We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Porta all'Arco
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We arrived after a 65 km bike ride at the hotel and found nobody there, and were thinking: Oh No... But then a very nice old men arrived. He only spoke Italian, but was very nice and helpfull. We got a fantastic room in a real Villa with a fabulous view and noiseless air conditioning ( a big plus). Location is just outside the city walls and you have to be a little careful crossing the street - but for a hotel close to a city this is one of the best you can get. Breakfest (served by the same man) was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BramNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    75
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
98
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This simple hotel right outside the Etruscan Gate was perfect for us. We had two rooms; our teenagers shared a large bedroom and bath on the first floor, while my husband and I had a small room on the ground floor. The bed was a real shin-banger--three of us left with bruises--and not quite as comfortable as most of the Italian hotels we stayed in. The breakfast, however, was the best we had, with large mugs of cappuccino made to order. The staff has limited English (still better than our Italian!), but they know "big cups" please Americans! There is a small parking lot which requires some cooperation between driver and staff at busy times, but it's still a great convenience in Volterra, where parking is at a real premium. The grounds are lovely and the staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: The location is a quiet one, but if you are sleeping on the ground floor near the entrance, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clio62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Beautiful villa located a few minutes walk from the center of Volterra. The staff there is very simple but extremely nice and service oriented. The hotel is a villa of the 900 and the style is maintained both in the rooms and in the common areas. The breakfast Is very good with a lot of different stuff to really satisfy everybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberto m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Our family of four enjoyed the view across the valley from our windows, the air conditiong when needed, and the pleasant garden where breakfast is served. The owners were always helpful, lots of coffee for breakfast ( big cups, they knew, for Americans), hot chocolates for our boys. Simple walk into volterra for strolls. We also made the easy one hour drive to the beach for a day. Nice touch: after the first night they saw we all read books in bed, so an extra pillow was added to each for propping up. We decided out room must have the best bathroom view in Europe!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We were fortunate to be able to stay in this lovely villa for four nights. The family are so gracious and helpful and made us feel like we were staying in our own family's home. Our room was huge, the largest we've stayed in anywhere, with a bathroom to match. The views to the valley below and the distant hills was an added bonus. As others have said, the breakfast was great but the real bonus was the coffee, served in cups the size of bowls. This was a perfect place to explore further as well, close to Sienna and San Gimigiano. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the house - we stayed in room 40.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoJollyAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Lovely villa just outside Volterra walls,19th C I should think. Picked it for the parking space which was a tight fit for the van, but at a premium in Volterra. Steep walk through the nearby gate takes you straight into town. Quiet, small garden with views, free fast wifi though weak in room. Clean, quiet, large rooms, good bathrooms and high ceilings. Great breakfast, home made cake and fantastic coffee. Excellent value. Landlady Antonella is the only one who speaks a little English, but she and her family were very attentive and recommended trips, also extremely kindly forwarded on a lost item after I had left. Peaceful and restorative stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackieb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We loved staying here. The hotel was charming, the breakfast was amazing and the location was good. We had the benefit of staying outside of town, giving us the views that we wanted, but yet we were close enough to walk into town. I will say that the walk can be a bit treacherous - you just have about 1 minute of an adrenaline filled sprint while dodging Italian drivers. The room was quite large, the bathroom was the largest we found in Italy and we even had our own little refrigerator and free internet access. Everything was clean and bright and spacious. It was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor - I think it was room 40. We asked for a room with a view and we go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paigef19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#9 of 24 in Volterra
416 reviews
3.8 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Porta all'Arco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Porta all'Arco

Property: Villa Porta all'Arco
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 2, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Porta all'Arco 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Villa Porta all'Arco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porta All Arco
Porta All Arco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing