We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confused”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Locanda
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Confused”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel had gotten nice reviews, so we didn't hesitate to make a reservation. However, the place is a bit run down. The walls needed paint pretty badly. The light fixtures in our room had dead bugs in them. When we turned down the sheets there was a hair on the pillowcase...not a good welcome. The woman at the front desk was gracious about it and came up to change the pillowcase while we were out. The mini fridge wasn't clean. The bathtub had some mold around it. I stay in hotels quite a bit, and I admit that I have high expectations on cleanliness. If you do, too, it's probably not the place for you. Bed was older and lumpy.

The breakfast was really disappointing, An assortment of somewhat stale cakes and breads with Nutella and some yogurts. The fruit had seen better days. It was pretty sad looking.

Also, check out time was at 10:30. Earlier than most hotels, just be aware of it. The staff was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBRibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear RBRibbons,

Thank you for writing on us, even if I am not completely agree on what you write. I guess that find a hair in the pillow case can happen, I don't think the housekeepers saw it and laied it . I guess this Hotel is not new (it has renewed around 10years ago), but I would never define it "bit run down". The fridge could not be unclean, because the same housekeepers above control it everyday, for refurnish and clean it. There is nothing to say about cleanliness, see also the moquette con the pavement, very hard to keep cleaned. Buffet breakfast is composed by salty and sweaty, not just by yogurts and Nutella as you write,. and what’s about the fruits? I would no imagine what you could have writing if there was any fruit. Our check out time is until 10, not 10.30. If am not wrong, you leave this Hotel at 11, so veery late (the timetables are written at the front desk, in the elevator, in all rooms.) Last but not least: have you found your passports then? Who is confused? Not us, I guess.

With Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    159
    38
    11
    1
See reviews for
62
207
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were traveling with a tour group and everything about this place was so inviting. It was right off the main road (don't let that detour you because i only saw maybe 3 cars use it over the course of our 2 night stay) which made it SUPER easy to find (especially after a wine tasting). The woman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful with the local information and even during our short stay remembered which key was ours when we returned back after an entire day out and about exploring this amazing little town. I really hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Our room looked out one what i decided was a day care? it wasnt loud of anything but just be aware t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitty_cat_cohee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear kitty_cat_cohee,

Thank you for writing on us! We are glad to read that your stay here was "perfect"!
We hope to welcome you soon!

With Our Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September. Very nice hotel in the old walled city. Very good staff .Very clean rooms . Breakfast in the morning was good and is in comparison to what is normal in Italy. The town is very small and it's easy to walk to anywhere from this location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herbbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear herbbus,

Thank you for your nice review! We are glad to welcome you once again on your next holiday!

With Our Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forks, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for an exceptional accommodation in Volterra, La Locanda is for you! The rooms are spacious, the breakfast provides a wonderful start to the day, and the location is well situated to explore the entire city. The staff members are friendly, courteous, and well informed to answer any questions and offer advice if needed. The restaurant affiliated with La Locanda is a treasure offering superb meals!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Rosemary C,

Thank you for writing on us! We really appreciate every single word of our guest who stayed here, because all of them, good or bad, help us to grow up!

We really hope to welcome you once again!

With Our Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had a very large room for a hotel in Italy. We spent very little time in our room. I barely recall sleeping. Awesome breakfast. I guess we were just lucky. This is a great hill town and probably my favorite of this trip. People were wonderful and it has nice mix of Middle Ages Italy, a Roman Theater, Great Etruscan Museum and Green space around the outer walls. Really relaxing and I was pleased with my choices.

Room Tip: Beds were a bit hard. My hip ached in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABHIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear ABHIL,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to read that our Hotel was one of your "good choice" during your trip! We are glad to welcome you once again on your next holiday!

With Our Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice friendly staff with comfortable upscale rooms. Hotel in a good location for city sights. Our room faced the street which is a main street for people coming and going from Volterra. Be prepared for a little traffic noise. Breakfast nice.

Room Tip: Ask to face away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindazw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear lindazw,
Thank you for writing on us! We are so sorry that the street noise disturbed you...
We are looking forward to welcome you once again, to reserve you a room on the courtyard!

With Our Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were expecting a typical room we arrived at La Laconda during a heavy rain storm but were surprised to get a room with a king sized bed and a separate room with bunk beds for our teens. We didnt realze we were getting what most hotels would consider a two bedroom suite when we booked. The bathroom is large and new. It's a nice small hotel inside the walled city. There is parking about 50 yards away. Volterra is a great walled city to spend the night in - not nearly as crowded as some. The hotel staff is super helpful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Greg G,

Thank you for your review! We always do our best to satisfy all our guests, so we are really glad to read that you liked everything of your staying here!

We hope to see you and your family again!

With Our Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
441 reviews
3.5 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#3 of 24 in Volterra
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#8 of 24 in Volterra
404 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fattoria Lischeto
Fattoria Lischeto
#7 of 24 in Volterra
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Locanda

Property: Hotel La Locanda
Address: Via Guarnacci 24-28, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Locanda 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel la locanda is situated in the historical centre of the town.we are in proximity to the roman theater and to the porta fiorentina.our hotel is new and has been converted from an ancient monastery of nuns.the former owner of this palace, in the second half of 1700s, was anton filippo giachi, historically and culturally famous for his studies of etruscan history.in remembrance of him, you can find today a memorial plaque over the entrance of the hotel. In those days he fixed onto the front of the building some urns, boxes for urns and the tops of urns from the etruscan time, with representations of fantastic animals and scenes of the trip to the inferno.he found all this here when he excavated the site.to decide to stay at the hotel la locanda means discovering the wonders of the culture of a remarkable town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Hotel
La Locanda Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing