We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location with free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Nencini
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location with free parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 34. Rooms 31-34 have balconies and country views. The rooms are comfortable and clean but could use a little updating. The desk staff is nice but not overly helpful. One woman didn't speak any English so it was very difficult to ask her questions.

We were there in mid-October so no air conditioning wasn't an issue for us.

The breakfast was a nice surprise and was well stocked for continental. Cash and Rick Steves' guide discount available. Free wi-fi would have been a nice ting to have but I was able t buy access for 5 euros for 3 hours whcih could be used anytime during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 31-34 have balconies and country views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarrysMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    75
    47
    15
    12
See reviews for
47
92
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Lovely location about 5 minute (uphill) walk to the town walls and gate. Great views out over the countryside. Good garden with pool.
Rooms were clean and comfortable without dripping local charm. No AC and had to request a fan several times before getting one in our children s room - it was hot!
Buffet breakfast was tasty and continental, with boiled eggs, cheeses, breads, meats and cereals. Friendly staff.
Importantly we had no problems parking our hire car, always found somewhere nearby which is an achievement for a hotel in a hilltop town, especially one as popular as Volterra.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view - the rooms at the front have great views out and catch the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkUK086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

A very nice, friendly hotel, we had a lovely room with a balcony and stunning views and a short but very steep walk up to the city walls. The swimming pool is lovely with plenty of loungers and was never busy, we stayed for 6 days and had a really relaxing stay. Air conditioning would make this hotel excellent

Room Tip: Definitely worth requesting a room with a balcony for the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Wonderful hotel, wish we could have spent more time and watched the sunset from the pool. Bit of a walk from the city center, but there are great places to eat and shop along the way, and having a quiet hotel with this kind of view is hard to beat. If you don't want to walk, use a taxi this is well worth it. One of the few hotels we stayed in that had carpet, could have used a good cleaning.

Room Tip: Pool side view, excellent - room with bath was worth doing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I just read some of the other reviews and it sounds like they were at a different hotel than us! Our stay was lovely. The location outside the city wall is great if you are driving a car since you can't drive into the city. Ample parking at the hotel and an easy walk into the city for sightseeing. Our room & bed was fine. Not much of a view but great view from the hotel front patio. The bathroom was clean and had soap. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant. There was a party of locals also in the restaurant celebrating a baby's baptism. It was fun to see the locals in a very authentic setting. The hotel Front Desk was not very helpful, true. But its easy to figure out how to walk into town and see everything. Volterra is a really neat old city. Worth visiting!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

My wife and I stayed a third night after booking only 2. The hotel was everything that Rick Steve's said it was. In addition the breakfast was far better than others we had on our 9 day stay. We did wish that the front desk was more proficient in English, but given the location, the view, the cleanliness and price, it was a real value

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I was so optimisitic about the hotel.....The location is really not bad...a mere 6 minute walk to the gates. Volterra is such a small town, that is nothing! I guess if you had luggae it would be a poor and exhausting experience. I found the lack of amenities to be a problem....No soap or shampoo in my room. There was no hot water. The towels were like a lavery large dish cloth. The bed was all right. It did have a window, so that in itself was good. The breakfast was not bad. I hate machine coffee....especially in Italy. I felt I was camping more than enjoying the amenities of a hotel.

Room Tip: A new Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Volterra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fattoria Lischeto
Fattoria Lischeto
#7 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.5 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#9 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Nencini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Nencini

Property: Hotel Villa Nencini
Address: Borgo Santo Stefano 55, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Nencini 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From 17th century, over the etruscan walls, the villa enjoys a quiet simple, where the view is lost in the hills to see the sea and where the charm of the sunset every evening gives us a unique spectacle. Equipped with 35 rooms of different categories and a great restaurant, the hotel is the ideal choice for individual guests to organized groups; owners can also organize wedding party by the pool. The hotel is the perfect place for lovers of good food and good wine and in the tavern you can taste and buy from a wide selection of wines. The complex formed from the original villa and then later expanded, is inserted in a natural setting with a large swimming pool available to guests during the summer. In the background is a unique profile of the grove of oaks and olive trees, under whose shade cooling off on hot summer days. The Nencini family, owner of the structure, from over 20 years guarantees a carefull management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Nencini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Nencini Hotel Volterra
Nencini Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing