We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious hotel in a beautiful setting”
Review of Villa Rioddi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Rioddi
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

In an area of beautiful locations this was as lovely a setting as any. Our rooms, doubles, booked for single occupancy, were extremely spacious, cool and comfortable. Great swiming pool, very good breakfast, prepared freshly by the Signora, spacious car park and all very clean.

Room Tip: one ground floor room had good wheelchair access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel as mentioned by previous reviews has a wonderful setting with views of the Tuscan hills. The hotel staff spoke very passable English and put extra effort into information and recommendations for us. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. The only downside is that the driveway into the parking lot is a little tricky, but that pales in comparison to all the positive features. Free wi-fi and it actually worked!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caltraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

A very well kept inn, in a gorgeous building. Our room was huge, comfortable with a stunning view of the valley below. Future guests can take into account that this hotel is a little far from town and not walkable and also that the hotel is a bit difficult to find. I think the breakfast was adequate but the room it was served in was gorgeous. The reception was professional, business like and provided essential information for a first -time visitor.
The Coop supermarket was recommended to park for free and walk into town. That walk in, was spectacular and seemed unreal it was so beautiful. The coop was a great place to buy food as well.
Volterra is awesome, a hidden treasure that must be visited, especially on a full moon night, like we did.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estrella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We arrived and decided we had to stay 2 nights after our constant travelling. Volterra is a very intriguing hill top town and Villa Rioddi a very charming house and garden property.
We stayed in a terrace room with a wonderful view accompanied nicely at sunset with wine and olives.
The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgable. If we had more time it would have been great to tour more of the region from here. They recommended a great restaurant in town that served local dishes.
The breakfast selection was very good. It was only a short walk up the hill to the town - which we chose to walk instead of driving up in our car.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We, a family of 4, have been here on summerholiday. Very nice owners, always friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. You need a car to visit all major towns in tuscany. Volterrra is very close and there are a lot of good restaurants. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sproetje2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

A really nice place, with great views and great staff. Very clean and comfortable. We had one of the terrace rooms, where we could sit just outside our room, with a bottle of wine, and watch the sun set over the Tuscan hills. It was sublime.

Staff went the extra mile. Friendly and genuine. They really 'lifted' our stay good.

A good, central spot for touring the area by car. I would only comment that to eat in the local town, you really need to go by car for the couple of miles into Volterra. Do Not let that put you off as it is a very minor price for the overall peacefulness, views, tranquility and holiday experience.

Room Tip: One of the three rooms on the terrace for 'sundowners'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

What a beautiful place! Peaceful, great outlook over valley, wonderful breakfast with lots of local produce/preserves. Large room. Friendly and helpful staff. Would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: Room with a view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
271 reviews
5.9 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
370 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#5 of 25 in Volterra
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rioddi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rioddi

Address: Podere Monte Volterrano SNC, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: £57 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Rioddi 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a splendid panoramic position, 2 km from the historic centre of Volterra, the hotel offers a stunning view over the city and Val di Cecina. The spacious lounges on the ground floor, the huge garden surrounding the building and the pool, together with a family-style management offers a highly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Rioddi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Rioddi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing