We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service their strong point!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great service their strong point!!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Large hotel . Basic rooms but very clean. I agree with reviews beds hard and pillows the same. But why we would stay there again was the staff and service. When they couldn't get a taxi for us to go into town, a staff member drove us. Paola at the desk was everywhere in the hotel making drinks for us and tending to everyone. They were terrific and the owners are lucky to have them all as employees.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italiandutchmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    76
    53
    15
    2
See reviews for
43
62
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was a fine little hotel a little out of town so I was grateful to be driving. The rooms were small but clean and had a cute little terrace with a view. Wifi only in one common area which was frustrating but in saying that I met some lovely people being forced to sit there. Staff were scarce.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We booked for the Hostel Chiostro delle Monache, but when we arrived it was closed and we were referred to Hotel La Foresteria, where we were already expected by the staff. La Foresteria is a very good hotel, very clean, good breakfast and good dinner. As the hotel is far from Volterra walls, we chose to have dinner in the hotel. Internet was free and ok.
Rooms are good and clean, but the walls are very thin and we could hear everything from the other rooms around. As the hotel is a 30-min walk from Volterra walls, I recommend to have a car (in fact, you need a car to visit all the Toscana!).
I have previously asked for a baby crib, and when we arrived it was ready in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mari_sp_brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Overall pretty good value for Italy. The room was spacious and clean, great view, quiet and decent. The mattress was very firm, but we didn't mind that. The pillows were awful, i've never seen pillows like that before, that was the main downside. That and the fact that there was no tea/coffee in the room. Otherwise, a decent place to stay. Good bathroom. You definitely need a car to stay here, as it's a bit off the main road. Volterra is really a lovely place, does not feel touristy like the rest of those tuscan towns, much more real and down to earth. Breakfast was mediocre, but good coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froufrouBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very good,very clean hotel with polite and helpful staff.Spacious family room.Rich breakfast.Nice location in the woods.A little difficult to reach Volterra's historical center on foot,but feasible.If you have a car,(you better have if you visit Tuscany anyway), the town's underground parking will serve you well and its only a short drive from the hotel.Good value for money, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I had booked a converted monastery in Volterra and somehow ended up at the just above tourist class hotel. It was okay for one night though didn't meet my anticipation at staying in an old monastery. Also ate in the restorante in the hotel with a fixed menu. Much of the charm in Tuscany is the discovery of the food. As a last resort it is alright.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This would have been a nice little hotel - - to bad about the beds. Hard as a rock. Literally the most uncomfortable hotel beds we have ever slept on. The pillows were even worse - - wedges of extremely firm foam with almost no give. Fortunately, they have normal pillows stored in the closet that you can replace the foam ramps with; unfortunately, we didn't discover this until the next morning as we were checking out.
The hotel itself is quite nice and very clean. Would be a great place to stay if not for the bed problem..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanta_Cruisers_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Volterra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
197 reviews
4.3 mi away
Molino D'Era
Molino D'Era
#7 of 25 in Volterra
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Foresteria Volterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foresteria Volterra

Property: Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Address: Borgo San Lazzaro 5 | Localita San Girolamo, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Foresteria Volterra 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Foresteria Volterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing