We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel”
Review of San Lino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Lino
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed at the San Lino for 9 nights in July (my wife,daughter aged eleven and myself). We were slightly apprehensive that nine nights might be too much in Volterra and that we might be bored.We need not have worried as Volterra was much larger than we imagined and everyday we discovered something new to do. Would recommend the Palazzo Viti, the Duomo, the Pinoceteca art gallery,the Etruscan Museum (if you like ancient history!), the Torture Museum and the Roman theatre.

The San Lino is a converted convent and the room was good, the breakfast was very nice and the pool area was excellent.The thing that would make you return to this hotel however would be the friendliness and professionalism of the staff (especially Daniela and Marianna). They were excellent to deal with and very helpful in all our interactions and would definitely make you want to visit this hotel again. They arranged a two hour horse ride in the beautiful surrounding Tuscan countryside which was definitely the highlight for our daughter and for us.

You can stay half board in the hotel if you want but if you do not take this option then you wont be short of restaurants to dine in. Definitely worth a visit is the Al Ristoro restaurant beside the Albergo Nazionale hotel. We had three really gorgeous dinners here. La Vecchia Lira was very good for lunch but not so hot at night for food. Two excellent wine bars serving food were the wine bar opposite La Vecchia Lira and the weird but wonderful Vino del Vera opposite the Etruscan museum. We hope to return to Volterra in future as it was really a very relaxing place with spectacular scenery. The really friendly stay that we had at the San Lino would definitely encourage us to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Commitments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2008

We stayed at The San Lino for ten nights in July and loved it. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Daniela, one of the receptionists. We booked three standard rooms which were situated on the first floor and could not be faulted given the hotel's rates. Two of the rooms even had access to a private terraced area which was a fantastic unexpected bonus. The rooms were fairly basic but comfortable and spotlessly clean. The housekeeping staff did a fantastic job as did Daniela and Silvia on reception. The buffet breakfasts were excellent and set us up for our days exploring the beautiful city of Volterra. We ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant on one night during our stay and again, were very impressed by the food. It was a fairly basic menu but we gladly found the food less fussy than many of the restaurants in the centre. The terrace and pool area were also great and so nice to find considering the hotel's central location within the city walls.
All in all we thoroughly our stay and it made the perfect place to spend a well deserved family holiday. We would most certainly recommend it and very much hope to have the pleasure of returning again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJLTHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2006

we had a very relaxing time at the hotel san lino. the room was adequate and quiet. All the staff were simply wonderful and contributed a great deal to our enjoyment of the town. Volterra is a real gem. The town is gorgeous and the views of the countryside around it are breathtaking. We also ate exceptionally well. The people in town were all very friendly. We are already planning to go back in the spring.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe-Horatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2006

On the plus side:
Really nice, helpful staff
Clean
Great location
Parking available at reasonable cost
Pool

On the down side:
A tired, slightly scruffy building in urgent need of refurbishment
Poor breakfast

We found that Volterra differed from other places we know in Tuscany in that as a general rule most of the inhabitants see their role as parting the maximum amount of cash from their visitors with the mimimum of service and civility. A notable exception was a restaurant called Amarcord just across the road from the hotel which was fantastic. We had a very expensive, very slow, very poor dinner at Enoteca Del Duca.

To enjoy Volterra you need to be very, very enthusiastic about the Etruscans. The main musuem is very old fashioned and to be avoided unless you like rooms and rooms of arrowheads and pots.

2  Thank JamesRadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2006

Fab hotel - clean, rooms were big considering the location of the hotel - right within the heart of Volterra (within the walled city).

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Andrew'n'Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2005

The two highlights of this hotel are it's location and it's pool. Within the city walls, the hotel is an ancient building itself but conversion from a convent and modernisation seems to have removed much original charm.
Our room on the second floor was fine but nothing special. Breakfast was good and served outdoors in a courtyard. The pool and its surrounding roof terrace were very pleasant and welcome in the Tuscan heat. The hotel was within minutes of all the many interesting sights in Volterra.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank huby.s.b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2004

The hotel is in an ideal location,5minute walk to main square in volterra.Also has parking which is expensive but necessary.Pool area is great.The hotel was nice,unfortunately I had a standard room right next to elevator and as I was staying for 6 days wasnt very impressed with both the size and noise.the room was small & very basic. the staff were pleasant enough although could have been more helpful and friendly. the bar seemed constantly closed which was a shame as there isnt much in the way of nightlife in volterra.

6  Thank 967nikkik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Nencini
Hotel Villa Nencini
#13 of 25 in Volterra
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lino

Address: Via San Lino 26, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: £69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Lino 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lino is a 4 - stars Hotel set within the medieval walls of Volterra, only a 5-minute walk from the central Piazza dei Priori. It offers a fresh garden with outdoor swimming pool and panoramic sun terrace. Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel, even if it's not easy to realize a wiFi connection in a structure created in the 14th century.All rooms come with an en suite bathroom, satellite TV, and a minibar. Some feature a rustic Tuscan style, with wooden furniture and terracotta floors.San Lino Hotel is also a 5-minute walk from the Roman Amphitheatre. A garage is available on site.In the morning, a various continental breakfast buffet's waiting for our guests, during the summer months, it's even possibile to get the breakfast outside in our courtyard. The Restaurant "I Papi" offers you a light lunch and a special evening service with traditional specialities and also selected fish preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Lino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lino Volterra
San Lino Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing