We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abbondanza e simpatica. . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Porta all'Arco
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Abbondanza for its very generous, home-cooked breakfast. . .not just one but three tortes made by owner Antonella's mother . . .errano molto deliziose! Even the caffe latte was served in larger cups as you would make for yourselves at home. Simpatica for Antonella's old fashioned warm-hearted personality. She makes you feel like family. . .important to solo traveller like myself. Though without a car required bus gymnastics (no direct route from San Gimignano or Siena or Florence), this place is perfect for a respite from the tourist whirlwind and worth the multiple bus rides.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
Thank p0eta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

We had a great two days in Volterra and staying here made it even better.
Such a warm and friendly staff (the 3 sisters). They made sure we were well fed with an excellent breakfast every morning. They spoke English and helped us find the laundramat and best attractions. Thank you for making your home - our home.
Great locations. Great staff. great CLEAN facilities. We loved staying in the house.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashville_Cat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Lovely little hotel, only 5 minutes from town centre by foot. Staff very pleasent and helpful and even brought our bags up to the city for us when we were ready to catch the bus (none of us drove and we weren't due to leave city for a few hours after checkout). Would highly recommend!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
Thank KarenR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Loved our 2 night stay here. I'd requested a room with a view and we were given No 40: high ceilinged, spacious, well furnished and with a genereous sized bed. The bathroom was equally pleasing. What a panorama from both rooms across the expansive Tuscan valley below and to as far as the distant sea. Breakfast was excellent as already descibed by many reviewers. An extra blanket in the wardrobe for now slightly chilly nights would have been appreciated. .,

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciccola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

This was one of the best places we stayed on our trip and also one of the cheapest. We enjoyed it much better than places that we payed almost double for. Our room was on the back side and was very quiet. The staff was great. The breakfast was spectacular.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmboam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Recently stayed at Villa Porta all'Arco for two nights in August. On arrival we found the reception closed for lunch so parked the car and took off up the hill to wander through town. On returning later in the afternoon the office was still closed so we made a call to the mobile number listed on the window. Within five minutes one of the employees arrived to check us in and show us around the lovely hotel. The room was quite large and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also immaculate.
The breakfast was served out on a small garden terrace and was plentiful.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the lovely town of Volterra.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

A lovely, charming, tiny little hotel located about 50 yards from the steps that lead to the town walls and gate. The room was charming, with lovely swinging windows that overlooked a typically breathtaking Tuscan valley. Volterra is high in the hills and thus the nights were cool. We looked forward to returning from our walks in the hill town, and in our room we would open the wide old windows and feel the breeze rush in through the billowing curtains. The bathrooms were passable, not fabulous, but the charm more than made up for this. The bed was the typical European dense foam--comfortable enough. Breakfast was copious and of medium quality, certainly not the best we had in moderately priced Italian hotels, but the tables are in a lovely outdoor spot and there's plenty of food to choose from, including bruschetta every morning (our favorite). If charm, friendliness, and convenience are what you're looking for, this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Father_0f_Three_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
370 reviews
6.0 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
0.9 mi away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#12 of 25 in Volterra
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Porta all'Arco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Porta all'Arco

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 2, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: £56 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Porta all'Arco 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Porta all'Arco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porta All Arco
Porta All Arco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing