We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it could have been”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel le Fonti
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Like others we came here as part of a Riviera holiday. The hotel situation is super with great views and the amenities are good too in all respects, but the service was so-so. We were asked to choose a set menu for the next night's dinner and told to be in at a certain time, yet every evening had to wait half an hour before the dinner arrived. Unlike our hotel in Florence service was not done with a smile nor was it so good. The bathroom towels were not touched by the chamber maid during our stay and the bath was not cleaned.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool - they have the views
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Michael S,
thank you for your review.
We ask the choice of the menu the night before just to organize the kitchen but we cook each dish express, when the guest is set in the dining room.
The towels are changed if you put them on the floor, as mentioned in the sign in the bathroom.
We hope that you enjoyed your stay anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Park Hotel le Fonti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Good points:
Lovely hotel, fantastic views from the pool area, nice outside pool area and indoor jacuzzi/sauna. Staff pleasant and helpful. Bedroom very acceptable (though not the position). Nice to have a powerful, hot shower (though leaking and spraying around an inadequate sized shower shield meant a wet floor most times).

As others as written, the hotel is a 15 minute fairly steep walk from the centre of Volterra via the Etruscan Gate but is more than manageable for any one with reasonable mobility. Pleasant downhill walk back to the hotel.

Not so good points:
Our first floor bedroom overlooked the front lobby door and the car park - not a pretty view. There was also the constant swishing noise of the lobby door every time it opened and closed - which was very often.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special and never varied - a few cereals, fruit salad, cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, tubs of yoghurt, cakes and orange juice. The only hot dish was the daily fried egg and pieces of sausage.

The half board evening meal was three courses with a choice of a meat or fish option. Unlike a previous reviewer, we were never given a choice of selecting from either menu - it was one or the other, so tough luck if you didn't like it. Again, the food was ok but nothing that spectacular for a so-called 4 star hotel. (Be careful if you do not like very rare and chewy beef - which was the meat dish one evening.) The 7.30pm meal was often not served until well after 8.00. When the meal choices were noted the previous night and the restaurant was not very busy, apart from our group, one wonders why it could take so long?

Bar prices, I thought, were on the high side. The cheapest bottle of red wine was € 20; the cheapest Chianto Classico (one of the local wines) was € 25. A half bottle was € 15 and a bottle of beer was € 6.

Tips:
Ristorante Il Poggio on the Via Porta all 'Arco (top of the road into Volterra from the Etruscan Gate) is an atmospheric Tuscan restaurant, well-used by the locals. We had an enjoyable and inexpensive lunch there.

Great views of the town and the countryside from the top of the Palazzo dei Priori tower in the main square, especially on a sunny day. Well-worth the small price and the easy climb (for those with reasonable mobility).

This is the alabaster town. There are plenty of shops as well as the local factory where you can buy a variety of alabaster gifts, both functional and as souvenirs. Small dishes for a few euros make excellent gifts, as well as being different, unique and useful.

Room Tip: Request a pool side room, 3rd floor for the views, ground floor if you want a patio with table and c...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter-Selby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Peter-Selby,
we are sorry that you have not fully enjoyed your stay, we hope to be better in a possible your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We also stayed here for 4 nights as part of a Riviera holiday. After the hustle and bustle of Florence, this was a welcome change. The hotel is situated in lovely countryside just below the town of Volterra which is well worth a visit and the views from the terrace are amazing. Our room was spacious with a view to the front of the hotel, and was very quiet. We had half board and both the breakfasts and evening meals were very good, although the wine was a bit pricey! All in all a good place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevfromStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear TrevfromStoke,
many thanks for your review, we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Park Hotel le Fonti!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a recent Riviera trip and if I could give 31/2 stars overall I would: 4 stars is generous, 3 a bit mean. The hotel has lots of plus points, including an excellent location just outside the Etruscan gate (a 10 minute walk uphill gets you to the centre of Volterra, but you can get a bus), breathtaking views across the countryside and elegant furnishings in the very attractive reception area. My husband enjoyed the pool and the sauna (there is also a jacuzzi and spa on the lower ground floor). The waiting staff were both helpful and good fun, though one member of the reception team was a bit grim on occasion. The bedrooms are tiled but have good storage and the shower was powerful with a constant supply of hot water - not always the case when you are on the top floor of a hotel.

The weak point of the hotel for me was the food. Breakfasts provided a good choice if you ignored the hot food issue but the standard of evening meals varied. Some courses were very pleasant others less so and if you don't care for squid/octopus etc your choice could be rather limited.

Overall I would consider the facilities and general ambience of the hotel to be worth 4 stars, but not other features.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Barbara41,
thank you for your review and advice.
If you come back to visit us we hope you will find us improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had 4 nights here as part of a Riviera holiday and enjoyed the best 'half-board' dinners we have ever had. The hotel was comfortable with friendly staff and fabulous views from our bedroom. The walk up to Volterra town is steepish but no problem for anyone who.is reasonably fit (it took my wife (75) and myself (83) no more than 15 minutes).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fransan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear fransan,
many thanks for your review, we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay!
We hope to welcoming back you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights as the second leg of a Riviers trip combined with Florence. The hotel is below the town which necessitates a steep walk or trusting the erratically timed local service - see below. Our room overlooking the swimming pool was large and comfortable with good distant views. The food was well prepared. There were two menus, fish and meat but we found that we could alternate starters mains and deserts from one to another with no problem. The wines were well chosen Tuscans and were priced at about what you would expect in a hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. On our free day we went on the local bus into Volterra on the rickety local bus but misread the return times. Four of us were together with two using sticks for knee problems and not fancying the long steep downhill walk. Failing to interest the local taxi for so "short" a journey, the T.I. phoned our hotel who kindly sent the hotel minibus to pick us up. Very impressive service, and overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear sheilallan,
many thanks for your review.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The location of this hotel sets it up as being a great place to stay in Volterra. It's a short but steep walk uphill to the city center and a short drive to the parking garage if you choose to drive. The outdoor bar and pool overlook the hills and countryside and it's simply breathtaking. We spent as much time as we could outside. We had a room on the first floor with this wonderful view which was fantastic. The service at the hotel was very mixed for us. When we requested an extra pillow (the pillows in Italy tend to be quite flat) since there was only one extra in the room, we were told that there were no extra pillows in the whole hotel. Hard to believe. Especially since after complaining to management, one showed up about 3 hours later. Additionally, while it was quite cool outside in the evenings, we were not about to sleep with our doors open since we were on the ground floor and there were no screens on the doors to keep bugs out. The air conditioning didn't work and when we asked for assistance, we were first told that it turned off for the whole building. The next person said it would be turned on later in the evening and the third said it was broken. Eventually someone came to our room, fiddled around and some A/C came on. However, it would blow for 5 seconds and the turn off for 30 seconds and then back on for 5 seconds, off for 30 (I literally counted the seconds repeatedly while lying in bed as I found this very annoying). Our friends who were with us said the exact same thing happened in their room. The dinner meal at the hotel was nothing spectacular (we sent one meal back but it was replaced with a second choice). Breakfast was average. Overall, 50/50 for us.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Krakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Krakim,
we are sorry that you have not fully enjoyed your stay.
Regarding the air conditioning probably the period of your stay is the one in wich we were asked by the most of the guests to switch off it because of the cold.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
267 reviews
3.9 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#5 of 25 in Volterra
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#12 of 25 in Volterra
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel le Fonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel le Fonti

Address: Via di Fontecorrenti 2, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: £79 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel le Fonti 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Iuxury hotel in Volterra is idyllically situated on the magnificent rolling hills of Tuscany that surround the historical hilltop town of Volterra whose medieval walls still give sanctuary to Etruscan and Roman remains. If you are looking for a luxury holiday, our hotel in Volterra is the best choice. Relax and regenerate yourself in the elegantly Tuscan style furnished rooms and the wellness spa of our hotel, and enjoy the typical cuisine of Volterra and Tuscany in our restaurant. Discover the high quality services of our luxury hotel and plan your dream holiday in Volterra. Park Hotel le Fonti is a countryside heaven, a luxury hotel located within a park with a spectacular panoramic view over the unique landscape of the Cecina Valley, a web of gently rolling hills and primitive crags, mysterious chasms that now hide and protect the ruins of ancient burial sites. The view stretches out to the gleaming horizon, the soul is revitalized and the mind is finally at rest, able to regenerate itself. Enjoyment and leisure, the secret of Tuscan living!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel le Fonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing