We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but with some reservations”
Review of Villa Rioddi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Rioddi
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Stayed for a week in the apartment. This hotel is run by the son of the owner but not very well. The mother does the breakfast and the father - i am not sure what he does.

Some problems.

When we arrived we did not get a good feel. The carpark is a bit of a building site and there was absolute chaos in the bar area where you think you should go for the reception.

The reception area is upstairs although there is nothing to tell you this.

The reception desk was extremely untidy and the owner who took our details was a bit strange. He had obviously had a speech for things to do in the area and went on and on and on. We interrupted him a couple of times to say we had stayed in Volterra before but this didnt stop him.

He showed us to our apartment but didnt offer to help with luggage and disappeared.

The apartment is better than on the pictures on the website but is not particularly clean. The table, loungers, and chairs on the balcony have never been cleaned and need throwing out. The view from the balcony is great.

One word of warning the oven hob is gas but there is no ignition so you need a lighter to light it. Also be careful since it was easy to leave the gas on when it is not lit.

The apartment is only cleaned at the end of the week and towels, which are the very thin ones are never replaced (so try to get some from the cleaners trolley!)

The TV room/bar is not staffed, is dark and has too many dingy chairs.

There is internet acess either using their comp or wireless.

The outside areas are very poor and need a good brush and sort out.

The pool area also needs sorting out - upturned chairs and tables were never moved. Loungers were left wherever they had been left the previous day.

This place could be fantastic but is run by people who dont know what they are doing.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank alanfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2007

Early Sept. visit with great views, nice building, nice size room, bathroom ok, good breakfast, helpful owners/operators, very clean, computer available for e-mails and such. One BIG thing wrong with it was the beds were the hardest we had in Italy and the pillows were like sacks of cement. We woke up sore all over and shortened our visit. Would not stay there again, it more than rivaled Mexico in the bad bed department. They haven't gotten the word about good beds, I guess. Also the pool was very cold and no one used it. Beautiful to look at.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank saturnowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

Stayed here for a few nights. Stayed in the A5 room which I think this the smallest room in the house (they were full when we called) but was nonetheless very comfortable. Breakfast was very good – cold meats, cheese, cereal, juice, hot coffee, pastries and a hot egg dish (omelette, boiled egg, etc.)

The staff are excellent. The receptionist/concierge was more helpful that any tourist agency we visited – local restaurants recommendations, guides on where to go, maps, tips on what to see on our way to the airport, etc. Good English as well.

If I was in Volterra again I would stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

My family and I have just spent our 3rd stay at the Villa Rioddi - we love this place ! Tuscany is such a special area in Europe - let alone Italy - and Volterra is still a relatively undiscovered gem in the region ( within easy reach of airports/beach and the chic sophistication of Sienna and Florence ).
The family run Villa Rioddi is a perfectly restored Tuscan farmhouse with all the preserved character of the original buildings updated with quality contemporary facilities. The excellent pool area provides a welcome oasis during the balmy summers - particularly after a passeggiata through the myriad climbing alleyways and courtyards of Volterra.
A meander through the olive groves and under the fig trees around the hotel will inspire your senses.
Luca and his family provide all the welcome and hospitality you would want - drinks around the pool anyone ? We were given clear local information and recommendations for sightseeing and dining out.
Volterra is on a raised elevation behind the hotel - the highest vantage point in the valley - so for families we would recommend car hire to access the city walls from Villa Rioddi within minutes whereupon walks and exploring can begin.
Villa Rioddi really has rooms with a view - over the gorgeous Tuscan panoramica.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roonaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Elland - West Yorkshire
11
Reviewed 21 June 2006

The hotel friendly and set in amongst spectacular scenery.

From the minute we arrived, Luca (hotel manager) made us feel valued and spent time explaining the local area and places of interest.

The hotel itself is exceptionally clean, with a real Tuscan feel about the appearance and facilities. The pool area is ideal for relaxing and the views are amazing.

The walk in Volterra takes approximately 20 minutes and is "up hill" all the way, however "down hill" on the way back.

Overall we were delighted with this hotel and would recommend it to everyone. The owners really do go that extra mile to help residents enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2006

The Villa Rioddi has spectacular views of the Tuscan countryside as well as a clear view of the ancient city walls of Volterra. It's a perfect location from which to tour Tuscany, and dining in Volterra is a five minute drive up the hill. The beautifully restored villa offers simple but adequate amenities, but the views and peaceful surroundings can't be beat. The included breakfast is great and includes delicious home-baked goodies. We were there with three children (ages 4, 10 and 12) who loved the beautiful pool and the space to roam around after a day of sight seeing. The family who owns the Villa is friendly and helpful--when I inquired about getting reservations for the Uffizi in Florence, a phone call was made for me, and the reservation was taken care of. Volterra is not nearly as "touristy" as San Gimignano (a half hour away) and in my opinion is much lovelier to visit. I am very glad we chose the Villa Rioddi as our home base in Tuscany.

Thank MBFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
5.9 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
0.6 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
376 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#5 of 25 in Volterra
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rioddi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rioddi

Address: Podere Monte Volterrano SNC, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: £57 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Rioddi 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a splendid panoramic position, 2 km from the historic centre of Volterra, the hotel offers a stunning view over the city and Val di Cecina. The spacious lounges on the ground floor, the huge garden surrounding the building and the pool, together with a family-style management offers a highly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Rioddi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Rioddi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing