We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN HOTEL OUTSIDE CITY WALLS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
289 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“CLEAN HOTEL OUTSIDE CITY WALLS”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Hard to find. Even with sporadic hotel signage along route, I do not think that I could have found it without my GPS.

Super cheap room rate. Spartan rooms and décor. But very clean. Beds were comfortable. Small shower. Thin walls. Free parking. Wi Fi was 3 Euros for 6 hours. Breakfast was included and okay [nothing special].

Located outside city walls adjacent to a wooded area. Less than 5 minute drive to Volterra. There is paid parking at bus station [you can park there and walk up to Volterra]. However ask the front desk about all of the free parking lots along the perimeter of the city Wall used by the residents including the one right next to the Roman Theater archeological site. Saved 3-4 Euros every time we parked there.

Personally, I preferred staying outside the city walls and for that reason, I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolawca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    74
    52
    15
    2
See reviews for
42
62
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Foresteria during the end of March. The room was very large, clean and comfortable. We had half board and the food was good and plentiful. The problem arose on the first night when shortly after we started our dinner around 50 middle school aged children filed into the dinning room along with five of their teachers. They proceeded to cheer and yell among themselves giving us the atmosphere of a noisy school cafeteria. Obviously this is not what we came to Tuscany for. Later in the evening the youngsters set up a loud boom box in one of the common areas (It sounded as if it was in our room with us) again giving us a summer camp feeling. At breakfast the next morning we were overtaken by this group one last time. In all fairness the staff tried to handle the situation as well as they could. However, I fault the owner/manager for booking such a large school group at the same time they have individual guests.
For the following two nights of our stay we were pleased with the accommodations.
My advice for anyone deciding to stay here is to be assured that they are not booking large groups at the time of your stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I was going to leave a good review because the girl at the front desk was so nice but the next morning at 7:30 am, the maid banged on the door and told us we must leave within the next 20 minutes so she could clean the room! I have stayed at hundreds of hotels and we usually check out around 9 am, but the posted time is 11 am. I have never had the maid demand we leave by 8 am. Very unprofessional!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Volterra hotels

devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

After several hot, busy days in florence our night here in volterra was a fantastic rest, really refreshing, lovely calm atmosphere. Lovely tuscan views from our balcony. Immaculate rooms and communal areas if a little spartan and slightly lacking in character - but dont let this put you off... very spacous room and nice bathroom with organic shower gel etc Very helpful friendly staff (poss owners) told us a bit about the local organic farming and vineyards. Fabulous extensive breakfast of among other things: fresh bread, croisants, lovely fruit, lots of cheese and ham, yoghurts, beautiful homemade cakes (which we didn't really want for breakfast, but wrapped up and pinched for later! thanks guys!!). Also very nice little trattoria don the road with delicious hare ragout, and very generous with the afterdinner fire water! beware crazy italian drivers zooming up behind you and beeping on narrow precarious country roads to get up to volterra - very high up, widing roads!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brmbrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had some trouble getting to the Hotel Foresteria, mostly because the bus from Volterra Saline puts you out on the edge of the old city and we had to walk with our luggage a pretty fair piece on roads really meant for car traffic. However, once we located the hotel, the room was spacious and and clean, with a beautiful view across the hills. The desk staff was friendly and accommodating, ordering us a taxi for our very early departure the next morning. Would definitely recommend to friends, as long as they get directions first!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macedon Ranges, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I stayed here with my Dad and Step Mum. We had a triple room and it was lovely and clean, the staff seemed friendly just a little hard to understand but my Step mum needed to send a fax to her wedding planner down in Sorrento and the staff were very helpful, Breakfast we lovely had a bit of everything to choose from! We got free parking and there was one computer for all the guests to share (it was very slow) The only issues we had was the air con was broken and it was 37 degrees celsius! Now this hotel is not within the walls of Volterra but with the car we didn't find that a problem, all it up it was a lovely cheap stay

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alecia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed here, as we could find no other rooms available during the Andrea Bocelli concert.
Wanted to stay as close to Lajatico as possible, but the rooms for the concert night had gone ! Read the reviews and as the theme seem to be clean, but... decided to stay.
The reception is not good, and feel that after the company has spent some money doing this place up, maybe they could just have spent a tiny bit more and refurbished the reception and actually fininished the rooms !! Everything seemed new but looked like it would fall to bits if it was touched, the shower was very flimsy, tv did not work. But if I had a couple of children and just wanted a cheap driving holiday, this might do the job. The room was large and could have a family of 4 , as there was bunk beds on the wall and the bathroom was large enough.
The breakfast was ok, but this hotel did bring to mind a school trip with a canteen !
The hotel is a drive away from Volterra - what a lovely town! - and with few small adjustment would be a great , cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeyDorsetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
234 reviews
3.5 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
353 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel S.Elisa
Hotel S.Elisa
#17 of 24 in Volterra
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Foresteria Volterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foresteria Volterra

Property: Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Address: Borgo San Lazzaro 5 | Localita San Girolamo, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Foresteria Volterra 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Foresteria Volterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing