We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tuscan holiday”
Review of Villa Rioddi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Rioddi
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have been visiting Villa Rioddi for years and we will continue to return because it is lovely. The hotel breakfasts are amazing feasts of home made food including Luca's breads and his mother's gorgeous cakes and fruit salads. The well-informed staff cannot do enough for you and the rooms are super clean. It is the ideal quiet and beautiful place to restore your equilibrium. Volterra is within (up hill!) walking distance- the town itself is another Tuscan gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Wow! Beautiful location, beautiful service, beautiful swimmingpool, beautiul people. Amazing how this family run hotel knows how to please and service. Furthermore very clean and a super breakfast. Thank you Luca and your Mother. We had a superb and relaxing stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Efwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Villa Rioddi is located a short distance from Volterra. The roads are a bit windy but with the help of Garmin and Lucca’s suggestion for the best spots to park, the trip was made easy. We used Villa Rioddi as our base to visit Volterra, San Gimignano and Siena. Both my wife and I enjoyed the Italian life style of afternoon siesta back at Rioddi and drives into Volterra for a late dinner, passeggiata and dolce at a bar with locals.

The room itself had high arched ceilings comfortable bed, clean private bathroom, TV, AC, etc. The window for our room was off center so we had to walk to it for the view. Since we really didn’t spend much time in the room, this wasn’t a big deal.

The building itself is an old stage stop with great stone walls. It sits on a Tuscan hillside that provides beautiful sunsets each evening.

One of my favorite features of our stay there is the welcoming and ever energetic Mirella. She was very patient with my attempts at the use of Italian. She was always there to assist you. At breakfast Mirella is at her best with wonderful foods, espresso or juices. She can provide added info for your daily itinerary and just a funny story for the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighThrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We spent three nights here and used it as a base for day trips to Siena and Monteriggioni and San Gimignano. It was always nice to come back to Volterra at night for dinner because for some reason it seemed less crowded.

The drive to the town is full of twists and turns. Villa Rioddi is a bit outside of the main downtown area town but it was easy to drive in, park and be in town within 5 minutes. The villa is in a lovely, peaceful setting with a nice pool for lounging after a day of exploring castles. The hosts made us feel like welcome guests in their home and their gracious hospitality really made our stay there so memorable. A warm welcome and fresh cappucino made to order when you come down to the outdoor veranda in the morning...and Lucca was always around to provide maps and tips for your next day's itinerary.

Breakfasts are great..the room was spacious and clean...awesome views..and all in an old post house that is full of history. No complaints. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We spent two nights here in May and it was ideal. Our room (#6) was large and being a corner room, had a view up the hill and into the valley. The villa has a wonderful pool and very cool lounge/breakfast area. It is only minutes from the town, yet very peaceful. Definitely would return!

Room Tip: #6 is a corner room with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyKingPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for 1 night last week. We left Vernazza a day early beacuse of the weather and chose VR based on TA reviews. We had a beautiful ground floor room with a view of the Tuscan hill and valleys and a table and chairs right outside (#A6) that we did not use much but would be fantastic for a longer stay. It is a great property with super views and only a few minutes from the city. The breakfast was the best we had in 10 days in Italy and the owners mother was a very gracious host, server and also quite enteratining. This hotel is great value. If we came to Voltera again we would stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJB5490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a week in the fall of 2012. The location is great - wonderful views, nice grounds, and close to Volterra. The family that runs the hotel does a great job; very welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts were good and the room was comfortable and well-furnished.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor open on to a tile deck with great views across the Tuscan landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLW55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
5.9 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
0.6 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
387 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#5 of 25 in Volterra
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rioddi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rioddi

Address: Podere Monte Volterrano SNC, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: £59 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Rioddi 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a splendid panoramic position, 2 km from the historic centre of Volterra, the hotel offers a stunning view over the city and Val di Cecina. The spacious lounges on the ground floor, the huge garden surrounding the building and the pool, together with a family-style management offers a highly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Rioddi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Rioddi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing