We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect taste of Tuscany” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel le Fonti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Hotel le Fonti
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
manchester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A perfect taste of Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Lovely relaxed hotel, with all the trimmings of a top hotel. Friendly, helpful , professional staff throughout the hotel. Beautiful surroundings, fantastic views of the Tuscan hills and very convenient for the picturesque town of volterra, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    175
    90
    37
    9
See reviews for
60
262
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

This Hotel has good views from downstairs and some bedrooms, but is down a very steep hill from the town, and a bit hard to find on foot. Taxis were not available, though it would be OK with your own car. It did not merit 4 stars. The bedroom was badly designed - ridiculously high clothes rail, and the minute safe was inaccessible, but a good bathroom and hot water. The dining room was pretentious - the training of the friendly staff appeared inadequate, and the ridiculously enormous expensive wine list had no house wines; some of the food was quite disappointing; Americano coffee after dinner was barely flavoured water in a large jug, even after having been sent back. The breakfast was disorganized - coffee unsatisfactory again and the food, even bread, was not properly restocked. Maybe, with supervision, the lovely staff will settle in.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandadLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

I booked this hotel for my seventh wedding anniversary due to the fact it stated it had a wellness center and a restaurant on site. There were cheaper, better places to stay within the city walls. This place was 20 minutes walk uphill to the city center (and I am a fit 31 year old). The jacuzzi was closed. The restaurant was closed. The room consisted of two twin beds. After I refused that room we were changed to another room with a double bed, but the furnishings were poor. Even the breakfast the next morning was a disappointment with a burned capuccino and crystallized honey. With all the amazing hotels, B&Bs, and agriturismos in Toscana that I have stayed in, this one I would never stay in again. Though it was nice that there was free parking and they allowed pets for free as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OverseasIowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Charming, reasonably priced hotel just beow the city walls of Volterra. No particular architectural merit, rooms spacious, very clean but not overly luxurious - what makes this place really special is the stunning view from the pool terrace and the outdoor restaurant. On a clear evening you really can see Corsica in the distance. Food is fine although the set menu can get a little repetitive if you are here for over a week. A la carte is excellent and has the biggest selection of Tuscan wines we have seen. The restaurant staff are particularly cheerful and helpful.Only downside - neither the adult nor childrens' pool is heated and can be a bit bracing in mid september! Also would expect in-room mosquito repellent devices at this price range - Tuscan mossies are evil.
Overall - no better place to sip your Chianti as the sun sets following a day exploring the atmospheric ancient Etruscan capital....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AeolusChiswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabrook
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Great hotel in a good location. We enjoyed our morning walks into the city. Our room had a great view and the restaurant was top notch with a great wine list.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SeabrookAllydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed at Park Hotel le Fonti for three nights on our honeymoon and wished we had stayed longer. The room was clean and spacious with a view of the infinity pool and the rolling Tuscan countryside. We made great use of the large poolside terrace- relaxing and drinking wine watching the sunset.
We walked around Volterra one day and took a day-trip to Pisa and Lucca but couldn't wait to return to the hotel for drinks and dinner each night. The manager Francesco was friendly and professional and made us feel like honored guests. He made excellent wine suggestions for our meals and served us complimentary home-made tiramisu on our last night!
The breakfast was included and incredible! Fresh eggs, salami, ham, tarts, pastries, juices, coffee and more.
Superb service and food with fabulous views of the Tuscan hills- how did Rick Steves miss this one?

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenJNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

We were so pleased with Park Hotel le Fonti. It was a great location and had a beautiful view with a lovely swimming pool. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and patient. Our room was clean and worked out well as we stayed there for 4 nights. We would highly recommend this hotel. Unfortunately, Rick Steves doesn’t have it listed in his book. We intend to let his organization know that we thought the hotel was great!

Traveler's tip on dining
A good restaurant to eat at in Volterra is Don Beta-

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_D4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#2 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.9 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#10 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#3 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fattoria Lischeto
Fattoria Lischeto
#7 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel le Fonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel le Fonti

Property: Park Hotel le Fonti
Address: Via di Fontecorrenti 2, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel le Fonti 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Iuxury hotel in Volterra is idyllically situated on the magnificent rolling hills of Tuscany that surround the historical hilltop town of Volterra whose medieval walls still give sanctuary to Etruscan and Roman remains. If you are looking for a luxury holiday, our hotel in Volterra is the best choice. Relax and regenerate yourself in the elegantly Tuscan style furnished rooms and the wellness spa of our hotel, and enjoy the typical cuisine of Volterra and Tuscany in our restaurant. Discover the high quality services of our luxury hotel and plan your dream holiday in Volterra. Park Hotel le Fonti is a countryside heaven, a luxury hotel located within a park with a spectacular panoramic view over the unique landscape of the Cecina Valley, a web of gently rolling hills and primitive crags, mysterious chasms that now hide and protect the ruins of ancient burial sites. The view stretches out to the gleaming horizon, the soul is revitalized and the mind is finally at rest, able to regenerate itself. Enjoyment and leisure, the secret of Tuscan living!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Park Hotel le Fonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing