We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tuscan Tour - Day Tours
Save
Review Highlights
Annie's tour was amazing!

I have been on countless other tours but this tour is by far the best of the best. We had a group... read more

Reviewed 18 October 2017
Valerie S
Wonderful tour of Volterra and wine tasting!

Annie is an informative, personable and enthusiastic tour guide and we thoroughly enjoyed our 3... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2017
eerickso
,
Jupiter, Florida
Read all 40 reviews
  
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
39
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting her husband answered all of our questions francesco annie tuscany
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

We saw Annie on a Rick Steves' segment on the small Tuscan town of Volterra. Googled her and found about 6 more videos. She has a love and a passion for Volterra and the region. Our short time together left us wanting more. Annie is one of the most knowledgeable and articulate guides we have met in the entire world. You will not be disappointed when you book with her. (We were fortunate enough to be with her on her birthday - Buon compleanno)
Annie is an excellent communicator - if a problem arises you can easily get in touch with her.
Volterra is not an easy place to get to, but it is well worth the effort to see and experience. This is Tuscany - like the Cinque Terra was before it was "discovered". See it before it changes.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank JoeSixpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janviertuscany, Proprietario at Tuscan Tour - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you so much for your immensely generous words. It was a true pleasure to spend time with you in Volterra, and a treat be with such lovely people on my birthday! I hope our paths will cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Some Pictures of my amazing trip to Volterra. So lucky to have seen this. A must see and book your walking tour with Annie Adair!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Back from two weeks with a group of twelve...we had formal tours in Rome and Florence. But our favorite tour by far was Annie's tour of Volterra. (We skipped San Gimingnano and drove just a bit further to Volterra...a great move.) Volterra is a beutiful hilltop town that, as Annie explained so well and with passion, was an important city way back when. She walked us through town with so many stories of historical significance in a way which captured us all. She kept the pace slow to accommodate some older folk. The tour was topped of by a visit to a local alabaster carver, who gave us a demo - very interesting. Thanks, Annie, for a great day!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank JerseyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Our group of 15 had the most amazing tour with Annie and Tuscan Tours. This service was recommended by our B&B host and ended up being a major highlight of our trip.

Our tour included:
- Comfortable bus/van rides to and from our B&B
- A walking tour of Volterra
- Lunch and a wine tour of an excellent local winery
- A brief tour of San Gimignano and time to explore the city
- Tons of interesting history of Italy and the Etruscan civilization
- Great recommendations of other things to do while we were in the area

Annie was an amazing guide who is super passionate about what she does. She makes history fun and interesting (even on cold mornings when your whole group *may or may not* be totally hungover). She arranged an amazing luxury bus and a wonderful driver (Paolo) to safely ferry us from place to place. She also set up an amazing winery visit where we enjoyed a beautiful lunch, a tasty selection of wine, olive oil and a tour of a grape-to-bottle wine operation.

Tuscan Tours also offers a full day of wine tours if that is your group's preference. The owners are fluent in English and Italian and are super easy to communicate with from afar.

I highly recommend making this a part of your Tuscan adventure!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank hilmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Annie was a guide extraordinaire!
She gave us the perfect introduction to Volterra. 3 hours went by so fast.
We loved her stories and all the "off the beaten track" places she showed us.
Highly recommend her!!

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Lititztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews