We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tour of our entire trip!”

Tuscan Tour - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 5 Tours in Volterra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tuscan Tour is run by Annie Adair and Francesco Gronchi and is based out of Volterra. We offer private guided tours of Volterra, as well as day-tours to Tuscany wineries, in areas ranging from Montalcino to Chianti to Bolgheri and the coast.
Reviewed 4 August 2017

My family of 11- ages 9 to 78- took a private tour with Annie followed by wine tasting for the adults and alabaster carving for the kids. Annie managed to keep our entire party fascinated- not an easy feat when you have such a wide age range. Her knowledge was truly impressive and her way of speaking was enthralling. I cannot say enough about Annie! Her husband was wonderful as well and we all loved our wine tasting experience.
My family absolutely fell in love with Volterra and Annie definitely played a huge part in that.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank 634amandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 12 reviews
"her husband"
in 5 reviews
"answered all of our questions"
in 2 reviews
"our entire trip"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing guide"
in 2 reviews
"off the beaten track"
in 2 reviews
"francesco"
in 16 reviews
"annie"
in 34 reviews
"knowledge"
in 12 reviews
"francisco"
in 2 reviews
"tuscany"
in 15 reviews
"alabaster"
in 11 reviews
"town"
in 11 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017

I traveled with my family to Tuscany - there were 10 of us, from 4 to 64. I was looking for walking tours of off-the-beaten-track towns and Volterra came up! The town is unbelievable and Annie was such an informative, engaging, energetic guide! We did a private walking tour that everyone loved. We developed an appreciation of the town's history without being overwhelmed with information overload - her love of the town is contagious! Then, she arranged an alabaster carving class for the kids while the adults went with Francesco for his wine class. The kids were thoroughly entertained and the wine tasting was the most informative and fun tasting any of us had ever done! We enjoyed that Francesco is agnostic to vineyard and truly educated and entertained us with his passion and knowledge of wine. In addition, Annie arranged and accompanied us on a truffle hunt and cooking class/lunch that was like being at a long-lost relative's farm! Don't miss the experiences that this fantastic tour company arranges - by far the best two days of our trip!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank NARLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

We saw Annie on a Rick Steves' segment on the small Tuscan town of Volterra. Googled her and found about 6 more videos. She has a love and a passion for Volterra and the region. Our short time together left us wanting more. Annie is one of the most knowledgeable and articulate guides we have met in the entire world. You will not be disappointed when you book with her. (We were fortunate enough to be with her on her birthday - Buon compleanno)
Annie is an excellent communicator - if a problem arises you can easily get in touch with her.
Volterra is not an easy place to get to, but it is well worth the effort to see and experience. This is Tuscany - like the Cinque Terra was before it was "discovered". See it before it changes.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank JoeSixpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janviertuscany, Proprietario at Tuscan Tour - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you so much for your immensely generous words. It was a true pleasure to spend time with you in Volterra, and a treat be with such lovely people on my birthday! I hope our paths will cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Some Pictures of my amazing trip to Volterra. So lucky to have seen this. A must see and book your walking tour with Annie Adair!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Back from two weeks with a group of twelve...we had formal tours in Rome and Florence. But our favorite tour by far was Annie's tour of Volterra. (We skipped San Gimingnano and drove just a bit further to Volterra...a great move.) Volterra is a beutiful hilltop town that, as Annie explained so well and with passion, was an important city way back when. She walked us through town with so many stories of historical significance in a way which captured us all. She kept the pace slow to accommodate some older folk. The tour was topped of by a visit to a local alabaster carver, who gave us a demo - very interesting. Thanks, Annie, for a great day!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank JerseyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuscan Tour - Day Tours also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Tuscan Tour - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing