent location as it is just inside the walled town so easily walkable to lots of restaurants. (Hotel has its own restaurant too). Very professional staff who are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a modern hotel inside the city walls of Volterra with great parking too. It is also the of Tuscany so very accessible for day trips in the area.
Lovely pool and terrace indoor and outdoor breakfast room. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A lovely hotel set in an excellent location. We arrived in the early afternoon on bicycles and were made to feel very welcome, spending an hour by the pool with some cool drinks! There was secure parking inside the hotel for our bikes, even a pump was provided. Rooms were very comfortable and spacious, the pool was super and the breakfast was very good.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a nice break staying at the San Lino Hotel in Volterra during June 2014. We booked 3 rooms and they were all good. The shower was very small in my room & the bathroom smelt of gas for some reason so we just left the window open. The pool area was nice, but unfortunately we did not get a chance to swim. The breakfast was excellent & they served the best lemon cake I ate during our entire holiday in Italy. It was great to have a carpark nearby that went with the hotel as we had a rental car. We walked up to the main square at night & up across the square to the left corner was a restaurant with tables outside. I cannot remember the name, but we ate here twice & it was excellent food, wine & service. Probably one of the friendliest places we ate at. I would stay here again to explore nearby villages if I was lucky enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fatbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We drove to Volterra after staying at another nice hotel in San Giminiano in mid-May 14. Arrived in Volterra and found hotel without much difficulty using satnav.

Was greeted by very friendly and helpful check-in clerk and then headed to our room. The foyer was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable.

The room itself was large with a nice ensuite shower room and again cleaned well. Unfortunately the beds were not the most comfortable but still fine. The pool was freezing cold and had not been cleaned recently. The pool area was clean and very spacious with plenty of seating/sun loungers though.

We did not eat dinner in the restaurant but breakfast was comprehensive and tasty overall and staff again were welcoming.

All in all was a great city-break stay and good value, would recommend this hotel to singles, young couples or families.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived late to check in, but staff we very helpful and accomodating. Hotel charming and in a great location for exploring volterra. Room was spacious and comfortable..
Pool and sunbathing area were a great bonus, as was the hotel parking, and was worth paying the extra.

Room Tip: rooms at the front are quite noisy early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SthYorksJeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 24 in Volterra
192 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lino

Property: San Lino
Address: Via San Lino 26, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Lino 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lino is a 4 - stars Hotel set within the medieval walls of Volterra, only a 5-minute walk from the central Piazza dei Priori. It offers a fresh garden with outdoor swimming pool and panoramic sun terrace. Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel, even if it's not easy to realize a wiFi connection in a structure created in the 14th century.All rooms come with an en suite bathroom, satellite TV, and a minibar. Some feature a rustic Tuscan style, with wooden furniture and terracotta floors.San Lino Hotel is also a 5-minute walk from the Roman Amphitheatre. A garage is available on site.In the morning, a various continental breakfast buffet's waiting for our guests, during the summer months, it's even possibile to get the breakfast outside in our courtyard. The Restaurant "I Papi" offers you a light lunch and a special evening service with traditional specialities and also selected fish preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your San Lino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lino Volterra
San Lino Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing