We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views and helpful attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hotel le Fonti
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lovely views and helpful attitude”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights as the second leg of a Riviers trip combined with Florence. The hotel is below the town which necessitates a steep walk or trusting the erratically timed local service - see below. Our room overlooking the swimming pool was large and comfortable with good distant views. The food was well prepared. There were two menus, fish and meat but we found that we could alternate starters mains and deserts from one to another with no problem. The wines were well chosen Tuscans and were priced at about what you would expect in a hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. On our free day we went on the local bus into Volterra on the rickety local bus but misread the return times. Four of us were together with two using sticks for knee problems and not fancying the long steep downhill walk. Failing to interest the local taxi for so "short" a journey, the T.I. phoned our hotel who kindly sent the hotel minibus to pick us up. Very impressive service, and overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear sheilallan,
many thanks for your review.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    190
    94
    38
    11
See reviews for
65
281
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel sets it up as being a great place to stay in Volterra. It's a short but steep walk uphill to the city center and a short drive to the parking garage if you choose to drive. The outdoor bar and pool overlook the hills and countryside and it's simply breathtaking. We spent as much time as we could outside. We had a room on the first floor with this wonderful view which was fantastic. The service at the hotel was very mixed for us. When we requested an extra pillow (the pillows in Italy tend to be quite flat) since there was only one extra in the room, we were told that there were no extra pillows in the whole hotel. Hard to believe. Especially since after complaining to management, one showed up about 3 hours later. Additionally, while it was quite cool outside in the evenings, we were not about to sleep with our doors open since we were on the ground floor and there were no screens on the doors to keep bugs out. The air conditioning didn't work and when we asked for assistance, we were first told that it turned off for the whole building. The next person said it would be turned on later in the evening and the third said it was broken. Eventually someone came to our room, fiddled around and some A/C came on. However, it would blow for 5 seconds and the turn off for 30 seconds and then back on for 5 seconds, off for 30 (I literally counted the seconds repeatedly while lying in bed as I found this very annoying). Our friends who were with us said the exact same thing happened in their room. The dinner meal at the hotel was nothing spectacular (we sent one meal back but it was replaced with a second choice). Breakfast was average. Overall, 50/50 for us.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Krakim,
we are sorry that you have not fully enjoyed your stay.
Regarding the air conditioning probably the period of your stay is the one in wich we were asked by the most of the guests to switch off it because of the cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is in a stunning location, set in the Tuscan Hills. Volterra itself is about 10 minutes walk, up some steep hills and has absolutely stunning architecture, with a nice selection of cafés, restaurants and shops. Beware if you're going to attempt the walk after dinner as people do tend to drive quite fast there.

Our room was overlooking the car park so the view could have been better. It was generally quiet in the room but we were directly over the lobby so could hear the automatic front door opening and closing in the early hours of the morning. The room was very nice though and comfortably furnished, with good air conditioning, with a large bathroom.

The free wifi was extremely disappointing and can be only described as "flaky" at best. Considering we were directly over the lobby, wifi rarely worked in the room. It was fine when you went downstairs to the lobby though.

The staff were very accommodating - the hair dryer didn't work when I tried it the first evening and when I asked them to fix it, it was replaced with a new one the next day.

The pool and leisure facilities looked fabulous but we didn't get round to using them.

The bar and restaurant areas were nice, with some of the restaurant tables being on the terrace/balcony, overlooking the pool and surrounding views. I thought that the drinks in the bar were quite reasonably priced, although not all staff understood what I was asking for - I had a little trouble ordering white wine and soda from one of the waitresses!

Breakfast was generally good but only a choice of 3 cereals. There was hot food but it was limited to fried eggs and spicy sausages. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely!

The evening meal was good. The starters and sweets were usually huge and the main courses not quite so big. We had to make our menu choices at the previous night's dinner, which was a little strange but not really a problem. The service at Dinner could be a little slow but it was worth waiting for. We were part of a large group, which probably didn't help.

Overall, I would consider staying there again if I returned to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear DevonPeg,
thank you for your review.
During the winter we are going to improve our wi-fi and next spring it will be good also in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A very good hotel with stunning views over the Tuscan countryside. The food was good and wines were better. The pool was a great addition to the hotel and a free Jacuzzi and sauna were a real bonus. Our room was on the front, facing the car park but it was very quiet and peaceful.
The rooms overlooking the pool had great views but they overlooked the bar terrace and it was a little noisy when people were there late drinking. The staff in the restaurant were very good but they could have done with a few more pairs of hands when the hotel was full.

Room Tip: Take your choice, front-quiet , back, overlooking the pool, great views but could be noisy late at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear bgee123,
many thanks for your review, we are happy that you have had a good holiday with us!
If you come back remind us that you have already been our guest and we will glad to offer you a discount of 10% on the price of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Fabulous accommodation and food, we ate each night in the restaurant because the food was so varied and fabulous. Staff were amazing and the pool is to die for. A MUST STAY. We were recommended by friends and were not disappointed. The views are stunning and it's a great little walk to the town. Rooms are very quiet at night. Only took about 1 40 from Pisa

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moreen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Moreen E,
what a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay to us!
Many thanks for your review and do not forget that if you come back we will be happy to offer you a discount of 10% on room price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hotel le Fonti has views and pool to die for. The pool is large and well maintained though unheated and you swim looking out over the glorious Tuscan countryside.There is a lovely dining terrace for breakfast or dinner.

Rooms are adequate though a little dated and the building itself is no Italian Renaissance masterpiece. Food in the restaurant is good though conservative with minimal choice and service can be slow. The staff are generally helpful.

Recommended because of the fabulous location and swimming pool.It is a short, steep walk up into Volterra which is absolutely delightful with a 2000 year history and various bars, cafes and trattorias,

Room Tip: Ask for a v alley view. We were with a group and overlooked the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shezma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear shezma,
thanks for your review!
Do not forget that if you come back we will be happy to offer you a discount of 10% on the room price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

be on time to reserve
get breakfast there, very nice
excellent view
try the pool
get a cocktail at the bar
nice restaurant
drink a tea from the tea menu
big parking in front of the hotel
nice plantation
wifi is very bad! only at the reception hall and not in the rooms

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Francoise0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Francoise0,
thanks for your review, we are pleased to inform you that the work to implement the wifi in the rooms are starting!
We remind you that if you want to come back to us we will be happy to offer you a discount of 10% on the room price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
234 reviews
3.9 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#9 of 24 in Volterra
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 24 in Volterra
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel le Fonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel le Fonti

Property: Park Hotel le Fonti
Address: Via di Fontecorrenti 2, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel le Fonti 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Iuxury hotel in Volterra is idyllically situated on the magnificent rolling hills of Tuscany that surround the historical hilltop town of Volterra whose medieval walls still give sanctuary to Etruscan and Roman remains. If you are looking for a luxury holiday, our hotel in Volterra is the best choice. Relax and regenerate yourself in the elegantly Tuscan style furnished rooms and the wellness spa of our hotel, and enjoy the typical cuisine of Volterra and Tuscany in our restaurant. Discover the high quality services of our luxury hotel and plan your dream holiday in Volterra. Park Hotel le Fonti is a countryside heaven, a luxury hotel located within a park with a spectacular panoramic view over the unique landscape of the Cecina Valley, a web of gently rolling hills and primitive crags, mysterious chasms that now hide and protect the ruins of ancient burial sites. The view stretches out to the gleaming horizon, the soul is revitalized and the mind is finally at rest, able to regenerate itself. Enjoyment and leisure, the secret of Tuscan living!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel le Fonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing