We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Room in an Ancient Building”
Review of Hotel La Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Locanda
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2010

This hotel was extremely clean, comfortable and huge compared to the other hotels we stayed in in Italy. The bathroom was very modern and looked like it had just been updated. The bedroom area was spacious and had a lot of room to hang and store clothes.
The location is centrally located to all of the sites, just a few steps from the very "famous" entrance. Everything in Volterra is within walking distance and there are so many quaint little shops and art studios to see.
The staff of the hotel was friendly and accommodating. Its a culture shock to leave your key at the desk when you leave a hotel, but I felt very safe in doing so at this hotel. The complementary breakfast was also, very good.
The view from the window was to the quaint street below. We left the window open at night and it was very quiet.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBartsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2009

Location is fabulous!! Just inside the walls. Parking just a shor walk away. Check in was quick and simple, very pleasant staff. Room was clean and surprisingly big for a medieval hotel. Love the windows, definately reminds you of where you are....Breakfast was good, coffee and juice fantastc.
Very quiet, and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Clean, roomy and very nice. Staff were helpful, there is free highspeed internet, breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEGTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We stayed at La Locanda for 2 nights last week. We were pleased with the location, which is inside the city walls, no long walks to get to the hotel. Very pleasant staff, good breakfast, free WIFI, and parking nearby. We loved Volterra and can't wait to go back!

An important tip about staying at this hotel: The door to the hotel is located about 25 feet before the sign!

If you are coming from Siena, your only choice is to drive or take a bus. We drove and we are SO glad we did! The bus takes hours and the walk into the medieval village is a ways. The drive is easy, but very winding - which was not a problem for us. However, having a GPS with European maps (bought at Best Buy the day before our trip) was essential! I am not sure we could have found our way without the GPS. We rented our car from Hertz in Siena, and they rent a GPS also in case you don't bring yours with you.

If you are coming from Florence, I would take the train to Siena, then rent a car for Volterra. There is public parking very close to the hotel.

As for the hotel La Locanda, we would stay there again any day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msklausler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

This hotel is in a fantastic location near a city wall entrance (so you can drop your bags off easily) and close to lots of restaurants, shops and the main town square of Volterra. It's also close to an Irish pub and nightclub in a cave!

Parking is free in carpark 5 - although it was hard to find this carpark as it was not signposted! it's the biggest carpark there though. My advice is park, find the hotel and then drive up to drop your bags off as it's a steep hill to the hotel.

The room was clean and comfortable and we stayed at the back of the hotel so it was really quiet at night.

The breakfast was varied (fruit, cheese and meat, good coffee, croissants and rolls and cereal.)

The reception staff were helpful - the lady helped book a restaurant for us and made a few recommendations on where to go for dinner.

The free, easy to use wifi was also a bonus.

Would stay here again - Volterra is a beautiful town (and was featured in Twilight's New Moon movie)

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clea700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This hotel is an incredible location for a great price! We were in Italy in the summer and the AC worked great and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

La Locanda is located just a few feet inside the walls of this beautiful Etruscan city. Access is convenient to public parking at parking lots 4,5 &6. We found it easer to park just outside the city walls by parking area #4 and carry our luggage less than 2 minutes to the hotel.
This hotel is a gem. The rooms are very comfortable and ours even included 2 luggage stands, which we find is rare. Clean, comfortable, and accessible this hotel is staffed by people that wanted to insure our stay was perfect.
The breakfast was wonderful including fresh baked pastries. Local Osterias were terrifiic as well
Volterra is a great location for exploring from Pisa to central Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtravelerfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#7 of 25 in Volterra
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#12 of 25 in Volterra
191 reviews
5.8 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Locanda

Address: Via Guarnacci 24-28, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: £63 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Locanda 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel la locanda is situated in the historical centre of the town.we are in proximity to the roman theater and to the porta fiorentina.our hotel is new and has been converted from an ancient monastery of nuns.the former owner of this palace, in the second half of 1700s, was anton filippo giachi, historically and culturally famous for his studies of etruscan history.in remembrance of him, you can find today a memorial plaque over the entrance of the hotel. In those days he fixed onto the front of the building some urns, boxes for urns and the tops of urns from the etruscan time, with representations of fantastic animals and scenes of the trip to the inferno.he found all this here when he excavated the site.to decide to stay at the hotel la locanda means discovering the wonders of the culture of a remarkable town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Hotel
La Locanda Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing