We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pricey but maybe worth it for big bed and good sized room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Locanda
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“pricey but maybe worth it for big bed and good sized room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

The hotel is an easy walk from the bus stop and rooms have free wifi, fridges, aircon and kingsized beds. It was over priced at 104 euros a night , by far the dearest hotel in our 6 week European trip. Some of the staff were rather offhand and had difficulty with English which is not what you expect in a hotel of this class. The breakfast was only average, again not the standard you would expect.Great location for exploring this beautiful hill top town. ou MUST visit Volterra but do your homework on accommodation. Some great little restaurants close by. We travelled around Italy by bus and when we were leaving there were only two buses heading for Siena, the 1st at 8 am and the next at 1.30. Check on internet for timetables.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    156
    37
    11
    1
See reviews for
59
204
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Lovely carpets and recently renovated rooms with good bathrooms to a high standard, but try to avoid 107, which is darkened by the fire escape blocking the window, and the bathroom is falling apart. Don't 'treat' yourself to the suite 303 unless you have kids, and want to put them in the separate 'box' room, which is all you get extra. 203 is a lovely room for a couple with a view to the rear.
Although the high quality carpets extend downstairs too, the rest of the ground floor is a disaster. When will someone tell the owner that the huge, scary, ancient pictures of his daughters behind reception are not adding to the guest appeal of the lobby.

There are really no suitable public areas downstairs to sit and relax. There's a TV in one corridor with a couple of chairs squeezed in, but these are mostly used by the staff in the evenings. The other corridor, is used as a breakfast room. Someone there needs to realise that sellotaping street maps at random over the damp patches and gaping holes in the plaster isn't really working. If you wan't lovely fresh Italian coffee, fresh pastries and cakes, bruschetta, or anything that doesn't look like it was bought in Lidl a few weeks ago, then go outside to breakfast. There are plenty of cafe's with fresh coffee, food, and daylight around town.
Nice location, with easy free parking at car park 5 - except Saturdays from 6.00 for the market

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altego1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

My friend and I stay at the hotel La Locanda (two rooms) for six nights and loved it. With my limited mobility, I stayed in the disable room. The rooms were of good size. Much larger than most European hotel with single occupant. The bathroom was very spacious and modern. We enjoyed the included breakfast very much. The front desk day time staff was super. Very friendly and helpful. Centrally located. Lots of choices for restaurants nearby. I brought my notebook and had no problems with the hotel's free WIFI.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

My husband and I spent one night at Hotel La Laconda in early July. The location of the hotel is very nice as other people have stated. The room was clean, too.

The "free" parking is the municipal city lot (not a far walk.) It worked well for us, but when we were leaving people were having trouble finding parking spaces. So the "free parking" that comes with the hotel is a bit of a misnomer.

The internet also did not work in the first room we were given, though we tried extensively to access it. We had chosen the hotel partly because of its free internet (we were doing a daily travel blog) and we finally asked to switch rooms. The woman at the reception desk was clearly displeased and unhelpful, but finally allowed us to switch to a room where the wireless could be reached (off the main street, front of the hotel.)

The ventilation was also being worked on while we were there. We weren't warned about the two men on ladders, blocking the middle of the hallway, when we went up with our suitcases. So the air conditioning didn't work at all during our stay (weather was 93 degrees.) We opened the front windows, which helped, but it was quite loud on the street all night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egoswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

This hotel was extremely clean, comfortable and huge compared to the other hotels we stayed in in Italy. The bathroom was very modern and looked like it had just been updated. The bedroom area was spacious and had a lot of room to hang and store clothes.
The location is centrally located to all of the sites, just a few steps from the very "famous" entrance. Everything in Volterra is within walking distance and there are so many quaint little shops and art studios to see.
The staff of the hotel was friendly and accommodating. Its a culture shock to leave your key at the desk when you leave a hotel, but I felt very safe in doing so at this hotel. The complementary breakfast was also, very good.
The view from the window was to the quaint street below. We left the window open at night and it was very quiet.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBartsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
québec
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

Location is fabulous!! Just inside the walls. Parking just a shor walk away. Check in was quick and simple, very pleasant staff. Room was clean and surprisingly big for a medieval hotel. Love the windows, definately reminds you of where you are....Breakfast was good, coffee and juice fantastc.
Very quiet, and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Clean, roomy and very nice. Staff were helpful, there is free highspeed internet, breakfast is good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEGTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#10 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fattoria Lischeto
Fattoria Lischeto
#7 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#11 of 24 in Volterra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.5 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Locanda

Property: Hotel La Locanda
Address: Via Guarnacci 24-28, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Locanda 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel la locanda is situated in the historical centre of the town.we are in proximity to the roman theater and to the porta fiorentina.our hotel is new and has been converted from an ancient monastery of nuns.the former owner of this palace, in the second half of 1700s, was anton filippo giachi, historically and culturally famous for his studies of etruscan history.in remembrance of him, you can find today a memorial plaque over the entrance of the hotel. In those days he fixed onto the front of the building some urns, boxes for urns and the tops of urns from the etruscan time, with representations of fantastic animals and scenes of the trip to the inferno.he found all this here when he excavated the site.to decide to stay at the hotel la locanda means discovering the wonders of the culture of a remarkable town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Hotel La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Hotel
La Locanda Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing